$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Ocean Surf Hotel

2 stars
View map of 7436 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Surf Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tiff
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

OK stay but wouldn't stay here again

When i first checked in i had to wait a while until someone came to the front desk. when the person finally arrived we were checked in and given a room on the first floor. The room was still being cleaned and it smelled very old. It was really hot and the carpets looked dirty. i think its safe to say that the whole first floor is disgusting. The cleaning lady saw my look of disapproval and called the front desk for me to change my room. she was very sweet and told me that next door is a better hotel called the hawaii hotel. I believe ocean surf may have taken over that hotel as well. The front desk woman gave us different room options in ocean surf and hawaii hotel. we decided to stay in hawaii which is much better and we were happy with our choice. my friend stayed with her room on the 3rd floor on ocean surf it had a balcony and it is a big difference then the first floor. The beach was literally across the street and there are many places to eat. overall it was an ok experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few places to eat that are cheap and good. There is a brazilian place to eat that the steaks are sooo good its right near a bank of america.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Leandro, ca
Aug 7, 2011

This place was the definition of DUMP

The hotel is about a 20 to 30 min car ride to the South Beach strip. The hotel HAS NOT been remodeled in decades. Nothing in the room worked properly, and the lighting was horrible.( most of the bulbs were blown out) This place is the worst place I've ever stayed and even though it was cheap ( for MIAMI) I would never stay her again. The A/C barely blew out air, the hotel doesn't have parking and if you manage to find a spot, a parking pass in ten dollars a day. Awful place, do not stay here, I can't stress this enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MO B
Business
Egypt
Jul 26, 2011

Really Good

The hotel was really good. The staff was very professional, extremly helpful and well rounded with the area. The only problem was that the hotel is about 25 mins away by bus from the south beach (hot spot of Miami). The rooms were good. Size of the room was fine, breakfast is okay and beds are perfect in size. The best thing is the beach. The hotel is directly infront of the beach (2 mins walk)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C-lo
Business
philadelphia pa
Jun 23, 2011

It was nice and peacefull

Had agreat time went to the beach everyday and clubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pochitopower
Business
west palm beach
Jun 9, 2011

Good service

I was only 12 hours, but i enjoy The beach is close and nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meghan Z
Business
Saint Cloud, Florida
Jun 6, 2011

Sketchy!

The hotel is basically somewhere to sleep at night. Nothing special about it. Looks pretty sketchy. Had a bunch of hooligans running around outside. Sad, because Ocean Terrace is a great location for the hotels that are there. It's a beautiful strip of beach and well taken care of beach front. Those hotels would probably do some serious business if they had complete overhauls and underwent massive renovations. Maybe add a little security! Could go a long way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner there is a restaurant called Sazon (cuban food). Order the classic cuban sandwich and a mojito. Delish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 6, 2011

Alright place

It was okay to stay in but nothing spectacular. Just convenient. Right in front of Miami Beach, which is probably the best thing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meghan Z
Business
Saint Cloud, Florida
Jun 6, 2011

Sketchy!

The hotel is basically somewhere to sleep at night. Nothing special about it. Looks pretty sketchy. Had a bunch of hooligans running around outside. Sad, because Ocean Terrace is a great location for the hotels that are there. It's a beautiful strip of beach and well taken care of beach front. Those hotels would probably do some serious business if they had complete overhauls and underwent massive renovations. Maybe add a little security! Could go a long way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner there is a restaurant called Sazon (cuban food). Order the classic cuban sandwich and a mojito. Delish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2011

Icky

I was there for one night...so I wasn't looking for anything too special- but MAN! This was the dumps. It was very tiny, and although we got an "upgrade" with a "patio" view of the beach - I wondered if Ashton Kutcher would jump out and yell "You've got Punk'd!" I was weary about climbing into the bed, taking a shower, or having my bare feet on the carpet. This place is just old and dingy- a drug user/cheap prostitute's dream. The only good thing was LOCATION! The beach is literally across the street/parking lot. I think the best part was being outside of the hotel. Its a shame, but it really needs a huge update: elevator doesn't work, and the circa 1980's Miami Vice / Flamingo Pink & Tropical Blue exterior is gagging. I would never stay here again...sorry!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is right across the street, and Collins (which runs parallel/behind) is lined with some cultural restaurants and you can rent a bike. Again, everything that's great about this hotel is OUTSIDE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore MD
Dec 31, 2010

miami vacation

It was a great experience was barely at the hotel but it was fine.. nice and cozy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurant around the area and shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top