$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
859 reviews
Great trip!

We were there for a Miami Dolphins football game, and to spend sometime at the beach. This hotel... See full review

  • Ana V.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Very Nice Place

Very high end hotel. Valet parking (for extra charge) We felt very out of place when we arrived,... See full review

  • dewfrain
  • Dec 1, 2014
When you imagine a tropical vacation in Florida, you picture crystal-clear water, warm sun and white, sandy beaches. Allow us to introduce you to the Newport Beachside Hotel & Resort. No matter how you define the perfect holiday, whether you want a relaxing getaway or you're ready for fun and adventure in the sun, you'll find everything you need here at the Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort. Guests return year after year to our exclusive beachfront resort to enjoy South Florida's splendor. We have provided the very best accommodations, hospitality and service to each and every guest for over three decades. Today, with our consistent commitment to quality and attention to detail, we continue to assure a most enjoyable and memorable holiday experience.

Our valet parking is $25 per day and self parking $20 per day.

The $18 per day Resort Fee is collected by the hotel upon check-out and will cover:
Daily newspapers in Cappucino's Cafe
24 Hour access to Fitness Center
Wireless internet access in our guestrooms and public areas
Mini refrigerators in all guestrooms
Special discounts on water sports
Full resort activities program for children and adults
Free local and 800 calls
Lounge chairs and towels for pool and beach In room safe
Special discount on beach tiki huts
Complimentary incoming faxes
Live entertainment throughout the hotel

This is a NON-SMOKING property. There is a $50 one time non-refundable fee charged to your room for bringing a pet (must be 25 lbs or less). This fee is payable directly to property and is not included in pre-paid booking.

Please be advised that the fishing pier is closed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (859)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 859
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SouthLoopNL
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 6, 2014

Great, solid hotel for the price.

I love the location in Sunny Isles Beach and the staff were quite friendly and helpful. Clean, comfortable room. I understand that some of the rooms are being renovated. I had a renovated room; I'm not sure what the others are like. The area on the beach is gorgeous with the palm trees and wooden lounge chairs. Access to Pier Park was a very nice perk. My main criticism would be the balconies. They look like they could use a good renovation and I really wish they were private. Overall, I will definitely be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara On the Go
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 13, 2014

Average

The wait at the front desk is too long. They actually have a designated line area like at an amusement park! It's just a matter of it you get a good rate...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alpharetta
Business
georgia
Jan 19, 2014

Alpharetta

I absolutely enjoyed my stay, weather was chilly but the atmosphere was warm and friendly. Was not impressed with the kitchen service, on lobster night had to wait over an hour for the rack of lamb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blown off customer
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 1, 2014

Great location, ridiculous resort fee

Generally nice hotel, but overrun by teens without parents. $18 resort fee gets you little. No coffee in room, soda machines on EVERY floor are out of order -- many have signs saying can buy soda in bar. If you like fishing, nice fishing pier on property (free with room key)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric0531
Business
Iowa City
Dec 30, 2013

Short Getaway

Generally a nice place. The valet parking and attendants was very convenient, and quick and pleasant service. Has a good small store for quick food and drink needs. The suite was nice but the shower was on the old side and its faucet didn't output an even spread. The check-in experience was a bit irritating when I had card problems and I think the staff did not provide a high end interaction but then this is a 3 star hotel. Anyways, nice place and would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan7
Business
CA
Dec 28, 2013

Nice Stay

Room was comfortable, staff was responsive, albeit guest volume and the age of the decor showed somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann from Indy
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 27, 2013

nice for simple leisure

overall was good. my room was a little out dated, and my frig was hard to get to, but pretty comfortable. fitness facility needs new equipment. you only have the sun at the pool in the morning, other tall buildings block it. I would recommend to someone if they want something simple, but i will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are two strip malls across from the hotel that made it nice for shopping and dining out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YankeeImmigrant
Business
New York, NY
Aug 19, 2013

Great location, needs updates and a better crowd

The hotel location is great, and it is affordable. The spa and restaurant are nice. Beach service is a great treat. The hotel needs updating, however - the elevators take forever, hallway rugs are old and dirty, and the pool area is very old. When I visited, in mid-August, the hotel was terribly overcrowded, and some of the guests were very loud and rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole la Bretonne
Business
Stockton, CA
Jun 2, 2013

Great location

Friendly staff. Perfect location. Easy access to the beach. Situated on a busy avenue, without noise disturbance. Room was spacious and clean. If I go back to Miami, I would consider using this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

All sorts of boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bart k
Business
Den Haag, Netherlands
Oct 26, 2012

clean and good located, but just average

I spent 5 nights in this hotel (1x3 + 1x2); Good points: - the staff is very friendly (first time I even got a free upgrade to ocean view) - the rooms are generally clean (just within my expectations' range) - the beds are comfortable and bedding seems to be brand new; - the beach and pool area are very nicely arranged; the plastic deck chairs are for free (you can also try to use the unoccupied wooden beach lounges but wil be kindly asked to leave as soon as somebody reserves these) - the food choice on site is sufficient; there is a supermarket in the neighborhood and a food mart just across the street - the location is OK; there is also a bus stop at the hotel (both directions) so you could even reach the Miami downtown without having to use the car - executive suite I upgraded to during my 2nd stay was just awesome! But there are also things to consider: - the hotel is being renovated now; many rooms are just "clean but old"; It's not glamorous, but it's also not really disturbing (you will spent the whole day on the beach either, won't you?); - on some floors you will have to deal with renovation works. Hint: just ask the staff and they will check other rooms for you (worked for me both times) - there are some building works on the pier next to the hotel (but not really disturbing); - the self parking is across the street; it's only a problem on check-in/check-out or if you have a lot of luggage you want to transport to/from the car; but the parking staff is friendly - just tell them you have a reservation. - the price does not include Resort fee ($15 per day) and room tax ($1,95 per day); Resort fee (or the combination: room price + resort fee) is in my opinion too high given the current works in the hotel. But fair considering the free amenities. - the price of the valet parking on-site ($20) is ridiculous. The self parking ($15) is also a bit expensive (comparable hotels in the neighborhood have free or less expensive parkings). All in all I can really recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a huge Aventura Mall approx. 5 miles from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top