$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tjp1
Nj
Aug 5, 2012

Perfect for the price

Hotel was clean and the staff was great. As far as the other reviews of the rooms being dirty and staff being terrible they were way off. My room was cleaned every day and there's an extra charge to have a guest over that they even waved. It's also about 100 feet from the beach, and two blocks from a deli and liquor store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
audubon
Business
bonita springs, fl
Apr 2, 2012

for a single it would be great

you need to describe parking sitution. had one chair, no closet. bathroom sink did not have a counter very small tv. elevator stalled twice. subway was a great idea. very easy to get to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Le La
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Mar 15, 2012

THUMBS DOWN

The room wasn't what I thought it would be!! There was a bug in the bed! The room was small! And it just wasn't comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Velina
Business
New York
Mar 14, 2012

Get Away

NEEDS A LOT OF IMPROVEMENTS Elevator broken(2x) our Room been on the 6th Floor No parking for Car. lighting in Bathroom pure. I can go on and on We left one day early Went to a different Hotel left a message to speak with manager He/She never get back to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex Am.
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Honest review from an honest guy on spring break

First thing you'll notice when you walk in is the smell of subway flooding the lobby. The smell is also in the elevator but thats all. With how expensive everything in Miami is you'll wind up eating subway multiple times so its actually very clutch being there. Talking about the elevator, its a death trap. Every time we got in it we'd hold our breath. We took the stairs multiple times including when the elevator broke and they were fixing it for a day and a half. The rooms are small but clean. They are barely bigger then my freshman dorm room but with an added bathroom. Dresser broke as soon as we got there, safe didn't work, TV was small and old. Besides all the problems there was a clean bed a shower and air conditioning. We're in our room to sleep and get ready before going out so this room is perfect for the price. The bus stop is right around the corner and for $2 it will take you to south beach or anywhere you want to go. A taxi to south beach will run you about $10. The beach is real nice and right across the street form the hotel. All in all if you are on a budget such as a college student like me, this place is perfect. Nothing really bothered me in this hotel to tell anyone else otherwise. If you are a family definitely don't stay here though, you'll be miserable and nobody wants to hear your annoying review. And since I can only give one tip below I'll throw some down here as well. Cantina 27 is a short walk from the hotel, its an italian restaurant has homemade pastas made every day that are great and also try the malabrea Italian beer that you can't get anywhere else besides PA i believe. Don't go to the malls, they are way too far for a taxi and the bus will take two hours ( I wanted to kill myself). In downtown Miami there is an area right next to American Airlines areana called Bayside. here are a bunch of shops, places to eat, outdoor bars and it is really nice right on the water. Heat games are awesome as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jaels wife
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 13, 2012

You get what you pay for- not a 3 star>>more like 1

We wanted to get away for my birthday, and wanted ti do something cost efficent. This place is no frills at all. I think that the location is good if you dont want or need the riff raff of south beach. Its about a 20 minute walk to the middle of the action. The hotel is nothomng speacil, this is a great place for college kids who need a cheap place to stay, or for people that do not care about amneties, there are no amenties, The rooms need a upgrade. They do not have flat screens no we were not there to watch tv, but it would have boon good. The beds are comfy...the towels were very rough and they only gave you 1 set, so we had to call down daily to get more. The hotel does offer a 25.00 deal for 2 beach chairs, towels and drinks(non alcholic) for the day. That is the best part of the hotel, it is across from the beach. The only food that is offered is subway, and there are a few vending machine in the hotel. The staff was very nice and acomdating.'The 1 elavator did break down one night, and was back up by 7am I would recommend this place to people that are on a budget, and still want to enjoy miami/south beach. Other then that I would not saty here you willbe disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mini mart/cafe near the hotel they server great pastry as well as hot and cold sandwhichs and food...and it was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janeekinz
Business
Long Island, NY
Mar 10, 2012

Great for Young Couples

The hotel is just what you need when going on a vacation to Miami Beach where you plan on spending a lot of time out in the sun..and not in the room. The room itself was very basic - very clean, bed comfortable. I read lots of reviews for this hotel before going on our vacation.. now I see that people focus on the smallest things. Yes, the smell of Subway can be strong when walking past or in certain areas of the hotel, but it's for a few seconds. Subway is definitely convenient, right in the hotel. Prices are decent. Staff was great - that's a big deal to me. They gladly provide extra towels, coffee, etc. if you ask. Number one pro: you are VERY close to the beach! You can always rent bikes (amount depends on amount of time) that are located all throughout the area and ride down to South Beach- you have to first ride on the sidewalks along bike paths then you're able to go up onto the boardwalk just a few blocks up. This is a good hotel to stay when you want a quiet location but it's not far and it's very easy to get down to South Beach if you want a switch in scenery and excitement!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ride by Deco Bike - Cuban Restaurant: Bella Cuba @ 1659 Washington Ave. Miami Beach FL 33139 Reservations are required! EXCELLENT FOOD AND DRINKS. GREAT STAFF ADDS TO THE PLEASURABLE DINING EXPERIENCE. My boyfriend and I are still thinking about how amazing everything was: our sangria pitchers, appetizers, entrees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stmcmaz
Business
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Feb 20, 2012

cot, and a shower!

Stay somewhere else. No parking available, garage down the street $30 a day when space is available Mgr underskilled. Freezing cold inside, (too much AC), virtually no tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ickedicke
Business
Virginia
Jan 4, 2012

It is a nice hotel with really friendly staff.

I stayed there for 8 nigths and we had all we need. Everyday new towels, safe in the room, fridge, TV. The bed was a little bit small, but ok, we slept good in it. I would go there again. Pretty closed to the beach and to busstops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pcnova
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great location that exceeded expectations

Based on other reviews we expected a run down place and/or bad service. Not so: the place is tidy and looks on par with other hotels in the area. Front desk personnel were courteous and very helpful; they gave us directions, called a taxi for us, and kept our luggage after checking out while we wondered around waiting for our flight. Overall, this is a great value considering the location. It's not for somebody looking for luxury or for people who can't tolerate significant noise, since the building is older and close to the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Watch out for the 2-for-one drink "deals" on the restaurants along the beach. They are huge, super expensive drinks that you won't finish (especially if you're dining) and won't even get to the second drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kellyw
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 10, 2011

wonderful trip

it was lovely. They made me feel very welcome and taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top