Pelican Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$206
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016
4.2 /5
Overall score
89%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Deluxe Queen - Ocean View - East
  • Size: 250 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Queen - Central
  • Size: 484 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices King Suite
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Twin - Central
  • Size: 247 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Penthouse Suite
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices King Suite - Ocean View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Deluxe Queen
  • Size: 247 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices King Suite - Standard View - Interior
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Queen Suite - Ocean View
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Suite - Ocean View - Front of building
  • Size: 560 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

A pastel-green Art Deco building with three floors of quirky rooms, the Pelican Hotel in Miami Beach is not your typical getaway. With themes like "Me Tarzan, You Vain" and "Executive Zebra," each room or suite has a different theme designed around recycled objects found by Swedish designer Magnus Ehrland. Rooms include flat-screen TVs with premium channels, free Wi-Fi, a refrigerator, and a retractable clothesline in the bathroom for wet swimsuits. The Pelican Hotel was rated in the Top 10 Best Hotels in Miami Beach by US News & World Report.

Highlights

Key facts

The hotel is in the middle of the Art Deco historic district of South Beach; an area known for iconic buildings. Visitors can take a walking tour, investigate historic buildings, or simply wander through the many boutiques on Ocean Drive. Dining options include small cafes, fine dining restaurants, and every cuisine imaginable with plenty of seafood.

Room service and a breakfast buffet is provided by the Pelican RestCafe; a combination sidewalk cafe, dining room and bar on the first floor of the hotel. The beach is right across the street. In the evening, the area lights up with the brightly colored neon accents that decorate the historic buildings. Nightclubs and restaurants with live music make this the place to party. Valet parking, the front desk and concierge service are available 24 hours a day.

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signature cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.3 / 5
$152

Dream South Beach

★★★★
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$227
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$179
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$118
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$224
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$199

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk
  • Conference facilities
  • Gift shop

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.2 /5 Overall score

89% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.3/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.5/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.8/5
  • Value: 4.1/5

A Stay at The Pelican

Would recommend Sat, Nov 21, 2015
It was amazing. This please is so cool. The look , feel and the experience was something to behold. I highly recommend The Pelican Hotel.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

South Beach Fun

Would recommend Wed, Nov 18, 2015
My friend and I stayed at several hotels during our stay at South Beach and we really enjoyed the Pelican. The staff was great, the complimentary drinks, food and free access to beach chairs and umbrellas were awesome perks! We really enjoyed our stay at the Pelican and loved the food at the restaurant!

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Exactly what we were looking for

Would recommend Sun, Oct 11, 2015
If you are wanting a Miami Beach experience - then without question this is where you are going to find it ! It's what Miami Beach is all about .

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good location and great amenities

Would recommend Mon, Sep 14, 2015
I stayed at the Pelican from August 23-27 2015. First, the bad: 1. my room (Stars and Stripes) was clean but there was a dark hair in the sink upon my arrival and there were scuff marks on the walls. It could have been cleaner but no bugs and my feet were clean when I walked barefoot on the room's floor. The bed was also very clean. 2. I'm short and I could not bend over the sink to wash my face since the faucet was too high. 3. Breakfast could have been served a bit earlier (it starts at 8 am). I missed it when I went on a group day trip to Key West (pick-up time was at 7) and on the the day I left. Then, the good: the amenities! Free breakfast (on the two days I could actually eat it ) two free drinks per day during happy hour 2 free bottles of water in the room's fridge per day chocolates on the bed and the free use of beach chairs. Also, the location was amazing! Food: On the 24th, the kitchen was undergoing maintenance and was sent to a sister hotel for a buffet breakfast (free of charge), which was okay but bland... And the orange ''juice'' tasted liked Tang... Hello??? This is Florida! No real juice? On the day I actually had breakfast at the Pelican, it was however delicious and the plate (eggs, ham and potatoes) was huge. Also ate a burger at the Pelican's restaurant and it was also pretty good. Overall, I would recommend the Pelican to friends and would stay there again. I would however pick another room than the Stars and Stripes. It was great value for the money.

| N/A Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great stay for singles or couples and or groups

Would recommend Thu, Sep 3, 2015
I went with my girlfriend and we were very impressed with our room. I was pleased with the cleanliness and most important the hospitality from housekeeping and from the front desk. I also really loved the setting and all the amenities that the room provided such as an iron and a fire proof safe. My girlfriend and I shared a Queen size bed and we felt like we were sleeping in heaven. I found the bed to be extremely comfortable. I was glad that my girlfriend enjoyed the room as much as I did. The fact that the Pelican is located where all the action is at on Ocean drive and is also right across the street from South Miami Beach, I highly recommend this Hotel for anyone who is looking for a great time.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

MIAMI

Would recommend Wed, Sep 2, 2015
Excellent location with friendly helpful staff. Good value for the location and extras they include like daily beach chair,towel, and 2 drinks at happy hour. Only issue was weak wifi in the room but it wasn't a problem to go sit in restaurant/lobby.

| Bethesda Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Amazing Couple trip

Would recommend Wed, Aug 19, 2015
I am glad I chose Pelican hotel. Location was amazing! The room was a bit small but for a couple you really don't need nothing bigger. The staff was very friendly and we love the amenities like free breakfast, 2 free drinks per guest on happy hour and free beach chairs. I highly recommend and I will definitely be staying there again.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Get Away for Two

Would recommend Sun, Aug 16, 2015
The hotel decor was unique but that's why we chose it. The staff was very helpful and always had a smile on their face. Initially we thought they were not very reactive to our requests but after visiting several restaurants and bars we realized that quick service is not part of the deal anywhere in Miami Beach, but we really weren't in any hurry to go anywhere since we were on vacation. The low score for the Wi-fi is because neither one of us was able to connect any of our devices the whole time we were there (5 nights). The low score for cleanliness is because it didn't appear our wood floors were swept after the first day as we seemed to accumulate or sand and stuff as our stay progressed. Overall, we would both recommend this hotel, the location is awesome, the amenities like free beach lounges and towels are a great touch and the staff is very friendly.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great experience!

Would recommend Wed, Aug 5, 2015
Awesome!! Each room is designed with unique theme. I got 'born in the stars & stripes' room. You will see friendly staff and hotel guests get complimentary happy hour drinks and breakfast plus beach towel! I recommend this hotel to enjoy in the heart of ocean drive!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Would Stay Again

Would recommend Wed, Jul 29, 2015
Hotel staff very welcome. Adam at the front desk was super nice. Complimentary breakfast & chairs with umbrella on the beach was perfect. My room was super cute. Shower water had great pressure & the water stayed hot. Hotel was in the middle of all the action & right across from the beach. I got the most bang for my buck and will definitely stay here again!

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$206
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016