$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

3 stars
4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
129 reviews
Noisy

Everything was great except for the traffic jam outside our room. There was lots of construction... See full review

  • Rebecca1323
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great stay !

My boyfriend and I ended up staying at this hotel and it was great . The room was clean and it is... See full review

  • Dolly Carrazana
  • Apr 10, 2014
Miami Beach value hotel with on-site sandwich shop near beach and bars

Stay on a sunny corner of Miami Beach in an original 1936 Collins Avenue building. The Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel is a lemon-lime-colored six-story tower hotel for both business and holiday travelers. The aqua water and sparkling sands of the world famous Miami Beach are just a block away from the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel. The South Beach nightlife scene is just farther down the road. Grab a quick bite at the on-site sandwich shop or taste the flavors of South Florida at the many nearby restaurants.

Highlights
  • Near Miami Beach oceanfront
  • On-site dining
  • Short cab ride to South Beach
  • Non-smoking property
  • 24-hour front desk
Rooms

Simple rooms at the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel accommodate up to four people. Air conditioning, coffee makers and refrigerators are provided. Guests relax with cable TV, CD player and don't miss a beat thanks to the alarm clock radio. Updated bathrooms at the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel feature hairdryers and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Corner rooms at this Miami Beach hotel have original corner windows. Upper floors provide spectacular ocean views. Iron/ironing boards also are available.

Features

Rent a beach chair from the lobby and cross the street to the white sand beachfront or stroll the beach boardwalk to soak up some rays. The Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel restaurant features an outdoor patio shaded by palms and umbrellas so guests can grab a convenient sandwich before heading out for afternoon and evening fun in Miami Beach. Ask the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel front desk staff about nightclub passes and tour information.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • Port of Miami (8.1 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Oceanfront (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (16.9 mi/27.3 km)
  • Miami Seaquarium (21 mi/13.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Lobby computer with Internet access
  • In-room desks

Hotel Map

25.8137 -80.1231
Area served
Located in the middle of Miami Beach, 17 blocks north of the world famous South Beach, directly across from the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby airports
Miami International Fort Lauderdale International
Area description
South Beach 2 miles, Metro Zoo 20 miles, Port of Miami 5 miles, Art Deco District 2 miles, Miami Seaquarium 6 miles, Bass Museum of Art 2 Miles, Hialeah Race Track 11 miles, Vizcaya Museum & Gardens 7 miles, Cape Florida Lighthouse 11 miles, Parrot Jungle & Gardens 14 miles, and Fairchild Tropical Gardens 13 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel Rooms

Queen Bed (available with Water View)
Slightly larger than our standard room, premium queen guestrooms feature a queen sized bed with pillow top mattresses. Each room features European design furnishings, desk, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable TV, CD stereo, and phone. Some feature partial ocean view. This roomtype and higher also features a refrigerator and in room safe.
King Bed (available with Water View)
The largest guestroom, our premium king guestroom features a king sized bed with a pillow-top mattress. Each king room features a clean modern design, small refrigerator, CD stereo, in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, 32" flatscreen TVs with cable, in room safe, and phone with voicemail.
Double Bed (available with Water View)
Deluxe double guest room with city view features two double beds with pillow-top mattresses. Room features European design furnishings, desk w/2 line phone, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, CD stereo, free local calls, cable TV, and in room safe. No rollaways allowed. Rates based on double occupancy. Additional person fee of $25 per guest 12+ years of age.
Standard Room
Standard comfort room features one full size bed with pillow top mattress. Guestrooms features European design furnishings, desk, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable TV, CD stereo, and phone with voice-mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Subway
Sandwich Shop - onsite. Offers guests an affordable dining option. Also offers a continental breakfast for hotel guests at a cost of $3 daily per person.
Morton's Steakhouse
Famous steakhouse with amazing food and a great happy hour. One block from the hotel
Carraba's Italian Restaurant
Italian Restaurant just 2 blocks from the hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 129
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bostonguy999
Boston
Jan 29, 2013

Stay away

Filthy hallways, stench from subway restaurant dominates lobby. I would never stay there again. Should have listened to previous reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jaels wife
New Jersey, USA
Mar 13, 2012

You get what you pay for- not a 3 star>>more like 1

We wanted to get away for my birthday, and wanted ti do something cost efficent. This place is no frills at all. I think that the location is good if you dont want or need the riff raff of south beach. Its about a 20 minute walk to the middle of the action. The hotel is nothomng speacil, this is a great place for college kids who need a cheap place to stay, or for people that do not care about amneties, there are no amenties, The rooms need a upgrade. They do not have flat screens no we were not there to watch tv, but it would have boon good. The beds are comfy...the towels were very rough and they only gave you 1 set, so we had to call down daily to get more. The hotel does offer a 25.00 deal for 2 beach chairs, towels and drinks(non alcholic) for the day. That is the best part of the hotel, it is across from the beach. The only food that is offered is subway, and there are a few vending machine in the hotel. The staff was very nice and acomdating.'The 1 elavator did break down one night, and was back up by 7am I would recommend this place to people that are on a budget, and still want to enjoy miami/south beach. Other then that I would not saty here you willbe disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mini mart/cafe near the hotel they server great pastry as well as hot and cold sandwhichs and food...and it was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tanky j
washington dc
May 16, 2010

poor

the toilet was backed op the entire time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Wa
Apr 24, 2011

Not as described

Absolutley the worse hotel I have ever been in. Not at all as described in the Hotel overview. Lobby was dark and very small, looked like a seedy hotel portrayed in movies. We felt very out of place. Room was dark, only window was to adjacent building approx 6' away. Bathroom was spartian with small stand alone sink with no place to put anything. Soap and glasses were on top of toilet. Charged a 100.00 hold fee to make sure room was not damaged...??? Should give you a clue. Tried to argue againts deposit, was assured it would be reversed, still has not been 4 day later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mikey 989
Atlanta Ga
Aug 16, 2011

Don't do it

Umm...where do I begin? The lobby smells like rotten subway lettuce(I'm assuming because subway is in the lobby). They made me charge a holding fee of $100 on my credit card(I guess it's standard in Miami, but it's nothing in this hotel I could broke worth that much). The tv was an old tube 19 in TV. The carpet was stained. The bathroom fixtures fell apart upon touch. The tub was disgusting with mildew stains. The pillow had some1 elses hair on it. No good sleep because construction work is right outside. Don't use the slow uncertified elevator unless you wanna wait forever. But hey you get what you pay for and your senior citizen beach, taxi ride is $10 to the young folks side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stmcmaz
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Feb 20, 2012

cot, and a shower!

Stay somewhere else. No parking available, garage down the street $30 a day when space is available Mgr underskilled. Freezing cold inside, (too much AC), virtually no tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Apr 22, 2009

Closet for a Room

I reserved a king size bed and room and was told room was guaranteed till midnight. We arrived at 11:30pm due to flight delays and were given a closet-sized room with no closet, and two supposedly double beds that felt like cots. We asked to be given what we paid for and were told they were booked and this was the only room available. HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!! NO MATTER WHAT THE PICTURE LOOKS LIKE ON THE INTERNET AND HOW REASONABLE THE PRICE, DO NOT BOOK! YOU WILL END UP PAYING MORE IN THE END....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte, nc
Jul 9, 2009

Not bad for the price

not clean, smelly rooms, room service personnel makes too much noise and talking as early as 9am, you cant sleep after that. and no parking anywhere, you got to find a parking meter spot at night and walk to the hotel, and we you do find one you got to wake up at 8am to pay the meter or you'll get a ticket, and that was very annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Le La
Durham, NC, USA
Mar 15, 2012

THUMBS DOWN

The room wasn't what I thought it would be!! There was a bug in the bed! The room was small! And it just wasn't comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Dec 27, 2010

Eat Fresh, Sleep Uncomfortably.

My wife and I were looking for a decent place to stay in Miami on the night before our Honeymoon Cruise. Unfortunately, we picked the Ocean Spray. I can make this simple and quick. The bed was obviously 25+ years old, and make this loud squeaking rubber against plastic sound when one sat upon it. Not only that but my feet hung off the edge of the bed by about 6 inches (I am 6'1"). The room was tiny, and felt as if had not been thoroughly cleaned in many stays. We actually put T-Shirts on the pillows as our own pillow cases because the ones they had were so dingy!!! We are frequent travelers of the East Coast and this is the first time we have ever felt so badly about a place. Best of all, the Subway sandwich shop. One would think this is awesome having a convenient place to eat at the bottom of the hotel, but let me just say, you will smell subway every waking moment of your stay at this hotel. That and the odor of subway will be in your room, and in your clothing before you depart. I was so thankful we had a beautiful room on the cruise ship after this night to better my feelings about Miami. Staff was difficult to communicate with because of her lack of English, but I'll give this a pass because of being in Miami and I should probably know more Spanish anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search