$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
859 reviews
Great trip!

We were there for a Miami Dolphins football game, and to spend sometime at the beach. This hotel... See full review

  • Ana V.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Very Nice Place

Very high end hotel. Valet parking (for extra charge) We felt very out of place when we arrived,... See full review

  • dewfrain
  • Dec 1, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. Newport Beachside Resort was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The resort captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms
Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.
Features
The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (859)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
859 out of 859
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
20 something in town for a wedding
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 19, 2009

I would not recommend this hotel

I stayed here while on vacation for a friend's wedding. At the time the hotel and airfare were discounted so instead of staying at the Doubletree hotel I stayed here. That was a mistake, the rooms were dirty and outdated. The entire 5 days I stayed there, the maid tried to clean the room twice. I ended up cleaning the entire trip. The front desk staff also gave my friends a gorgeous suite because they were out of the standard rooms. I ended up in the standard room after they gave me the wrong room. Which I felt was unfair. I also think the $10 fee each day for the towel service each day is ridiculous. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Nov 17, 2009

DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES STAY HERE

Called three days prior to my arrival and they could not find my reservation, because they had my name spelled wrong. No big deal, it was taken care of and I was assured I would have no problem with my late arrival (around 10 - 11PM). Went to check in at 10:30 and the lobby and bar area was hopping. So I was exited and thought some of the several bad reviews were wrong about this place. After a long flight, my family was looking to get into our room and get some shut-eye. Well, that optimism quickly soured when upon check in we were informed that they were under renevation and have no rooms available. All I could think of was the Seinfeld epsiode when Jerry told the clerk at the car rental place who did not have a car for him say that "taking the reservation is easy, anyone could take a reservation, It's holding the reservation, that's the key." We were told we would have to move to a Holiday Inn seven miles away. We were not the only family this happened to and the couple behind us could not beleive it either. Can you say overbooked, eventhough they claim it's due to renovations. I don't manage a hotel for a living but renvoated rooms should not be considered available when making a reservation. Refer to Hotel Managment 101. The clerk said no manager was available to talk to and we would have to call him the next day. He said we have no choice but to head to the Holiday Inn if we wanted a room to stay. He handed us a letter to give to them. After reviewing it, it was only for two nights and our trip was for three. I was told I would have to come back to their hotel the last night. Unbelievable! Oh, and for our incovenience, he said the manager authorized for free parking and hand wrote it on the letter in front of me. Wow! Needless to say we never went back for the last night and forced the Holiday Inn to please keep us the last night. My family and I travel quite a bit and never had a situation like this before. I would never recommend anyone to make a reservation at Newport Beachside Resort. I was enticed into the low room rate especially for a beachside hotel and it came to bite me in the butt. We met some individuals who did happen to stay their over the weekend and had a terrible time with noise and the cleanliness of the rooms. Eventhough it was a mojor inconvenience, I am glad we did not stay at the Newport Beachside Resort and strongly recommend everyone to stay somewhere else and don't be fooled by the low room rate. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Santora
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 10, 2010

It was awful..

First of all, it was like the worst hotel i've ever stayed. The customer service was bad. Their attitude was unbelievable as a hotel. I can write more but i guess i just wanna say, this hotel doesn't worth it as the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cold in florida
Business
swanton, vermont,
Jan 15, 2010

the good, the bad,and the really ugly

It was a very, very cold week and the hotel had no heat, my cousin ended up getting sick, I was very suprised there was no heat in the hotel and the staff said there was no reinbursement if I wanted to go to another hotel.I think I should be compensated in some way because my vacation was ruined. also I paid for an entertainment package which I did not receive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CoupleGetwaway
Business
San Diego, CA
May 20, 2010

Not the best option... keep looking

The location was great with access to the beach in Sunny Isles, just north of South Beach. Other than that, it was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. There were renovations going on in several floors, drywall debris were all over the hallway carpets and holes in the walls, restrooms have calcium build up and mold on walls and ceilings, bed sheets were rough and old, trash left outside rooms, vending machines were empty and staff did not care, under staffed, no one would pick up the phone at front desk when calling from your room, they stole my passport from my room, and the maids forgot to leave towels two days after cleaning service. I would have preferred to pay a little more for a reputable chain hotel. The name of this hotel does not live up to it. oh!, yeah and parking was acrooss the street next to a gas station for $12/night - horrible! Trust me on this, do not book this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is a lot of night life in this area and especially on Friday nights!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Coral, FL
Nov 20, 2010

Bad News at Newport Beachside Resort

No rooms were available due to renovations. They shipped us down to the Marenas Resort. How could they not have rooms for us, when we had reservations since July? [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jillybean
Business
Bellevue,Ohio
Mar 9, 2011

Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in

This was the worst Hotel experience I ever had. When we first got there it took 40 minutes to checkin, then when we finally got the key to get in the room, it did not work. We had to go down to get it reactivated four times before we tracked sown a maintanance guy to reset the lock. The room was junk. Nothing like it said on the internet. The elavators were multi colored and paint was all chipped up. The toilet dripped all night long and the floor in outr room was soaking wet on the side of the bed. Do not have a clue where that was coming from. We ask for a room change but they claimed they were booked so we couldn't. The next day we called and ask if it was possible to get are money back and move to a different hotel, but they said that may not be possible. When we called the front desk a few hours later they told us we had to be out by 11:00 because they had re rented the room!! We would have never known if we wouldn't have called down!! WORST HOTEL EVER. Would not recomend to ANYONE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jul 4, 2011

Horrible Hotel

Room that was booked double beds they did not have for us when we got there, then they said they have one and it was double beds, got our key when we got to our room there were no windows smelled like mold just horrible. We went to front desk to find out if there is any other room and we were told yes but you have to pay extra so we ended up paying extra 30$ a night to room that had leaking ac mold everywhere but at least we had window, no room service 1 room service for 6 days we were there, would not recommend this hotel to anyone they need to renovate and health inspector need to revisit them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Tunnel Hill, GA
Jul 26, 2011

Won't be back!

[...] sent them an email about our room, and couldn't have cared less! When we finally got to our room, which we'd upgraded [...] instead of waiting until we got to the hotel, we found out we had not gotten the upgrade we'd paid for. Called the front desk and she told us we did not pay them for any upgrade, we should have waited and paid them, [...] finally got that straightened out and got us in room we'd paid for. We were there from Monday-Saturday and someone came in twice to clean up. The floor we were on was extremely noisy, we had a hard time going to sleep every night! This was the 3rd trip to this hotel, but the other times were great. Maybe they are just too concerned with selling the condominiums than with their hotel guests or something, but, we will NOT be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tony Roma's was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fred Dance
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Not Good!!

The elevators didn't work! The service was horrible and the ad in deceiving. The bridge is broken down and cannot be used. The staff is rude and unhelpful. All and all I'd say stay away. Not a pleasant experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top