$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
869 reviews
Nice family place

Great place to take children to experience the beautiful beaches of Miami. They had activities for... See full review

  • Nessa beach queen
  • Jan 23, 2015
Family trip

The location is great. Very relaxing atmosphere. I recommend this hotel for families or couples.... See full review

  • Malea H.
  • Jan 16, 2015
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. Newport Beachside Resort was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The resort captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms
Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.
Features
The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (869)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
869 out of 869
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Mar 17, 2012

Lousy Weather This Year!

Not impressed that the Pier Drilling is STILL GOING ON almost 2 years Later! We only had 2 good days of weather out of 6 and they drilled part of those days? Went during March Break so ok i understand the late party THANG but when i call at 2:30 because they are still carrying on i want something DONE! Instead i get attitude from the front desk then the Secruity Guard Bangs on My Door and says he can't see or hear anything when i hear them in the background when he's talking, i give up. We've stayed here for the past 4 years straight. Won't be coming back ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay up till 4 am then sleep till the afternoon. They you too can yell and scream all night and Hey, you don't care cus yur sleeping in till noon to do it all over again. PARTYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nikolaaaa
Business
Illinois, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Newport

This time around was like my last time I visited newport beachside resort. Staff was not too helpful untill I spoke to the supervisor and management of the front desk. I had to call the front desk numerous amount of times to have my toilet fixed it kept on breaking and my front door access to my room kept on breaking. This led me to visit the front desk more than I anticipated on seeing them. The room was descent, the view was pretty awesome, just another average stay at newport and they really need to fix or repair the issues that I have mentioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lennyqwerty
Business
md
Jul 3, 2012

Needs a major update

Based on the reviews and wasn't what I expected. The lobby is really nice but the rooms and major update! talk about the Internet it sucks you couldn't get anything singal in the room. I will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is super close such as CVS pharmacy restaurants clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ltlyankee
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 6, 2012

I will never stay here again

The hotel itself is very nice even though there was some construction going on. Right on the beach. Coconuts, the outdoor tiki bar was supposed to be open until 11, but closed randomly even when people were sitting there at 9-9:45. Bartenders were awesome though. Aveda spa was AMAZING!! Had my daughter's wallet stolen from the room, hotel mngr addressed as best he could but housekeeping took their revenge for the entire week...no towels, didn't clean our room, didn't empty trash cans, etc. Maid staff was nasty to all guests anytime/anywhere in facility. Bed (king size) was HORRID. Felt like sleeping on concrete with the flattest pillows you can find. Overall, outside of the room not a bad place. But a vacation with no sleep and constant battles is not what I would call getting value for my dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Kitchen 305 has all you can eat lobster for $35.99/person. These are real Maine lobsters and it really is all you can eat! (Guy next to me ate 12) AMAZING deal!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kelli.H
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Sep 10, 2012

Eh, it was 'ok'

We stayed here for 3 days, 2 nights. We had 2 seperate rooms. The one room was out dated, but it was clean. The other room had some renovations done to it. Such as a flat screen t.v. and updated furnishings/decorations. However the a.c in the 2nd room was not working properly. The hotel lobby was nice, the pool was nice but really crowed (with people that were not guests), and the beach was nice also. The only complaint is that you had to pay resort fees, and the umbrellas for the beach were not included in that fee it was an additional $15. So what exactly do the extra resort fees cover?? Valet parking is offered at $20 per day or you can self park (in the same lot the valet is parking your vehicle for $15). The valet was terrible!!!!! They lost our keys the first night and it took them 45 minutes to find them, and every other time we either picked up or dropped off it took them forever also. They seemed very unorganized, and no one knew who was actually incharge. Overall, the stay was ok, but I am not sure if I would stay for more then a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amy23
Business
South Park, PA
Sep 23, 2012

Remodeling....huh.

Very noisey from all the remodeling on our floor. We were the only room on the wing that was occupied. They tried to keep the dirt and debris to a minimum but the smell was horrible. The staff was very nice and quick to respond with any issues. Tiki hut was very nice. Everything was very expensive. Definitely worth the extra amount to have valet service. Beach and pool was very nice but it should be all inclusive price. They nickel and dime you to death. Two of us paid $35.00 for buffet breakfast, which we were under the impression the complimentary breakfast was included. Also upset a coffee pot was not provided in the room. I Again an extra expense every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DT and Connie
Business
Maryland
Jan 20, 2013

Just OK

Just pulling your vehicle into the property is a hassle. Very small valet area. Room was not ready had to wait an hour to check in. Extra charges galore, charged you $20 a day to park AT THE HOTEL YOU ARE STAYING AT!! Small but nice pool area and tiki bar. Small but nice beach area with cabanas, but $35 a day to use of course. Had a one bedroom suite, really just one average size room with a door to close off bedroom from sitting room. Very small bathroom with whirlpool tub but only one jet functioned. Would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Deezer car museum, AWESOME

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Skiking
Business
Michigan
Feb 19, 2013

below average for what the price was

Room was very dirty. Carpet had dirt and depress on it from the other quests. Some of the staff was excellent and some were rather put off if they had to do anything for their job. One pool/towl guy was extremely lazy. The room we had needs to be updated desperately. Walls are paper thin and lots of teenagers there creating lots of noise during the night. I will go elsewhere next time. These folks want to charge you for everything. Restaurant was over priced for the quality of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jelly bean green machine
Business
columbus
Apr 10, 2013

great beach and pool, rooms are ok, but rundown.

The lobby pool and beach is awesome. The lines for the front desk were always long and slow and most staff we just civil and not customer service oriented. Not that one would expect that for an inexpensive beach front location. No coffee pots in the room but they do have frig and microwave. Rooms were not very clean and the bathroom needed some TLC. But with some clorox wipes I was ok with it. It seems that they make their money on extra fees, $10 for lost room key cards or towels missing from the rooms. Our room was not ready at 3p which was check in time. We were there at 1p and they assured us it would be ready by 3p. At 330p they said give us another hour. But of course the cleaning service was harassing us before our checkout time was nearing! All room service, the bar and restaurant have an automatic 18% gratuity added. It just seems they had a lot of policies in place to make sure they got their money, which was fine as they were optional and controllable. Great beach hotel if you are on a budget! In don't think its realistic to expect to expect much more for what you are paying. I would really just want the bathroom to be cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marisol super Mom
Business
Baytown TX
Jul 9, 2013

Not a what I expected

The room was very small the hotel was nothing like the pictures they charge you for the parking. Pool was very nasty and dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top