$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
859 reviews
Great trip!

We were there for a Miami Dolphins football game, and to spend sometime at the beach. This hotel... See full review

  • Ana V.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Very Nice Place

Very high end hotel. Valet parking (for extra charge) We felt very out of place when we arrived,... See full review

  • dewfrain
  • Dec 1, 2014
When you imagine a tropical vacation in Florida, you picture crystal-clear water, warm sun and white, sandy beaches. Allow us to introduce you to the Newport Beachside Hotel & Resort. No matter how you define the perfect holiday, whether you want a relaxing getaway or you're ready for fun and adventure in the sun, you'll find everything you need here at the Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort. Guests return year after year to our exclusive beachfront resort to enjoy South Florida's splendor. We have provided the very best accommodations, hospitality and service to each and every guest for over three decades. Today, with our consistent commitment to quality and attention to detail, we continue to assure a most enjoyable and memorable holiday experience.

Our valet parking is $25 per day and self parking $20 per day.

The $18 per day Resort Fee is collected by the hotel upon check-out and will cover:
Daily newspapers in Cappucino's Cafe
24 Hour access to Fitness Center
Wireless internet access in our guestrooms and public areas
Mini refrigerators in all guestrooms
Special discounts on water sports
Full resort activities program for children and adults
Free local and 800 calls
Lounge chairs and towels for pool and beach In room safe
Special discount on beach tiki huts
Complimentary incoming faxes
Live entertainment throughout the hotel

This is a NON-SMOKING property. There is a $50 one time non-refundable fee charged to your room for bringing a pet (must be 25 lbs or less). This fee is payable directly to property and is not included in pre-paid booking.

Please be advised that the fishing pier is closed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (859)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
859 out of 859
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YankeeImmigrant
Business
New York, NY
Aug 19, 2013

Great location, needs updates and a better crowd

The hotel location is great, and it is affordable. The spa and restaurant are nice. Beach service is a great treat. The hotel needs updating, however - the elevators take forever, hallway rugs are old and dirty, and the pool area is very old. When I visited, in mid-August, the hotel was terribly overcrowded, and some of the guests were very loud and rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LLAVN Family
Business
California
Aug 21, 2013

Family Vacation

Person at front desk not too friendly. I was suppose to check in Friday but missed my flight and didnt check in until Saturday, When i showed up they didnt have my room ready until 5 hours later. I booked this 6 month early and they gave my room away and were going to send me to another hotel asked to give me free valet parking I asked to speak to a manager who never came out but front desk person agreed to give it to me. When I checked out they still charged me and said I had to call and speak to a manager and he couldnt do anthing about it. Other then that hotel was nice and beach was gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
liccian
Business
Virginia Beach
Aug 25, 2013

Didn't get what was in confirmation

Per confirmation email: 1.Checkin was at 1500 (3pm), I was not allowed to checkin until 4 2.ocean view room- employee (blonde lady with foreign accent) LIED to me and said we booked a poolview room (2nd floor). 3. $75 resort fees for entire stay- they charged 18 a night for 5 nights) 4.The free internet worked 20% of the time 5. Only had washcloths for 3 days out of 6 days there. 6. Valet guys stand around chatting with each other instead of asking people for their tickets to go retrieve their cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bayside in South Miami Beach is beautiful and awesome to shop at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Harleyluja
Business
Braintree, MA
Nov 22, 2013

Just the average place

just completed my trip. The entrance hall looks ok, service personal is friendly. the room was nice and good, but the mattress way too soft, the outside amenities look aged. Overall ok but nothing special to return to either. My wife got stuck with the elevator - used the emergency button but nobody answered the call for more than 10 min. a guy also on the elevator then plied the door open and they all left. also, that they charge $18 resort fee on top of the regular price is just a hidden price inflation. lots of shade at the pool in the afternoon. Hence the rating. Pick something else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rice Asian House - Sushi and more. Its really really good. Went there 3 times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom with 3 children
Business
San Diego California
Dec 19, 2013

Be careful of hidden fees

All the time we found hidden fees, staff was not friendly we had a very rude response at the pool, the restaurant and the lobby. Spa was excelent and the staff at the tiki bar were also friendly. The location is good for Miami. I would not return to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janie252
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2014

Full of inconveniences!

This hotel has a good price for the location, but it comes with list of negatives: 1. There are 3 tiny elevators that are always overfilled and you need to wait for some time to get on and then stop on every floor. 2. Some rooms are ok, others are disgusting, with rusty bathrooms with horrible drainage in sink and shower, scratched and broken outdated furniture, musty smell especially in the closet, stains on the carpets, and dust on the night stands. After getting one of these rooms, we asked for a room switch which we got right away and it was definitely a great improvement. However, still don't understand how they can even offer rooms like that to people. 3. Valet parking costs $20 and takes a long time to pick up the car. We waited for 30 minutes on the first day and decided to use the lot for $15 across the street. 4. There is an $18 daily resort fee plus $2 tax on that resort fee which you are not told about when you book or at check in. They sneak in the charge and it seems like many guests were surprised at this fees at checkout. Be sure to review your bill for other incorrect charges. We were charged for extra days of valet parking, 8 days of resort fees when we only stayed for 7. These wrong charges were removed but you need to point them out to them. Positives: 1. Price. All other hotels in this area will charge much more. 2. Location. You are right on the beach and there are many stores, restaurants, car rentals, etc walking distance. 3. Offer 1 and 2 bedroom accommodations for a good price which is convenient. So if you just want to spend some time at the beach and don't want to spend much, you can do it here just know what frustrations you can expect. After our experience, we will visit another hotel next time even if we need to pay a bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CRISpilinda
Business
BUENOS AIRES ARGENTINA
Jan 26, 2014

A JOURNEY BY SUBWAY

. there were only 2 elevators for lots of people .the gym treadmill should be repaired , the breakfast was not included . But my son had to afford breakfast at a cafe since there was no juice , fruit ,cold meat . Michele the manageress ill treated me , the cuban manager told they were going to work on that .He was nice t

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

SOUTH POINT RESTAURANTS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lmprjb
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 1, 2014

Friends Wedding

Traveled to Miami and stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding. The staff was rude, asked for a complete set of towels 3 days in a row before we finally got some. Went to sit on couch in the room and almost ended up on the floor because there was no support under the cushions. The windows and mirrors were cracked, there was mold in the shower and the room had dirty spots everywhere. The elevator wait time was HORRIBLE!!!! Outdated hotel!! The only good thing about this hotel was the pool, beach and outside bar!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DDRRCC
Business
Chicago
May 29, 2014

Lots of people

they let people buy a day pass for $10, what makes the pool and beach impossible. Breakfast is terrible, no fruit, ham, cheese or juice! Location is okay, but far from south beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For what you pay is okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 6, 2010

Only Stay here if they give you renvated

Our check in was a disaster.We asked for 2 rooms -adjoining preference.We had upfront mentioned we were checking in late coz of late flight but when we checked in..rooms were given away and we were given dumps..had to fite with staff but all they did was give uds complimentary parking and breakfast...We slept at 3 that nite after reaching hotel at 11-30 pm...restaurant staff was courteous and helpful tho...swimming pool was really small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top