$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
34 reviews
Great Hotel

This was a perfect hotel for me, checkin was easy and my room was even ready early. They provided... See full review

  • gjack136
  • Oct 20, 2014
Fun place with a great location

This hotel was immaculate. It had daily maid service, helpful staff, and a fun attitude. Clubs were... See full review

  • Kathleen333
  • Sep 8, 2014
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Credit card required at check in. Name on credit card must match name on reservation....Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
south.beacher
Business
Midwest
Aug 25, 2012

Pelican Hotel

Leaky bathroom ceilings not attedted to after 3 days of complaints. Waterr continually dripping on sink, toilet, floor. The staff NEVER intervened to open to lobby doors as we entered/left witl bags, purchases, etc. The "lobby" is more of an obstacle course, very small, sparsely appointed with 4 child size chairs to wait by the small elevator (which also has a large post in front of the doors).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DANDREA
Business
SAP PAULO, BRAZIL
Aug 19, 2012

regular & family gateway

Courtesy staff - but simple - there are nothing to much we can say since we just expend 2 days and slept 3 nights at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
white shoes
Business
CA
Mar 16, 2013

5 night vacation

The location is fabulous. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in what they call a suite, but it was smaller then a regular room at any chain hotel. It was a neat room, but for the price we paid per night, we could have rented an actual suite at any upscale hotel and had a nicer room for much less cost. The view was nice and the atmosphere in and around the property was enjoyable. The biggest problem for me was paying over 400 per night for a room that would be worth about 50 per night without the location and maybe 200 per night because of the location. I would recommend this hotel if room space is not a priority, and if location is a priority. However, if you are looking for luxery or a reasonable room rate, this is not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cmtina88
Business
Queens, NY
Oct 8, 2013

Weekend getaway...

My Friend and I flew in on Friday night, and left Sunday afternoon. It was literally just a quick weekend getaway. The location is perfect, right in the heart of ocean drive. The staff was amazing and friendly. And they had a complimentary breakfast from 8-11a and happy hour drinks from 4-6p. And I felt safe knowing that they lock the doors at night only allowing guests to come in. The only negative thing I would say is that the bathroom could use some improvement. There was no pressure in the shower'a water, and the water would not drain. I has to keep sweeping the water with my feet for it to drain. It wasn't filthy, but it wasn't too appealing either. I would have rather showered at the showers across the street where beach goers wash the sand off. Good thing it was only the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pelopincho
Business
Santiago, Chile
Dec 21, 2013

Great Place

Great place to sleep, but not to stay longer on the day. Of course is a hotel in front of the beach, but if you have no other thing to do (or want to) in Miami, staying in the hotel or the room longer than for sleep only can be not comfortable. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Room and bathroom very clean, and very quite!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACP12345
Business
NY, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Great for short weekend

Great location, free breakfast but wait staff is very slow, very small rooms with no natural light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VIVIANE
Business
MARTINIQUE, FWI
Apr 14, 2013

wonderful mother & daughter place-to-be

excellent hotel indeed ! it was as I expected it to be from other advices, the location is really perfect and allows to do everything with no car, even though we had one but parking is painful ; The room was hopefully not oceanviewed so it was calm and noiseless. We never heard other people moves and slept like logs the whole week through ! The food at their café is the best, wonderful breakfasts and the staff was lovely. I recommand the hotel warmfully !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlyAround
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2013

Great Stay

The staff was very friendly! The FREE daily happy hour...doesn't get much better than that! Let's say I was stumbling from the hotel each day. I'd recommend staying at The Pelican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quick getaway couple
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 14, 2013

Quick Couples Getaway

This hotel was perfect for our quick little trip to South Beach. The location is awesome. Walking distance to beach, food, shopping. The staff was fantastic from every interaction: front desk, restaurant staff, housekeeping, etc. Our only issue (and this was probably our oversight) is that we reserved a Queen room and were given a room with two single beds pushed together. The hotel was full and we were told that bed type is not guaranteed. It turned out fine but wasn't exactly ideal. Overall we loved this hotel and will be staying here again on our next visit and suggest you give it a look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HaZeus
Business
Rialto, CA
Jan 10, 2014

Good Spot

My overall experience was a good one. It's in an excellent location. It's right in front of beach and walking distance from bars & restaurants. This is a tiny hotel though; about 25-30 rooms total. The only complaint I have are with the beds. They were very hard and not comfy. I was upgraded to a penthouse room so I tried a few beds. They have a good breakfast and excellent me menu overall. I ate a good lunch there. Can't beat they're happy hour. They give you two drinks per guest while you're there. I'd recommend and I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Polo Norte if you're looking for excellent Cuban food and it has reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top