$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

3 stars
4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
137 reviews
Nice place

This hotel has a really convenient location! Good price also! See full review

  • Andres Cast
  • Oct 29, 2014
Bugs around drinking machine

Staff are nice, but the cleanliness of public area should be improved. Doesn't close to downtown,... See full review

  • Mandywwy
  • Oct 18, 2014
Miami Beach value hotel with on-site sandwich shop near beach and bars

Stay on a sunny corner of Miami Beach in an original 1936 Collins Avenue building. The Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel is a lemon-lime-colored six-story tower hotel for both business and holiday travelers. The aqua water and sparkling sands of the world famous Miami Beach are just a block away from the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel. The South Beach nightlife scene is just farther down the road. Grab a quick bite at the on-site sandwich shop or taste the flavors of South Florida at the many nearby restaurants.

Highlights
  • Near Miami Beach oceanfront
  • On-site dining
  • Short cab ride to South Beach
  • Non-smoking property
  • 24-hour front desk
Rooms

Simple rooms at the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel accommodate up to four people. Air conditioning, coffee makers and refrigerators are provided. Guests relax with cable TV, CD player and don't miss a beat thanks to the alarm clock radio. Updated bathrooms at the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel feature hairdryers and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Corner rooms at this Miami Beach hotel have original corner windows. Upper floors provide spectacular ocean views. Iron/ironing boards also are available.

Features

Rent a beach chair from the lobby and cross the street to the white sand beachfront or stroll the beach boardwalk to soak up some rays. The Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel restaurant features an outdoor patio shaded by palms and umbrellas so guests can grab a convenient sandwich before heading out for afternoon and evening fun in Miami Beach. Ask the Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel front desk staff about nightclub passes and tour information.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • Port of Miami (8.1 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Oceanfront (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (16.9 mi/27.3 km)
  • Miami Seaquarium (21 mi/13.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Lobby computer with Internet access
  • In-room desks

Hotel Map

25.8137 -80.1231
Area served
Located in the middle of Miami Beach, 17 blocks north of the world famous South Beach, directly across from the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby airports
Miami International Fort Lauderdale International
Area description
South Beach 2 miles, Metro Zoo 20 miles, Port of Miami 5 miles, Art Deco District 2 miles, Miami Seaquarium 6 miles, Bass Museum of Art 2 Miles, Hialeah Race Track 11 miles, Vizcaya Museum & Gardens 7 miles, Cape Florida Lighthouse 11 miles, Parrot Jungle & Gardens 14 miles, and Fairchild Tropical Gardens 13 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel Rooms

Queen Bed (available with Water View)
Slightly larger than our standard room, premium queen guestrooms feature a queen sized bed with pillow top mattresses. Each room features European design furnishings, desk, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable TV, CD stereo, and phone. Some feature partial ocean view. This roomtype and higher also features a refrigerator and in room safe.
King Bed (available with Water View)
The largest guestroom, our premium king guestroom features a king sized bed with a pillow-top mattress. Each king room features a clean modern design, small refrigerator, CD stereo, in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, 32" flatscreen TVs with cable, in room safe, and phone with voicemail.
Double Bed (available with Water View)
Deluxe double guest room with city view features two double beds with pillow-top mattresses. Room features European design furnishings, desk w/2 line phone, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, CD stereo, free local calls, cable TV, and in room safe. No rollaways allowed. Rates based on double occupancy. Additional person fee of $25 per guest 12+ years of age.
Standard Room
Standard comfort room features one full size bed with pillow top mattress. Guestrooms features European design furnishings, desk, designer bathrooms, boutique bath amenities, complimentary in-room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable TV, CD stereo, and phone with voice-mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Subway
Sandwich Shop - onsite. Offers guests an affordable dining option. Also offers a continental breakfast for hotel guests at a cost of $3 daily per person.
Morton's Steakhouse
Famous steakhouse with amazing food and a great happy hour. One block from the hotel
Carraba's Italian Restaurant
Italian Restaurant just 2 blocks from the hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kellyw
Baltimore, MD
Dec 10, 2011

wonderful trip

it was lovely. They made me feel very welcome and taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
COSJR
Business
Miami
May 9, 2011

Ocean Spray Miami

This the worst hotel I have ever been too. The service sucked, the facilities are small, and less than ideal and not worth the money paid. I regret making this booking and would discourage anyone from ever staying here. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT STAY AT OCEAN SPRAY HOTEL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Wa
Apr 24, 2011

Not as described

Absolutley the worse hotel I have ever been in. Not at all as described in the Hotel overview. Lobby was dark and very small, looked like a seedy hotel portrayed in movies. We felt very out of place. Room was dark, only window was to adjacent building approx 6' away. Bathroom was spartian with small stand alone sink with no place to put anything. Soap and glasses were on top of toilet. Charged a 100.00 hold fee to make sure room was not damaged...??? Should give you a clue. Tried to argue againts deposit, was assured it would be reversed, still has not been 4 day later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
May 4, 2011

bad hotel

it was dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tanky j
Business
washington dc
May 16, 2010

poor

the toilet was backed op the entire time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Dec 27, 2010

Eat Fresh, Sleep Uncomfortably.

My wife and I were looking for a decent place to stay in Miami on the night before our Honeymoon Cruise. Unfortunately, we picked the Ocean Spray. I can make this simple and quick. The bed was obviously 25+ years old, and make this loud squeaking rubber against plastic sound when one sat upon it. Not only that but my feet hung off the edge of the bed by about 6 inches (I am 6'1"). The room was tiny, and felt as if had not been thoroughly cleaned in many stays. We actually put T-Shirts on the pillows as our own pillow cases because the ones they had were so dingy!!! We are frequent travelers of the East Coast and this is the first time we have ever felt so badly about a place. Best of all, the Subway sandwich shop. One would think this is awesome having a convenient place to eat at the bottom of the hotel, but let me just say, you will smell subway every waking moment of your stay at this hotel. That and the odor of subway will be in your room, and in your clothing before you depart. I was so thankful we had a beautiful room on the cruise ship after this night to better my feelings about Miami. Staff was difficult to communicate with because of her lack of English, but I'll give this a pass because of being in Miami and I should probably know more Spanish anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
Mar 22, 2010

No parking!!!!

Upon my arival there was no parking at all. Did not like that the hotel was old.Not nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fountainblue for dinner was nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ST. LOUIS, MO.
Nov 29, 2010

FANTASTIC VACATION END DOWNER!!!

MY FRIEND AND I WANTED TO SPEND A DAY BEFORE AND A DAY AFTER OUR CRUISE TO THE BAHAMAS IN MIAMI. THE DAY BEFORE WE STAYED AT CIRCA 39 (AN EXCELLENT HOTEL WITH EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE). UNFORTUNATELY CIRCA 39 (ALSO BOOKED THROUGH [...]) PRICE HAD JUMPED TREMENDOUSLY ON OUR DAY AFTER OUR CRUISE SO WE CHOSE OCEAN SPRAY MIAMI BEACH HOTEL. "HUGE MISTAKE!!!" WE RETURNED FROM OUR CRUISE EARLY MORNING AND HOPED TO GET AN EARLY CHECK-IN (NO PROBLEM AT CIRCA 39). NOT ONLY WERE WE NOT ALLOWED EARLY CHECK-IN AT OCEAN SPRAY (WHICH WE UNDERSTOOD AND ACCEPTED) BUT AFTER HANGING OUT ON THE BEACH FOR NEARLY FOUR HOURS, EXTREMELY TIRED AND READY TO GO TO OUR ROOM, WE WERE ASKED TO LEAVE A $100 DEPOSIT!!! IT WASN'T THE DEPOSIT THAT UPSET US, IT WAS THAT WE WERE NOT FORE-WARNED WHEN WE BOOKED ON LINE WITH [...]. AND AFTER A LENGTHY DISPUTE WITH A VERY INCONSIDERATE AND UNHELPFUL DESK CLERK WE CONTACTED ONE OF YOUR AGENTS WHO GOT HER TO AGREE TO ACCEPTING A DRIVER'S LICENCE.FINALLY, AFTER ALMOST 2 HOURS WE WERE FINALLY OFF TO OUR ROOM. ANOTHER MAJOR DISSAPOINTMENT!!! DIRTY CARPETING IN DARK AND SMELLY HALLWAYS. THE ROOM AND THE BATHROOM WAS FAIRLY CLEAN BUT THE MATRESS ON OUR BED WAS SO WORN THAT SPRINGS WERE VISABLE. A VERY DISSAPOINTED END TO A FANTASTIC VACATION. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

BEAUTIFUL BEACH RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET. ONLY BENEFIT OF STAYING IN HOTEL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Apr 22, 2009

Closet for a Room

I reserved a king size bed and room and was told room was guaranteed till midnight. We arrived at 11:30pm due to flight delays and were given a closet-sized room with no closet, and two supposedly double beds that felt like cots. We asked to be given what we paid for and were told they were booked and this was the only room available. HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!! NO MATTER WHAT THE PICTURE LOOKS LIKE ON THE INTERNET AND HOW REASONABLE THE PRICE, DO NOT BOOK! YOU WILL END UP PAYING MORE IN THE END....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mikey 989
Business
Atlanta Ga
Aug 16, 2011

Don't do it

Umm...where do I begin? The lobby smells like rotten subway lettuce(I'm assuming because subway is in the lobby). They made me charge a holding fee of $100 on my credit card(I guess it's standard in Miami, but it's nothing in this hotel I could broke worth that much). The tv was an old tube 19 in TV. The carpet was stained. The bathroom fixtures fell apart upon touch. The tub was disgusting with mildew stains. The pillow had some1 elses hair on it. No good sleep because construction work is right outside. Don't use the slow uncertified elevator unless you wanna wait forever. But hey you get what you pay for and your senior citizen beach, taxi ride is $10 to the young folks side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Spray Miami Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte, nc
Jul 9, 2009

Not bad for the price

not clean, smelly rooms, room service personnel makes too much noise and talking as early as 9am, you cant sleep after that. and no parking anywhere, you got to find a parking meter spot at night and walk to the hotel, and we you do find one you got to wake up at 8am to pay the meter or you'll get a ticket, and that was very annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top