$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
View map of 826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevy Kev
Business
Washington DC
Sep 4, 2014

Great Staff

The front desk was amazing from the time we checked in till the time we departed. Room was clean and refreshed everyday. The only negative I have with this hotel is their waiter and waitress staff. They could be a little more courteous along with some training.. They were very slow at times and borderline rode. Everything else was perfect. I managed to leave my LV luggage bag at the front desk and they coordinated with a taxi cab driver to get my bag to me before my flight. The front desk went above and beyond! Greatly appreciated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine 1226
Business
New York City, New York
Jul 28, 2014

Good for the money

Cute rooms, across the street from the beach and free breakfast....overall great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pompom
Business
Miami
Jun 29, 2014

Great the ambiance was very cool

Cozy the retro atmosphere was fun I enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try it you might like it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph the lover
Business
Newyork
Jun 27, 2014

Good spot

It was great staff was nice but me and my partner was a bit annoyed with the fact that we had to wait for our room for so long and no one made sure we was comfortable while waiting. The fan in our room was a lil loud maybe some oily will help.... Happy hour drinks were not good there is a two drink limit which suck we only try two of they drinks and we was like no thank you. We also had a chair in our room that got taken out while we was still there pretty unprofessional. Beside the lil things it was a great stay. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandon Brandon
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent location. Great Amenities

Great location on the beach. Restaurants, bars, souvenir shops all on the same block with DJ's and live bands playing throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avg night club price: $30 Avg night lounge w/DJ: $5

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJ Jani
Business
IL
Jun 17, 2014

Great staff

The location is great and the staff is awesome to work with! The rooms aren't comfortable enough and we got stuck with not very comfortable bed, but overall it was a good experience. I'd stay there again, all because of the great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the Ocean Dr, doesn't get better than this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat the Student
Business
Toronto
May 13, 2014

Graduate Getaway

My friend and I decided to head to Miami to celebrate our completion of our undergraduate studies. We went in knowing that the hotel was in a great location, but other than that, we didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we were informed of all the amenities! We were able to have a great breakfast, happy hour drinks, beach towels/chairs; not to mention all the staff went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. I would most definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alevtina
Business
Denver
Mar 17, 2014

Spring break

Stayed at the room 209 (love peace and leaforest) during spring break march 2014. The room was decent size for couple people, the wooden floor was sticky, and the water in the sink would always splash all over, shower head was amaizing thou! Towels are off white because over used and overwashed too many times. The orange chairs need to be washed or replaced, stains are out of control. House keeping knocks on door every evening (8-9pm) to leave a flyer with weather tempature, little distracting. AC is loud when on, so are the near by rooms ac's are loud, but kept us cool :) big size tv was great! Closet, iron and ironing board were a plus! The free chairs at the beach was very nice, but towels did not look too good, half torn and over used. The food at pelican restaurant was amaizing so was the service ! Dond forget to tip !! Or you shall be tackled and riminded to do so! Lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACP12345
Business
NY, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Great for short weekend

Great location, free breakfast but wait staff is very slow, very small rooms with no natural light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In A Good Way
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 28, 2014

Out of the ordinary, and a lot of fun

The Pelican is a lot of fun, as long as your expectations are set for something that is more out of the ordinary than the usual "nice" hotel. The rooms are definitely clean, but they don't have a sterile feel to them. The furniture is old and kitschy and that is part of the charm, but that also means some chipped mirrors and imperfect finishes. In keeping with the feeling of the time, the hallways are dark - great if you like that kind of thing, spooky if you don't. The staff were all very pleasant, and the "extras" with the stay couldn't be beat: two free drinks per person at happy hour each night, towels and chairs for the beach (step across the street and you're there - this is the oceanfront block), waters in the room, and free breakfast. Valet parking is $25 per day - surprisingly reasonable. My only complaint was the bathroom, and this may have just been the bathroom I got, since all the rooms are different. It was clean, but there was no ventilation except for a window that opened to the wall of windows in the neighboring hotel. The set-up of the cool faucets and showers looked nice, but there was no way to use them without getting water everywhere! (That said, I'm pretty sure housekeeping came through our room twice some days we were there, so that helped.) If a cool art deco meets industrial meets kitsch aesthetic is your thing and you like being right in the middle of the nightlife, The Pelican can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On this trip, flying into Ft. Lauderdale, renting a car to drive 30 minutes to South Beach, and paying for valet parking was actually cheaper than flying into Miami and getting a taxi or shuttle to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top