$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,032 reviews
Such a Fun Girls weekend!

The hotel and location was great! When we checked in they noticed we had one king bed and a pull... See full review

  • Kate S
  • May 19, 2015
wasn't the best

They service was horrible we came from NYC and staff wasn't friendly...we had to twice to get our... See full review

  • Tisha C.
  • May 17, 2015
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. Newport Beachside Resort was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The resort captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms
Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.
Features
The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 1032
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate S
Business
Shrewsbury
May 19, 2015

Such a Fun Girls weekend!

The hotel and location was great! When we checked in they noticed we had one king bed and a pull out and upgraded us to two kings so we would be more comfortable. Everyone was super helpful. We would stay there again:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tacara M.
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Vacation

I was offered a tour of the hotel during my stay, during the tour the salesman of the tour became very rude said that he was done and to see myself out the door. Very disrespectful all over checking the time on my phone. I had spoke to his manager and he didn't care. Then I was accused of smoking in my room and the hotel charged my card for extra fees. I spoke with the manager to get it situated considering I don't smoke. Well come to find out that manager didn't care either. He claims housekeeping came in the room to inspect but nothing was never cleaned no sheets, no towels. I asked what housekeeper came in the room and he had no idea said to speak with housekeeper on my floor. Let's just say I spoke to the housekeeper on my floor and considering I had a do not disturb sign on my door no one came in my room. The management at this hotel sucks and they don't put their customers first. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a nice resort but not customer friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nil the traveler
Business
LITTLETON
Mar 18, 2015

Enjoyed stay at Newport Beachside Resort

I went to Miami with my friends. Stayed at Beachside Resort for our stay. It is having a really good view of the ocean, and having lots of amenities. Rooms are clean, and service is good. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derrick C.
Business
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

Overall experience

Although this hotel is a bit outdated the location of the property and its rate makes this one of the best bang for the buck hotel in Miami. The hotel is located within a couple steps from the beach. The staff is very friendly. My only gripe would be that the rooms are outdated. However this con did not bother me much as i was away from my room 90 of the time. If your looking for a place to just crash for the night and get rested for a whole day of partying then this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shar and Ter
Business
buffalo Grove
Feb 9, 2015

Wonderful long weekend getaway

The location of the hotel on the beach near the pier was perfect!!! Wish the elevators were updated.. Very slow:-( also, more cleaning help... Cleaned out room very late in the day View from room was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Really enjoyed walking the trail about a mile from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Richard rj
Business
Chicago, il
Oct 29, 2014

great family spot

Great family spot 20 min away from south beach. Great value for your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Girangaroo
Business
Long Island New York
Jul 24, 2014

It's was good for the price

Well to start off if you don't request a renovated room they don't give you one. Also parking isn't free 20 for a lot or 25 for valet. Then there was the taxes they charged me in the end 20 bucks a night. Which didn't I already pay for the room? Okay.. Good. The pool is awesome the beach is awesome that was fantastic. Most of the staff were helpful. The rooms had a fridge microwave and sink really useful. Overall food bang for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Jet ski!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BKE I
Business
NYC
Jun 28, 2014

Great value

Been going here for the years and it is the best value for the price. Make sure you request an upgraded room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BBQ Rib shack!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tleinon
Business
wisconsin
Apr 15, 2014

Fun spring getaway

Newport was a great getaway for myself my college friend and my aunt. We had a great time right on the ocean, within walking distance of many key shopping/dining locations (grocery store, liquor store, restaurants, etc). The staff was mostly very friendly and helpful! It is also the only resort with free access to the pier shown in the photos. I would definitely recommend this resort to others. Yes there was an amenity charge each day ($18-20) but the easy beach access, pool, and bar are conveniently located. There is also a spa/salon, fitness center, game room, etc that we didn't utilize. Worth every penny! Did not travel with children but would be a great/safe place to bring children as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All necessities were extremely close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew and Friends
Business
ann arbor, Michigan
Mar 25, 2014

Spring Break

Nice hotel considering the cost. The location makes it easily accessible and convenient. It's a bit of a drive down to South Beach or Downtown Miami, but not terrible if you plan on getting a rental car. If you plan on taking a cab around, you will want to be further south. Rooms are pretty nice and all seem to have at least a partial ocean view. A remodel of the rooms should probably be done soon, but they aren't terrible and the newly remodeled lobby makes it feel classy. Based on the cost I would highly recommend it. There is a daily resort fee and a parking fee, but it seems to be the case with every hotel in Miami Beach, so just something to keep in mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

About a 25 minute cab ride down to South Beach, $40-45 with a tip. Not terrible considering parking is around $40 down there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top