$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Ocean Surf Hotel

2 stars
View map of 7436 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
122 reviews
Ladies trip

The hotel and staff were the best they made sure we had the best experience ever. The location is... See full review

  • Nini415
  • Aug 11, 2014
Great funky old building

Cheap, right on miami beach which was awesome. I loved the vintage look outside of the building. I... See full review

  • schwartz2020
  • Jun 16, 2014
People say we're "A Great Find!" Our cozy little paradise is an oceanfront hotel located on a secluded and quiet stretch of sand in the North Beach area of Miami Beach. We are just minutes to South Beach, so you can experience its unique sights and sounds. We offer FREE Continental breakfast!

The City of Miami Beach Public Parking at the rate $10.70 daily per car.


Guest must be 21 years or older to check into the hotel. THIS HOTEL IS SMOKE FREE

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Surf Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ocean Surf Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two full size beds. Rooms include individually controlled air conditioners, private baths with tub/showers, direct-dial telephones, clock radios, in-room safes, hairdryers in bathrooms, remote-controllled color cable televisions with HBO, CNN, ESPN and additional cable channels, electronic door locks, smoke detectors, fire sprinklers, daily maid service, iron and ironing boards available and voltage adapters and converters available. Smoking and Non-Smoking rooms and adjoining rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

Panna Cafe
Excellent sandwiches, salads, entrees and amazing desserts. Reasonably priced. Located just around the corner.
Las Vegas Cuban Restaurant
Excellent Cuban food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.
Cafe Prima Pasta
Excellent Italian food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.
Norman's Tavern
Excellent bar food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Surf Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A. C.
Business
New York, NY
Jan 31, 2014

Very bad!!

-Remote cotrol for the tv did not work -Lack enough paper supplies on the bathroom -There was not water to drink in the room -The breakfast is a disaster: Old coffee; cereal; one gallon of milk, one gallon of OJ; white bread. Nothing else! This is not continental breakfast. -They requested a deposit of usd$100 cash or usd$50 with cc; I did not know about this until got to the hotel. -Lacks Wi-fi aroung the rooms; only at the entrance or Lobby. I will not return to this hotel ever. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keyskid
Business
Florida Keys
Mar 15, 2014

Cheap for a beach view

OK location, building was old and outdated. Could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ivan F.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 18, 2014

Rude, Avoid this place

We are here now, just checked in and the staff is rude, service is horrible and she basically told us our stay will be miserable. Wish I had went with a chain hotel so I could complain to someone. They just dont care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 9, 2008

NEVER AGAIN

FIRST I HAD TO TAKE MY OWN LUGGAGE TWO BLOCKS DOWN THE STREET TO THE HOTEL MYSELF! THE ONLY PERSON TO SPEAK ENGLISH WAS THE RECEPTIONIST. THE ROOM WAS AVERAGE FOR A HOTEL BUT THE WINDOWS OPENED ONTO THE SIDE OF THE NEXT DOOR BUILDING. THE BATHROOM WAS POORLY MAINTAINED. THE TOLIET SEAT KEPT SLIDING WHEN SAT ON, THE WATER IN THE SHOWER WAS BEARLY WARM, SOAP DISH WAS BROKEN, THE TUBE WAS GRUNGY. I PUT A CHAIR UNDER THE DOOR KNOB BEFORE I WENT TO BED. PEOPLE BANGING ON THE DOOR NEXT DOOR AND YELLING AT EARLY MORNING. THE HOTEL OFFERED NOTHING AS FAR AS AMENITIES. THIS IS THE WORSE PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED AT AND I TRAVEL FREQUENTLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

DINING IN NEXT HOTELS, NIGHTLIFE 3 -4 BLOCKS AWAY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington VA
May 31, 2009

A Filthy and Dangerous Hotel

It was such a bad experience that I immediately left the hotel and found a new hotel. When I arrived the original location of the hotel had been shut down and it had been moved a few blocks up. The new location's building was decaying and filthy. The porch was filled with garbage and feral cats. The lobby was also in need of a good cleaning and the staff was very unfriendly and not at all helpful. The elevator has not been replaced in about 50 years and seems to be quite unsafe so I had to climb 2 sets of stairs with my luggage to get to my room. When The hallways were dark, damp, and scattered with garbage and empty bottles. I opened my room and it smelled terrible and the bed sheets were dirty. The furniture was in bad condition and the chair was threadbare. The bathroom mirror was cracked and the bathtub was also dirty. My experience at this hotel was horrifying and I urge anyone thinking of staying here to spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jan 13, 2010

Cold..

The room was too cold to sleep. There was no blanket or heter. The bath is dirty. The water looked yellow. The safe was broken and out of service. No parking lot. The sheets are not changed and dirty. The internet often disconnect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
los angeloes
Dec 17, 2010

total needs remodeling

total needs remodeling,the bathrooms need total change

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

do not expect great things in the rooms .. if looking for something to resolve this biennn shoot it ..... the only good thing is clean

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
please dont stay here
Business
Connecticut, USA
Nov 7, 2011

please no one stay here it was a very bad experience. the hotel stunk the rooms very just dirty.

very bad. i didnt even want to sit on the bed. the bath rooms were horrible. i thought i was going to bring bugs home if i stayed there. please no one go there they seriously need to shut it down. there were cats outside all over it was just bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good restarants in the nieborhood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eric123
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Typical one star hotel.

Carpets are filthy throughout the hotel, needs replacement. Air conditioning units are in desperate need of replacement. The WIFI connection works intermittently, mostly not, and when it does it is absolutely the slowest. The elevator has been out of order since god knows when. It appears they have no plans to fix it. The pictures are very misleading. This motel is owned by the type of person who is too cheap to ever invest in it. They just don't bother with upkeep of anything. The front desk staff can be helpful and useful. Lastly, do not stay here if you do not have access to a car. It's five miles north of South Beach. It's on a nice quite street though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kirill
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Poor

The furniture is too old. If you want just to take a sleep in the room - it's a fair deal for such price. But if you are on vacation, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. I liked the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top