$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
View map of 826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
47 reviews
ideal stay!

Pelican met all our expectations. Very friendly staffs and very accommodating! See full review

  • MR
  • Jul 19, 2015
Great value. Staff is great

We had a great time other than the room was a little warm. Can't beat the location is you want to... See full review

  • Francisco P.
  • Jul 19, 2015
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Credit card required at check in. Name on credit card must match name on reservation....Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MR
Business
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

ideal stay!

Pelican met all our expectations. Very friendly staffs and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francisco P.
Business
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

Great value. Staff is great

We had a great time other than the room was a little warm. Can't beat the location is you want to be in the middle of the action. Not your quiet getaway place with all the comfort. Just a place to stay and have everything within a few steps. The staff was very nice, friendly and professional. Mentore (FD) and Christian (Bar) were excellent. There's great value on the free breakfast, free drinks during happy hour and other amenities. We were very happy with our stay and we'll go back when in the area. Again, the best the hotel has is the service and the mojitos...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elisa C.
Business
N/A
Jul 13, 2015

Great weekend getaway

The hotel was wonderful. Very clean and great beds. The receptionist is so so nice. Great to have all the amenities, such as beach chairs and towels, breakfast, etc. Rooms and amazingly insulated. Did not hear any bothersome street noise. All in all... a fantastic weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
j072988
Business
baltimore
Jul 11, 2015

First trip to miami

The hotel was not as I expected. My room was much smaller than expected and was a typical beach town type room, outdated old school type. The air conditioning stopped running several times and the staff did not seem to care. Miami in July is ridiculously hot so you can imagine how unhappy I was. The staff were not interested in any of my concerns and quite frankly some were rude. Oh and apparently there is a concierge but doesn't have the job responsibilities of one. If you're trying to save money this hotel will be fine. Great location. Other than that, chose another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christopher G.
Business
N/A
Jul 10, 2015

Good location

It was good. Rooms are extremely basic and small but location very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ever F.
Business
LEESBURG
Jul 2, 2015

Awesome

The room was really nice! friendly staff! And if you want your room clean and towel just make sure you ask the lady and she will clean it :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randi R.
Business
N/A
Jun 8, 2015

Amazing trip

The hotel was clean and the staff was great! The restaurant was amazing and the bar was great too. The room was comfortable and I loved the quirky touches throughout the hotel. I'm thinking about going back soon!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ispa
Business
Bolton
May 24, 2015

Themed heaven

Hotels in South beach can vary greatly in price and I booked the Pelican for a great deal. Its location on the premium part of Ocean beach means it can attract much higher prices. This is an art doc hotel, smaller rooms, no swimming pool but the beach is across the road. Breakfast is included in the room rate as well as two chairs and towels for the beach with no resort fee. Even valet parking is reasonable. The themed rooms are inspiring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spacetraveler29
Business
Raleigh
May 11, 2015

as much free stuff as what we paid for the room

South Beach is ridiculously overpriced. So is the Pelican's restaurant. That said, the hotel owners go the distance in providing amenities to the hotel guests. As long as you aren't dead set on lounging by the pool (there isn't one) or sleeping in all day (the beds are hard), this place could be the perfect high value South Beach hotel. We blew plenty of money on our trip with the comfort of knowing that we had saved so much on our room. The freebies they gave us at the Pelican literally equaled what we paid per night for the room. The bartenders were fantastic and friendly. The front desk was always nice and accommodating. The rooms were decorated in cool and quirky decor, even if the shower head was sub-par and the beds were hard. We would definitely stay again if the price was the same. We had a great trip! 2 free hot breakfast buffets (which were delicious: eggs, bacon, fruit, coffee, etc) - $40 (no tip required) 4 free drinks at happy hour - $64 (tip required) Free beach towels and chairs - $40

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emjay
Business
Albert park
May 7, 2015

Very basic dorm like hotel, old, lots of things break, paper thin walls

The rooms have paper thin walls and a lot of things went wrong on our stay. The building is old so things break. The fan is so noisy that you can't have it on. Our view was of a brick wall. Someone had been smoking in the room. The toilet broke in the middle of the night so we had to switch rooms at 3am. We weren't offered a discount for this. We were moved (at my request) to a better room after the toilet broke and given that it was 3am. The better room was absolutely no different. The location and staff are great but that's about it. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top