$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Ocean Surf Hotel

2 stars
7436 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
105 reviews
Ladies trip

The hotel and staff were the best they made sure we had the best experience ever. The location is... See full review

  • Nini415
  • Aug 11, 2014
Great funky old building

Cheap, right on miami beach which was awesome. I loved the vintage look outside of the building. I... See full review

  • schwartz2020
  • Jun 16, 2014
People say we're "A Great Find!" Our cozy little paradise is an oceanfront hotel located on a secluded and quiet stretch of sand in the North Beach area of Miami Beach. We are just minutes to South Beach, so you can experience its unique sights and sounds. We offer FREE Continental breakfast!

The City of Miami Beach Public Parking at the rate $10.70 daily per car.


Guest must be 21 years or older to check into the hotel. THIS HOTEL IS SMOKE FREE

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Surf Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ocean Surf Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two full size beds. Rooms include individually controlled air conditioners, private baths with tub/showers, direct-dial telephones, clock radios, in-room safes, hairdryers in bathrooms, remote-controllled color cable televisions with HBO, CNN, ESPN and additional cable channels, electronic door locks, smoke detectors, fire sprinklers, daily maid service, iron and ironing boards available and voltage adapters and converters available. Smoking and Non-Smoking rooms and adjoining rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

Panna Cafe
Excellent sandwiches, salads, entrees and amazing desserts. Reasonably priced. Located just around the corner.
Las Vegas Cuban Restaurant
Excellent Cuban food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.
Cafe Prima Pasta
Excellent Italian food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.
Norman's Tavern
Excellent bar food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Surf Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.8

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 24, 2007

Quiet and close to beach

This hotel had a lot of charm. Although it could do with a little renovation, it had wonderful Art Deco character without being in noisy and crowded South Beach. Our room was very clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Ask for an ocean-view room if available- sunrises from our balcony were beautiful! Excellent restaurants within three blocks if you don't want to go to South Beach. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab some drinks from the nearby hotel and bring back to the veranda and enjoy the view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shanky
Business
Memphis, TN
Nov 29, 2010

Low price, good quality

1. The beach is minutes away from the hotel.. 2. Caters my economy of less than $60. 3. Morning breakfast watching the sunrise on the beach from hotel lobby. 4. Security by cops on that area made me felt better. 5. The hotel customer service was too gud. 6. Best stay done in my trips around USA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach a minute walkway is the highlight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
czachinmiami
Business
wisconsin
Jan 21, 2014

awesome location, solid value

Breakfast = coffee, white toast, weird muffins and cereal on weekends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To save time and tolls, use 71st street to go cross-town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mely Promama
Business
California long beach
Jun 10, 2014

oceanfront

My family and I love this cozy place its been a home away from home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban coffee n pastries delicious open almost all day great way to stay up n enjoy our stay lol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lombard, IL
Aug 2, 2008

My review of Ocean Surf Hotel

The Ocean Surf Hotel was a great place to get away for a short vacation. The hotel is very basic. No amenities (exept fridge in room and don't forget your own shampoo) and continental breakfast had very little to choose from. Porch was nice to eat at or just sit and relax. Ask for a room with a balcony because the view is beautiful. The place is so beautiful you shouldn't spend much time in the room anyway so the Ocean Surf did its job. It is right across the parking lot from a(not crowded) beach. No formal dinning but plenty of fast food or sit-down places in walking distance. The restaurant in the next door is excellent. The food was wonderful. There are a lot of bars and shops in walking distance as well. My husband and I have been there twice and this will forever be our get-a-way place when we need a quick break from the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is good for a short vacation unless you have a car. Nightlife, shopping, and dinning are just a 15 minute drive away. Beautiful beach right across the street with local restaurants and cheap shops nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gloria Super Mom
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 21, 2007

Great Location, Great beach

Nice location, nice beach across the street. Hotel is old, however clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cagua
Aug 22, 2008

My review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Realy this is a gueshouse iderthan a hotel but is very familiar is in very good location. My wife and me enjoyed very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafes, restourants and shoping places ara at walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 16, 2008

Across the street from the Beach

The Ocean Surf Hotel is not fancy but the rooms are clean and the Hotel is directly across the street from the ocean. The staff was courteous and helpful. This is a no frills type of hotel but not at all disappointing. This is not South Beach but if you are looking for a more low key Miami experience this is the place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short walk from the hotel there are numerous restaurants and a few bars. This is not South Beach but many people hopped cabs to downtown Miami.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 27, 2008

Good Value Hotel

The price of the Ocean Surf Hotel is attractive. For your money, you get a clean and comfortable room. The front desk is very good. I was able to check in early, which was a plus. I had to change rooms 3 times in order to get a working safe. Make sure you check that everything works before unpacking. The front porch is fantastic. I spent a lot of time out there people watching and talking to other guests. The neighborhood is working class with plenty of restaurants, grocery, convenience stores, bank, and library near by. The beach is right across the street, with lifeguards and showers. I was comfortable walking around alone. The building is an old, lovely art deco. The foyer is really nice. They are renovating some rooms, and the carpeting is old. I got used to the strong disinfectant smell after 24 hours. I would stay here again. Good value for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooks, AB
Sep 7, 2008

Money saver

I like the hotel staff attitude. I would stay here next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel located right at the Miami beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top