$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
View map of 826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Would Stay Again

Hotel staff very welcome. Adam at the front desk was super nice. Complimentary breakfast & chairs... See full review

  • TEE7
  • Jul 29, 2015
ideal stay!

Pelican met all our expectations. Very friendly staffs and very accommodating! See full review

  • MR
  • Jul 19, 2015
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Credit card required at check in. Name on credit card must match name on reservation....Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
south.beacher
Business
Midwest
Aug 25, 2012

Pelican Hotel

Leaky bathroom ceilings not attedted to after 3 days of complaints. Waterr continually dripping on sink, toilet, floor. The staff NEVER intervened to open to lobby doors as we entered/left witl bags, purchases, etc. The "lobby" is more of an obstacle course, very small, sparsely appointed with 4 child size chairs to wait by the small elevator (which also has a large post in front of the doors).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emjay
Business
Albert park
May 7, 2015

Very basic dorm like hotel, old, lots of things break, paper thin walls

The rooms have paper thin walls and a lot of things went wrong on our stay. The building is old so things break. The fan is so noisy that you can't have it on. Our view was of a brick wall. Someone had been smoking in the room. The toilet broke in the middle of the night so we had to switch rooms at 3am. We weren't offered a discount for this. We were moved (at my request) to a better room after the toilet broke and given that it was 3am. The better room was absolutely no different. The location and staff are great but that's about it. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
j072988
Business
baltimore
Jul 11, 2015

First trip to miami

The hotel was not as I expected. My room was much smaller than expected and was a typical beach town type room, outdated old school type. The air conditioning stopped running several times and the staff did not seem to care. Miami in July is ridiculously hot so you can imagine how unhappy I was. The staff were not interested in any of my concerns and quite frankly some were rude. Oh and apparently there is a concierge but doesn't have the job responsibilities of one. If you're trying to save money this hotel will be fine. Great location. Other than that, chose another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACP12345
Business
NY, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Great for short weekend

Great location, free breakfast but wait staff is very slow, very small rooms with no natural light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DANDREA
Business
SAP PAULO, BRAZIL
Aug 19, 2012

regular & family gateway

Courtesy staff - but simple - there are nothing to much we can say since we just expend 2 days and slept 3 nights at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
white shoes
Business
CA
Mar 16, 2013

5 night vacation

The location is fabulous. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in what they call a suite, but it was smaller then a regular room at any chain hotel. It was a neat room, but for the price we paid per night, we could have rented an actual suite at any upscale hotel and had a nicer room for much less cost. The view was nice and the atmosphere in and around the property was enjoyable. The biggest problem for me was paying over 400 per night for a room that would be worth about 50 per night without the location and maybe 200 per night because of the location. I would recommend this hotel if room space is not a priority, and if location is a priority. However, if you are looking for luxery or a reasonable room rate, this is not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cmtina88
Business
Queens, NY
Oct 8, 2013

Weekend getaway...

My Friend and I flew in on Friday night, and left Sunday afternoon. It was literally just a quick weekend getaway. The location is perfect, right in the heart of ocean drive. The staff was amazing and friendly. And they had a complimentary breakfast from 8-11a and happy hour drinks from 4-6p. And I felt safe knowing that they lock the doors at night only allowing guests to come in. The only negative thing I would say is that the bathroom could use some improvement. There was no pressure in the shower'a water, and the water would not drain. I has to keep sweeping the water with my feet for it to drain. It wasn't filthy, but it wasn't too appealing either. I would have rather showered at the showers across the street where beach goers wash the sand off. Good thing it was only the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pelopincho
Business
Santiago, Chile
Dec 21, 2013

Great Place

Great place to sleep, but not to stay longer on the day. Of course is a hotel in front of the beach, but if you have no other thing to do (or want to) in Miami, staying in the hotel or the room longer than for sleep only can be not comfortable. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Room and bathroom very clean, and very quite!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TARA G.
Business
Rochester
Apr 6, 2015

Just okay

Not good it was all old Does not worth staying in there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christopher G.
Business
N/A
Jul 10, 2015

Good location

It was good. Rooms are extremely basic and small but location very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top