$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

3 stars
4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
134 reviews
Bugs around drinking machine

Staff are nice, but the cleanliness of public area should be improved. Doesn't close to downtown,... See full review

  • Mandywwy
  • Oct 18, 2014
Good location

Rite n the middle of miami. Close 2 everything that's happening... See full review

  • IShine
  • Sep 29, 2014
Miami Beach value hotel with on-site sandwich shop near beach and bars

Stay on a sunny corner of Miami Beach in an original 1936 Collins Avenue building. The Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel is a lemon-lime-colored six-story tower hotel for both business and holiday travelers. The aqua water and sparkling sands of the world famous Miami Beach are just a block away from the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel. The South Beach nightlife scene is just farther down the road. Grab a quick bite at the on-site sandwich shop or taste the flavors of South Florida at the many nearby restaurants.

Highlights
  • Near Miami Beach oceanfront
  • On-site dining
  • Short cab ride to South Beach
  • Non-smoking property
  • 24-hour front desk
Rooms

Simple rooms at the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel accommodate up to four people. Air conditioning, coffee makers and refrigerators are provided. Guests relax with cable TV, CD player and don't miss a beat thanks to the alarm clock radio. Updated bathrooms at the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel feature hairdryers and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Corner rooms at this Miami Beach hotel have original corner windows. Upper floors provide spectacular ocean views. Iron/ironing boards also are available.

Features

Rent a beach chair from the lobby and cross the street to the white sand beachfront or stroll the beach boardwalk to soak up some rays. The Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel restaurant features an outdoor patio shaded by palms and umbrellas so guests can grab a convenient sandwich before heading out for afternoon and evening fun in Miami Beach. Ask the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel front desk staff about nightclub passes and tour information.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • Port of Miami (8.1 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Oceanfront (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (16.9 mi/27.3 km)
  • Miami Seaquarium (21 mi/13.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Lobby computer with Internet access
  • In-room desks

Hotel Map

25.8137 -80.1231
Area served
Located in the middle of Miami Beach, 17 blocks north of the world famous South Beach, directly across from the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby airports
Miami International Fort Lauderdale International
Area description
South Beach 2 miles, Metro Zoo 20 miles, Port of Miami 5 miles, Art Deco District 2 miles, Miami Seaquarium 6 miles, Bass Museum of Art 2 Miles, Hialeah Race Track 11 miles, Vizcaya Museum & Gardens 7 miles, Cape Florida Lighthouse 11 miles, Parrot Jungle & Gardens 14 miles, and Fairchild Tropical Gardens 13 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel Rooms

Queen Bed (available with Water View)
Slightly larger than our standard room, premium queen guestrooms feature a queen sized bed with pillow top mattresses. Each room features European design furnishings, desk, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable TV, CD stereo, and phone. Some feature partial ocean view. This roomtype and higher also features a refrigerator and in room safe.
King Bed (available with Water View)
The largest guestroom, our premium king guestroom features a king sized bed with a pillow-top mattress. Each king room features a clean modern design, small refrigerator, CD stereo, in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, 32" flatscreen TVs with cable, in room safe, and phone with voicemail.
Double Bed (available with Water View)
Deluxe double guest room with city view features two double beds with pillow-top mattresses. Room features European design furnishings, desk w/2 line phone, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, CD stereo, free local calls, cable TV, and in room safe. No rollaways allowed. Rates based on double occupancy. Additional person fee of $25 per guest 12+ years of age.
Standard Room
Standard comfort room features one full size bed with pillow top mattress. Guestrooms features European design furnishings, desk, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable TV, CD stereo, and phone with voice-mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Subway
Sandwich Shop - onsite. Offers guests an affordable dining option. Also offers a continental breakfast for hotel guests at a cost of $3 daily per person.
Morton's Steakhouse
Famous steakhouse with amazing food and a great happy hour. One block from the hotel
Carraba's Italian Restaurant
Italian Restaurant just 2 blocks from the hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Le La
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Mar 15, 2012

THUMBS DOWN

The room wasn't what I thought it would be!! There was a bug in the bed! The room was small! And it just wasn't comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Velina
Business
New York
Mar 14, 2012

Get Away

NEEDS A LOT OF IMPROVEMENTS Elevator broken(2x) our Room been on the 6th Floor No parking for Car. lighting in Bathroom pure. I can go on and on We left one day early Went to a different Hotel left a message to speak with manager He/She never get back to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex Am.
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Honest review from an honest guy on spring break

First thing you'll notice when you walk in is the smell of subway flooding the lobby. The smell is also in the elevator but thats all. With how expensive everything in Miami is you'll wind up eating subway multiple times so its actually very clutch being there. Talking about the elevator, its a death trap. Every time we got in it we'd hold our breath. We took the stairs multiple times including when the elevator broke and they were fixing it for a day and a half. The rooms are small but clean. They are barely bigger then my freshman dorm room but with an added bathroom. Dresser broke as soon as we got there, safe didn't work, TV was small and old. Besides all the problems there was a clean bed a shower and air conditioning. We're in our room to sleep and get ready before going out so this room is perfect for the price. The bus stop is right around the corner and for $2 it will take you to south beach or anywhere you want to go. A taxi to south beach will run you about $10. The beach is real nice and right across the street form the hotel. All in all if you are on a budget such as a college student like me, this place is perfect. Nothing really bothered me in this hotel to tell anyone else otherwise. If you are a family definitely don't stay here though, you'll be miserable and nobody wants to hear your annoying review. And since I can only give one tip below I'll throw some down here as well. Cantina 27 is a short walk from the hotel, its an italian restaurant has homemade pastas made every day that are great and also try the malabrea Italian beer that you can't get anywhere else besides PA i believe. Don't go to the malls, they are way too far for a taxi and the bus will take two hours ( I wanted to kill myself). In downtown Miami there is an area right next to American Airlines areana called Bayside. here are a bunch of shops, places to eat, outdoor bars and it is really nice right on the water. Heat games are awesome as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jaels wife
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 13, 2012

You get what you pay for- not a 3 star>>more like 1

We wanted to get away for my birthday, and wanted ti do something cost efficent. This place is no frills at all. I think that the location is good if you dont want or need the riff raff of south beach. Its about a 20 minute walk to the middle of the action. The hotel is nothomng speacil, this is a great place for college kids who need a cheap place to stay, or for people that do not care about amneties, there are no amenties, The rooms need a upgrade. They do not have flat screens no we were not there to watch tv, but it would have boon good. The beds are comfy...the towels were very rough and they only gave you 1 set, so we had to call down daily to get more. The hotel does offer a 25.00 deal for 2 beach chairs, towels and drinks(non alcholic) for the day. That is the best part of the hotel, it is across from the beach. The only food that is offered is subway, and there are a few vending machine in the hotel. The staff was very nice and acomdating.'The 1 elavator did break down one night, and was back up by 7am I would recommend this place to people that are on a budget, and still want to enjoy miami/south beach. Other then that I would not saty here you willbe disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mini mart/cafe near the hotel they server great pastry as well as hot and cold sandwhichs and food...and it was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janeekinz
Business
Long Island, NY
Mar 10, 2012

Great for Young Couples

The hotel is just what you need when going on a vacation to Miami Beach where you plan on spending a lot of time out in the sun..and not in the room. The room itself was very basic - very clean, bed comfortable. I read lots of reviews for this hotel before going on our vacation.. now I see that people focus on the smallest things. Yes, the smell of Subway can be strong when walking past or in certain areas of the hotel, but it's for a few seconds. Subway is definitely convenient, right in the hotel. Prices are decent. Staff was great - that's a big deal to me. They gladly provide extra towels, coffee, etc. if you ask. Number one pro: you are VERY close to the beach! You can always rent bikes (amount depends on amount of time) that are located all throughout the area and ride down to South Beach- you have to first ride on the sidewalks along bike paths then you're able to go up onto the boardwalk just a few blocks up. This is a good hotel to stay when you want a quiet location but it's not far and it's very easy to get down to South Beach if you want a switch in scenery and excitement!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ride by Deco Bike - Cuban Restaurant: Bella Cuba @ 1659 Washington Ave. Miami Beach FL 33139 Reservations are required! EXCELLENT FOOD AND DRINKS. GREAT STAFF ADDS TO THE PLEASURABLE DINING EXPERIENCE. My boyfriend and I are still thinking about how amazing everything was: our sangria pitchers, appetizers, entrees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stmcmaz
Business
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Feb 20, 2012

cot, and a shower!

Stay somewhere else. No parking available, garage down the street $30 a day when space is available Mgr underskilled. Freezing cold inside, (too much AC), virtually no tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ickedicke
Business
Virginia
Jan 4, 2012

It is a nice hotel with really friendly staff.

I stayed there for 8 nigths and we had all we need. Everyday new towels, safe in the room, fridge, TV. The bed was a little bit small, but ok, we slept good in it. I would go there again. Pretty closed to the beach and to busstops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pcnova
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great location that exceeded expectations

Based on other reviews we expected a run down place and/or bad service. Not so: the place is tidy and looks on par with other hotels in the area. Front desk personnel were courteous and very helpful; they gave us directions, called a taxi for us, and kept our luggage after checking out while we wondered around waiting for our flight. Overall, this is a great value considering the location. It's not for somebody looking for luxury or for people who can't tolerate significant noise, since the building is older and close to the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Watch out for the 2-for-one drink "deals" on the restaurants along the beach. They are huge, super expensive drinks that you won't finish (especially if you're dining) and won't even get to the second drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kellyw
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 10, 2011

wonderful trip

it was lovely. They made me feel very welcome and taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
honnito
Business
Guadalajara, JAL, México
Nov 1, 2011

Great location

All the staff was very friendly and helpfull. The room had a reasonable size and was clean, the beds were to soft (old) the location was the best of all, it was in Miami Beach but very close to the exit so every address was 20 minutes far. Main problem no parking, there was a big parking lot one block away but the overnight rate was more than $20.00 U.S.Cy so the good price of the hotel was more than balanced with the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top