$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
886 reviews
Satisfied

Overall satisfied, everything at the hotel was great the staff just took forever to help with... See full review

  • Ivaaaa
  • Jul 30, 2014
Family fun time

We had a great time..only too short...the check in and check out lines are way too long...they need... See full review

  • Lulu b..super grandma
  • Jul 13, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (886)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
886 out of 886
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rhodalee29
Miami Beach Florida
Jan 22, 2014

Extremely POOR customer service

the location was exactly what we hoped for; you go out the back door of the lobby into the pool deck area with side by side kid and full size pools, there is a bar that also serves food to the right of the pools, and a few steps down you are on the beach, there were plenty of lounge chairs on the pool deck and the beach, it was perfect! BUT...we didn't have a perfect experience because of the following: 1) check in-we arrived at the hotel an hour early, the room wasn't ready-in fact it was an hour after check in time before it was ready; 2) customer service-the worst we have ever experienced; they ignored and at times were rude to customers at the front desk, calls to the front desk weren't answered before it rang at least 15 times, and when they finally did answer they interrupted you mid sentence and said "please hold" and put you on hold for several minutes. 3) house keeping-there were no towels or bed linens or pillows for the pull out bed (there were 4 of us staying in the room) 4) comfort-the springs in the pull out couch mattress jabbed through making a very restless first night; house keeping brought a roll away bed, but only after spending an hour and half with them and the front desk to convince them to bring it and not charge an additional $15 a night 5) room condition-the room was in need of a total overhaul; the rug was excessively stained, windows were cloudy (not dirty), the bathroom floor was damaged, and much of the trim and woodwork also gross or damaged in many areas, the hot water barely got above room temperature and it ran out/or got weak pressure, the shower faucet leaked 6) food-the breakfast buffet was powdery scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, french toast, hash brown potatoes and danish, it was all cold and it really tasted bad, the only beverage they offered for our 9 year old was coffee, water, or the cereal milk-NO JUICE?! 7) elevators-slow and over crowded 8) customer service-worth stating once more that the customer service was POOR, another example is while waiting for our room to be ready to check in, we had to wait in line several times to get updated, and once when we got up to the desk I started to ask if our room was ready yet, the man ignored me and started talking to a woman behind me that was taking pictures for a travel company, after a few minutes talking with her he just turned around and walked away as if we weren't standing there...another person behind the desk saw this and attempted to apologize, but his rudeness struck her as funny and she couldn't stop giggling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greaves
Business
Miami
Jan 30, 2014

Newport

Little to no hot water! Air conditioner sounded like a pressure washer right outside the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First and last time
Washington, D.C.
Mar 16, 2014

Run away from this place

Staff are rude. The lady called herself the supervisor of the front desk was very mean and couldn't care less for her customers. Since she thinks she's already have her "supervisor chair" secure she can be might as well be rude and mean. She argued with me for 20 mins about hotel reserve fees. She said to me "you gotta read carefully before you book something you can't pay for." Wow? Next time I'd rather sleep on the street than book here and get insulted by whatsoever "front desk supervisor."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
20 something in town for a wedding
Chicago, IL
Sep 19, 2009

I would not recommend this hotel

I stayed here while on vacation for a friend's wedding. At the time the hotel and airfare were discounted so instead of staying at the Doubletree hotel I stayed here. That was a mistake, the rooms were dirty and outdated. The entire 5 days I stayed there, the maid tried to clean the room twice. I ended up cleaning the entire trip. The front desk staff also gave my friends a gorgeous suite because they were out of the standard rooms. I ended up in the standard room after they gave me the wrong room. Which I felt was unfair. I also think the $10 fee each day for the towel service each day is ridiculous. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Nov 17, 2009

DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES STAY HERE

Called three days prior to my arrival and they could not find my reservation, because they had my name spelled wrong. No big deal, it was taken care of and I was assured I would have no problem with my late arrival (around 10 - 11PM). Went to check in at 10:30 and the lobby and bar area was hopping. So I was exited and thought some of the several bad reviews were wrong about this place. After a long flight, my family was looking to get into our room and get some shut-eye. Well, that optimism quickly soured when upon check in we were informed that they were under renevation and have no rooms available. All I could think of was the Seinfeld epsiode when Jerry told the clerk at the car rental place who did not have a car for him say that "taking the reservation is easy, anyone could take a reservation, It's holding the reservation, that's the key." We were told we would have to move to a Holiday Inn seven miles away. We were not the only family this happened to and the couple behind us could not beleive it either. Can you say overbooked, eventhough they claim it's due to renovations. I don't manage a hotel for a living but renvoated rooms should not be considered available when making a reservation. Refer to Hotel Managment 101. The clerk said no manager was available to talk to and we would have to call him the next day. He said we have no choice but to head to the Holiday Inn if we wanted a room to stay. He handed us a letter to give to them. After reviewing it, it was only for two nights and our trip was for three. I was told I would have to come back to their hotel the last night. Unbelievable! Oh, and for our incovenience, he said the manager authorized for free parking and hand wrote it on the letter in front of me. Wow! Needless to say we never went back for the last night and forced the Holiday Inn to please keep us the last night. My family and I travel quite a bit and never had a situation like this before. I would never recommend anyone to make a reservation at Newport Beachside Resort. I was enticed into the low room rate especially for a beachside hotel and it came to bite me in the butt. We met some individuals who did happen to stay their over the weekend and had a terrible time with noise and the cleanliness of the rooms. Eventhough it was a mojor inconvenience, I am glad we did not stay at the Newport Beachside Resort and strongly recommend everyone to stay somewhere else and don't be fooled by the low room rate. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Santora
San Jose, CA
Jan 10, 2010

It was awful..

First of all, it was like the worst hotel i've ever stayed. The customer service was bad. Their attitude was unbelievable as a hotel. I can write more but i guess i just wanna say, this hotel doesn't worth it as the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cold in florida
swanton, vermont,
Jan 15, 2010

the good, the bad,and the really ugly

It was a very, very cold week and the hotel had no heat, my cousin ended up getting sick, I was very suprised there was no heat in the hotel and the staff said there was no reinbursement if I wanted to go to another hotel.I think I should be compensated in some way because my vacation was ruined. also I paid for an entertainment package which I did not receive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CoupleGetwaway
San Diego, CA
May 20, 2010

Not the best option... keep looking

The location was great with access to the beach in Sunny Isles, just north of South Beach. Other than that, it was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. There were renovations going on in several floors, drywall debris were all over the hallway carpets and holes in the walls, restrooms have calcium build up and mold on walls and ceilings, bed sheets were rough and old, trash left outside rooms, vending machines were empty and staff did not care, under staffed, no one would pick up the phone at front desk when calling from your room, they stole my passport from my room, and the maids forgot to leave towels two days after cleaning service. I would have preferred to pay a little more for a reputable chain hotel. The name of this hotel does not live up to it. oh!, yeah and parking was acrooss the street next to a gas station for $12/night - horrible! Trust me on this, do not book this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is a lot of night life in this area and especially on Friday nights!

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape Coral, FL
Nov 20, 2010

Bad News at Newport Beachside Resort

No rooms were available due to renovations. They shipped us down to the Marenas Resort. How could they not have rooms for us, when we had reservations since July? [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jillybean
Bellevue,Ohio
Mar 9, 2011

Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in

This was the worst Hotel experience I ever had. When we first got there it took 40 minutes to checkin, then when we finally got the key to get in the room, it did not work. We had to go down to get it reactivated four times before we tracked sown a maintanance guy to reset the lock. The room was junk. Nothing like it said on the internet. The elavators were multi colored and paint was all chipped up. The toilet dripped all night long and the floor in outr room was soaking wet on the side of the bed. Do not have a clue where that was coming from. We ask for a room change but they claimed they were booked so we couldn't. The next day we called and ask if it was possible to get are money back and move to a different hotel, but they said that may not be possible. When we called the front desk a few hours later they told us we had to be out by 11:00 because they had re rented the room!! We would have never known if we wouldn't have called down!! WORST HOTEL EVER. Would not recomend to ANYONE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search