$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1045 out of 1045
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ebe
Business
staten island, NY
Nov 15, 2010

Hotel on the Beach

Beach was beautiful. Room was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Apr 12, 2010

Good time at Newport Beachside Resort

We thought this hotel was a pretty good deal for the price. Located close to shops and restaurants, has a private beach, nice pools. We had the 1 bedroom suite, which was really small for 4 people but worked out ok. Room was kept very clean. Staff seemed willing to help. We didn't eat in the restaurants but room had refrigerator and microwave, which was nice to have with kids along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Oleta River State Park is close by and our kids loved it. Only $6 to enter and you can rent kayaks, swim, walk on trails, etc.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs.May
Business
Baltimore,MD
Aug 17, 2009

Great Front Desk Assosciates

We were on our honeymoon and went to pull back the sheets and there were cigarette holes in the blanket and stains. We reported it to front desk and waited a hour with no response so I took pics and went downstairs to front desk to show them they apologized and upgraded us to executive suite which was great. The front desk people were wonderful they even sent us champagne

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel is way too expensive walk across the street and eat.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico, city
Aug 18, 2009

Great shopping

Everything was ok, exepct they didn't have safe boxes, or at least there were none available for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It is not so far from SawGrass

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The frequent business traveler
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Good for the money for beach access

It all boils down to the old saying, you get what you pay for. We based our decision to stay at this hotel on the daily rate which was the lowest of all hotels at time of stay(mid July 2010). Beware the resort fee and parking fee which brought our $77/night room up to $100/night. The rooms were very small, just large enough to fit a king size bed and a murphy bed (full) side by side with only about 3' to each side of each bed. At least the room had a small fridge and microwave. There was a vent in the bathroom that was noisy and goes 24/7 and can not be shut off. With the bathroom door shut, it was not too bothersome, but was definitely noticeable when you are in the bathroom. The air conditioner was pretty loud. The room was split in two by a partition, one side was where the king bed was and the other side was where the murphy bed was. With the parition closed, the king bed side got hot. There was one TV on each side of the partition. We found ourselves competing with the kids on who could turn up the volume the most on the TVs as they were literally side by side. The remotes were useless. One had low batteries and the other would only flip the channels up, not down. We got fresh towels through out the day but had to make due with one shampoo, one conditioner, and one soap throughout the week. When asked for more, it was supposed to be sent up to the room and never showed up. Luckily we took some of our own left over from a stay at the Bellagio in Vegas (Yes, we scavenge the left over shampoos!). Pool was large enough for the crowd but had two metal clips on the bottom that I bumped my feet into a few times. Not sure what they were there for, but would help to know they are there so you don't hurt yourself. We did show up at the hotel at 2PM and room was not ready. We were asked to go have lunch and then go back. So again, given the beach access, the room was not terrible, but was not excellent. They just don't pay attention to the details. But for the money, I may stay there again for a last minute booking, given the daily rate. definetely not a 4 star as indicated. It is more in between a 2 or 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS across the street was very convenient. However, if planning on site seeing at Florida Keys or Everglades, this is way too far from all the site seeing attractions.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 28, 2009

Newport Beachside Resort

to many hidden charges

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The young couple wanting to have fun
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 4, 2011

Decent Place, Poor Customer Support

This was a nice place if your not trying to stay at the hotel too much. They have some fun activities for kids and nice pool beach area but the pier they show in the pictures does not actually belong to them and is being torn down. They gave us a room without a window and would not do anything to help us out. Did not care too much for a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

They have city transportation that only costs $2 that will go anywhere. Downtown Miami, Miami Beach or anywhere along the way.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati OH
Dec 11, 2010

Worth the amount paid

Hotel was a "resort". Nice heated pool and beach with lounge chairs was nice. Rooms were VERY old. We had a free upgrade because our room wasn't ready and it was huge. 2 king beds, murphy bed, sofa, microwave, and refrig. All bath and body works was nice touch. The area was nice to be away from the party scene of Miami beach. Kitchen 305 food wasn't that good. Staff nice. Parking 12 bucks a day across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Okan
Business
Guttenberg, NJ
Oct 31, 2010

Nice stay

Probably the best thing about this hotel is the beach access, nice staff, great vibe late night at Kitchen 305, now rooms are a bit dated needs some modern touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the hotel, across 167 plenty of places to eat cuban food, steak house, mexican, italian, etc don't spend money eating at the hotel's restaurant.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Miami, Fl
Oct 28, 2010

Good deal

The staff was very friendly except for the maid service- not very friendly. The restaurants semi-expensive. The partial ocean view room had a great view to pool and the ocean. The room was very nice and roomy. The hotel was a bit rundown. The location far from Miami Beach, South Beach, etc but we were not looking for excitement. I would recommend this hotel for friends that are not terribly choosy. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top