$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Ocean Surf Hotel

2 stars
View map of 7436 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
111 reviews
Ladies trip

The hotel and staff were the best they made sure we had the best experience ever. The location is... See full review

  • Nini415
  • Aug 11, 2014
Great funky old building

Cheap, right on miami beach which was awesome. I loved the vintage look outside of the building. I... See full review

  • schwartz2020
  • Jun 16, 2014
People say we're "A Great Find!" Our cozy little paradise is an oceanfront hotel located on a secluded and quiet stretch of sand in the North Beach area of Miami Beach. We are just minutes to South Beach, so you can experience its unique sights and sounds. We offer FREE Continental breakfast!

The City of Miami Beach Public Parking at the rate $10.70 daily per car.


Guest must be 21 years or older to check into the hotel. THIS HOTEL IS SMOKE FREE

Top hotels

Ocean Surf Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two full size beds. Rooms include individually controlled air conditioners, private baths with tub/showers, direct-dial telephones, clock radios, in-room safes, hairdryers in bathrooms, remote-controllled color cable televisions with HBO, CNN, ESPN and additional cable channels, electronic door locks, smoke detectors, fire sprinklers, daily maid service, iron and ironing boards available and voltage adapters and converters available. Smoking and Non-Smoking rooms and adjoining rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

Panna Cafe
Excellent sandwiches, salads, entrees and amazing desserts. Reasonably priced. Located just around the corner.
Las Vegas Cuban Restaurant
Excellent Cuban food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.
Cafe Prima Pasta
Excellent Italian food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.
Norman's Tavern
Excellent bar food. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Surf Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
czachinmiami
Business
wisconsin
Jan 21, 2014

awesome location, solid value

Breakfast = coffee, white toast, weird muffins and cereal on weekends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To save time and tolls, use 71st street to go cross-town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Markus77
Business
San Francisco
Apr 15, 2015

relaxed place

Good value, good location. If you look for an affordable hotel that is close to beach this is perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martlesby
Business
Chicago
Mar 17, 2015

Not fancy, but great for the money.

The price, location and historic architecture are reason enough to stay here. It's a bit rough around the edges, but if you're on a tight budget, it's absolutely worth it, and probably the best deal going, right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michelle
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Pass on this one

I have never done a review before, but feel compelled to do so in the hope someone else might avoid having the experience I did. First, I was shocked when I walked in because the hotel does not look anything like it does in the photos online. The lobby was old and drab looking with an odor to it. I arrived before I could check in but they had nowhere to store my suitcase other than the open lobby where anyone could grab it, so I had to lug it around with me. The women's bathroom was out of order so I was forced to use the men's room, which was dirty. The hallways were run down, and the elevator, which moved at a crawl, was scary. When I did get in to the room, I was disgusted. It was small, which was fine, but the smell was almost unbearable I am not sure if it was an attempt to cover up another smell or what. The walls were stained and shabby looking, and the carpet was awful it seemed moist and I didn't dare walk on it with bare feet. The bathroom was similarly frightening, with rusted out looking pipes, a dilapidated-looking tile floor, no toilet paper on the roll and no hand towels or wash cloths. The window view was awful, the A/C unit was loud and would not turn off, although it did work. Fortunately, I did not see any bugs and the sheets appeared to be clean so I was able to make it through the night. I didn't dare touch the bedspread though. The ONLY good things about this hotel are the beach nearby and the nice restaurant, Aromi's, down the block. Maybe there are better rooms available than the one I had, but I would not chance it and would never stay there again. My advice is spend a little more and get something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany F.
Business
arlington
Feb 10, 2015

Hotel

The beach is just a couple feet from the hotel.. that probably was the only good thing about the hotel.. we never had tissue, bath rags, soap, lotions...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael B.
Business
Hartland
Feb 9, 2015

2 Nights

Hotel staff are excellent at the reception. The hotel is in a very run down condition, and needs a lot of repairs. Smells musty and old permeate the entire hotel which we did not expect. Carpets need cleaning but I think if they did it would disintegrate. The cleaning staff were helpful in obtaining additional towels. Probably will not return although the staff attitude helped offset the poor condition of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jafontanez
Business
San juan
Jan 23, 2015

Never again

Where should I start? Every time that I tried to open the door I have to go and have my key re programmed. Bathtub was clogged, tiny toilet. The mini fridge had a plastic water bottle as a leg. Balcony door's blinds didn't go all the way down so no privacy since the balcony was shared with other room. You have to kick the balcony door to open it and then slam it a couple of times to close it. Only 10 channels on the tv. Floor was dirty. The only thing good about this hotel is the location since the beach is across the street and the checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brststrker03
Business
Orlando
Nov 20, 2014

Horrible

Walked in to find out double beds only and no parking for hotel. Then went to room to find mold on walls, beds were worse than pull out mattresses, and bathroom was beyond unclean. Person at desk said they could not change my room or refund me. I left with no refund because of the uncleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abrahmbh
Business
Maryland
Sep 25, 2014

really close to the nice miami beach

I picked this hotel due to it's location and price. really worth staying here if you just wanna enjoy beach and don't care about hotel amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Miami beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Audi Chick
Business
Lancaster, PA
Sep 25, 2014

Way better then what I was expecting..

I was expecting something.. very terrible after reading the reviews, but I was pleasantly suprrised. I'm usually not one to cancel based off reviews, since everyone is different and has different expectations. The rooms was very clean, a little old/worn out looking, but clean. The Hotel overall looked older, but, the AC worked, room was always clear, hot water, and comfy beds.. which is what I look for. Had a microwave in the lobby area, and fridge in the room.. right in front of the beach! The only thing I didn't like, was how far it was from South Beach, the party scene at night. Tehres a bar next door, maracan, which has 2.50 draft beers, b1g1 drinks from 4p-7p! Excellent prices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Surf Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Halid
Business
Clifton, NJ
Sep 4, 2014

Summer Trip

I stayed in this hotel for four nights. The receptionists where quite helpful with everything I needed assistance with. Room was small but I had a balcony which was nice. It is obviously not a 5 star hotel so I didn't expect much. It is a good place to crash over for a few nights if you are in Miami. If you want something more elegant looking i would recommend to spend more money and book another hotel in the vicinity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The cheapest way to get to downtown or South beach is if you take the S or 120 bus on Harding Ave. It takes you all the way to Downtown for a flat rate of $2.25

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top