$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
41 reviews
Great the ambiance was very cool

Cozy the retro atmosphere was fun I enjoyed my stay See full review

  • Pompom
  • Jun 29, 2014
Awesome

Great hotel, staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up in the cab. Food was great too! Love... See full review

  • The Fireman Bob
  • Oct 15, 2013
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Hotel Map

25.7784 -80.1311
Area served
Miami
Miami Beach
South Beach
Art Deco District
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
Located in the center of the Art Deco district of South Beach, 10 steps from the Ocean. Centrally located within walking distance to all South Beach restaurants, shopping, and night life.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Fireman Bob
US Military
Oct 15, 2013

Awesome

Great hotel, staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up in the cab. Food was great too! Love the décor, the rooms are just fun, and I never had a shower with as much water as here. I felt like I was under a waterfall!! I will definitely not stay anywhere else in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine 1226
New York City, New York
Jul 28, 2014

Good for the money

Cute rooms, across the street from the beach and free breakfast....overall great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pompom
Miami
Jun 29, 2014

Great the ambiance was very cool

Cozy the retro atmosphere was fun I enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try it you might like it

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph the lover
Newyork
Jun 27, 2014

Good spot

It was great staff was nice but me and my partner was a bit annoyed with the fact that we had to wait for our room for so long and no one made sure we was comfortable while waiting. The fan in our room was a lil loud maybe some oily will help.... Happy hour drinks were not good there is a two drink limit which suck we only try two of they drinks and we was like no thank you. We also had a chair in our room that got taken out while we was still there pretty unprofessional. Beside the lil things it was a great stay. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandon Brandon
Los Angeles
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent location. Great Amenities

Great location on the beach. Restaurants, bars, souvenir shops all on the same block with DJ's and live bands playing throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avg night club price: $30 Avg night lounge w/DJ: $5

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJ Jani
IL
Jun 17, 2014

Great staff

The location is great and the staff is awesome to work with! The rooms aren't comfortable enough and we got stuck with not very comfortable bed, but overall it was a good experience. I'd stay there again, all because of the great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the Ocean Dr, doesn't get better than this!

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat the Student
Toronto
May 13, 2014

Graduate Getaway

My friend and I decided to head to Miami to celebrate our completion of our undergraduate studies. We went in knowing that the hotel was in a great location, but other than that, we didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we were informed of all the amenities! We were able to have a great breakfast, happy hour drinks, beach towels/chairs; not to mention all the staff went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. I would most definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Swiss
Zurich
Apr 21, 2014

Extraordinary but Overpriced

The location in South Beach is for Party people. Very loud music and traffic jam. Breakfast does not include any drinks (coffee, tea or juice). Have to pay for these items separately and quite expensive as you have to pay the amount plus tax and gratuities of 15-22 percent!! The bed and pillows are quite hard. Most of the rooms have no view except to the wall of the next building about 5 meters distance. The Restaurant Service is complicated and slow. Friendliness is lacking. Front Desk was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fogo de Chao Churrascaria. Fantastic Brazilian Steakhouse. Excellent Salad Buffet and top quality meat. Very good Service and friendly. Reasonably priced at the upper scale.

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alevtina
Denver
Mar 17, 2014

Spring break

Stayed at the room 209 (love peace and leaforest) during spring break march 2014. The room was decent size for couple people, the wooden floor was sticky, and the water in the sink would always splash all over, shower head was amaizing thou! Towels are off white because over used and overwashed too many times. The orange chairs need to be washed or replaced, stains are out of control. House keeping knocks on door every evening (8-9pm) to leave a flyer with weather tempature, little distracting. AC is loud when on, so are the near by rooms ac's are loud, but kept us cool :) big size tv was great! Closet, iron and ironing board were a plus! The free chairs at the beach was very nice, but towels did not look too good, half torn and over used. The food at pelican restaurant was amaizing so was the service ! Dond forget to tip !! Or you shall be tackled and riminded to do so! Lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACP12345
NY, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Great for short weekend

Great location, free breakfast but wait staff is very slow, very small rooms with no natural light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In A Good Way
Baltimore, MD
Jan 28, 2014

Out of the ordinary, and a lot of fun

The Pelican is a lot of fun, as long as your expectations are set for something that is more out of the ordinary than the usual "nice" hotel. The rooms are definitely clean, but they don't have a sterile feel to them. The furniture is old and kitschy and that is part of the charm, but that also means some chipped mirrors and imperfect finishes. In keeping with the feeling of the time, the hallways are dark - great if you like that kind of thing, spooky if you don't. The staff were all very pleasant, and the "extras" with the stay couldn't be beat: two free drinks per person at happy hour each night, towels and chairs for the beach (step across the street and you're there - this is the oceanfront block), waters in the room, and free breakfast. Valet parking is $25 per day - surprisingly reasonable. My only complaint was the bathroom, and this may have just been the bathroom I got, since all the rooms are different. It was clean, but there was no ventilation except for a window that opened to the wall of windows in the neighboring hotel. The set-up of the cool faucets and showers looked nice, but there was no way to use them without getting water everywhere! (That said, I'm pretty sure housekeeping came through our room twice some days we were there, so that helped.) If a cool art deco meets industrial meets kitsch aesthetic is your thing and you like being right in the middle of the nightlife, The Pelican can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On this trip, flying into Ft. Lauderdale, renting a car to drive 30 minutes to South Beach, and paying for valet parking was actually cheaper than flying into Miami and getting a taxi or shuttle to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search