$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
851 reviews
great viwes

I had a great ocean view for the money. I wiuld come back. See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 17, 2014
great place

We had great vacation in that place, We have been there first time, but for sure We'll come back See full review

  • Maryam VM
  • Sep 16, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (851)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
851 out of 851
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom with 3 children
Business
San Diego California
Dec 19, 2013

Be careful of hidden fees

All the time we found hidden fees, staff was not friendly we had a very rude response at the pool, the restaurant and the lobby. Spa was excelent and the staff at the tiki bar were also friendly. The location is good for Miami. I would not return to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DDRRCC
Business
Chicago
May 29, 2014

Lots of people

they let people buy a day pass for $10, what makes the pool and beach impossible. Breakfast is terrible, no fruit, ham, cheese or juice! Location is okay, but far from south beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For what you pay is okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bean269
Business
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2010

You get what you pay for.

So, we booked this hotel last minute, after plans fell through to stay at a friend's condo nearby. We needed this area as we were attending a wedding nearby, and we really wanted to be on the beach. This hotel fufilled those two requirements, and since my fiance recently was laid off, we needed something CHEAP. That requiremnet was filled as well ($79/ night). All that said, it would certainly be worth paying a little more to NOT stay here. It was loud and crowded- at the pool, at the beach, in the lobby. Sometimes chaotic. On the weekends there is this pool DJ doing contests with girls modeling bikinis that reminded me of some bad Spring Break except instead of coeds, there were adults with their children around. The rooms have not been updated since the early 80s. Our sink didn't turn off and was essentially running the entire 2 days we were there. The sheets (although clean) felt like sandpaper. There was some sort of construction going on in which there was a lot of banging in the elevator shaft on our floor(although they did politely do it during the day) and all the fire exit signs, sprinklers, etc. were somehow ripped out of the walls exposing bare wires and sheet rock. We swam in the ocean as much as possible, and there is a darling little Tiki bar off a pier on the ocean nextdoor which was our saving grace. Fried seafood and Coronas for these very weary travelers. If you stay here, consider it very utilitarian. Not a "beach resort" or a pleasant place to spend your day. Take a dip in the ocean, go to bed, and have your fun outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Subway, CVS, yogurt shop, and gas station across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caladin
Business
NYC, USA
Dec 8, 2010

Everyone said cann't help call

The best part of this hotel was the Mgr. and most staff. The view is great and the poolside had something for everyone, it was just like the pic in their website from the outside.From the inside the walls are paper thin and the noise passes almost everything; outside in the hallways as well as the room next to you. The cleaning was below average for me[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canal Fulton
Oct 27, 2008

My review of Newport Beachside Resort

When you walk in the hotel is amazing. The lobby, pool, restaurant, and beach areas are just gorgeous, but the room was a different story. The room looked as if it had been a crime scene. I can't be sure if it was smoke or mold covering the ceiling and the walls, and I don't even want to guess what was on the hairdryer in the bathroom. If you are planning on staying in the lobby, beach or pool area this is beautiful, I just would not reccommend to sleep there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a variety of restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hampton, VA
Aug 2, 2010

really nice location

I was in the beach while my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

to test differents kinds of food was enjoyables

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Oct 24, 2010

Ok hotel

Had a mediocre experience with the hotel . Most rooms are old and we ended up getting one of those. When we complained, they gave us a better room the next day that was better Their restorent recommendation were not that great They were certainly cheaper considering the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Peruvian

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soccer mommy
Business
Chicao, Il
Apr 13, 2010

Where is Mr. Clean when you need him?

Housekeeping was the WORST! The room was half cleaned and the towels in the bathroom where never restocked. Sometimes they wouldn't get to our room till after 4. Our thermostat didn't work and sparked when touched.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stock the fridge with food from the grocery store for lunch and snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 6, 2010

Only Stay here if they give you renvated

Our check in was a disaster.We asked for 2 rooms -adjoining preference.We had upfront mentioned we were checking in late coz of late flight but when we checked in..rooms were given away and we were given dumps..had to fite with staff but all they did was give uds complimentary parking and breakfast...We slept at 3 that nite after reaching hotel at 11-30 pm...restaurant staff was courteous and helpful tho...swimming pool was really small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Aug 19, 2009

NOT TOO BAD

The deal was good, but when we got to the Hotel it was not clean and it was very difficult to contact a Orbitz representative, to help us. it was like 0300 in the morning and it was frustrating, because orbitz was not helpfull at all, the people from the hotel were the ones that help us the next day. However the hotel is in remodelation and if you do not mind the noise that is good the beach however is beautiful but the hallways are not clean and all the rooms have a funny smell. But if you want to go to the beach and limit your time in the room that is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location if you like to walk there are a lot restaurants around the area and very close of south miami beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top