Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

3.5 /5
Overall score
76%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. Newport Beachside Resort was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The resort captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms
Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.
Features
The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1036)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1036 out of 1036
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom with teenagers
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 2, 2009

Good and Bad, but a great Beach

We traveled with friends and had 6 rooms total. We were not given an updated room. They all got suites and oceanview rooms. Bedspread was torn, couldn't even see out windows on north side of building. Lovely beach. Would stay there again but would pay for upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Found several nice places to dine with local flare

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ti-Guy Emond
Business
Mont St-Hilaire, Qc, Canada
Jan 8, 2010

Close to the Dolphin Stadium- 20 minutes

Noisy... specially during an Orange Bowl time...people were very noisy at 2:00AM (Iowa fans) Room aren't very clean, specially the old carpet. The restaurant staff isn't nice specially the Hispano's one. The location is good. The pool and the beach are perfect. The room are big enough. You can feel that they are doing some renovations, new TV, etc. For the price, I won't recommand that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you wish to see a beautiful and High Class Mall, you should go to AVENTURA MALL- BISCAYNE BOUL also Lincoln Ave is very interesting for a long walk with many boutiques and great atmosphere- Finally don't miss Ocean Drive for the Deco Architecture.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason Yousef
Business
Carlstadt, NJ, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great Location, Poor service!

We traveled in August, room service was so bad, missing towels, only 1 towel unless we call them, busy hotel, old carpets and furniture, check in and out was a hassle, there was $15 resort fees per day which wasn't mentioned!! food was expensive inside the hotel, beach area is small but ok, water was wonderful, bed was clean and comfy, pool was clean and warm, hotel lobby is so small but who needs that anyway in Miami!! good for the value as it's not over prices like other hotels..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is around you, McDonald for the kids, CVS, Japanese, dollar store, Marshall, walmart,applebees, chilis !!

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Dec 21, 2010

Not bad

The room was clean, the staff was mostly professional (good people to offset the not so good). It was nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room. Self parking across the street was reasonable, and it is close to the highway so it's easy to travel to other places. Heat and thicker walls would be nice (heard generators all night and people in the halls). We had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everglades park near Homestead $10 per carload gets you in all week - lots of wildlife!!!!!

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Feb 25, 2011

Great Beach, Decent Hotel

Hotel was once a 1960's Holiday Inn that's they are upgrading; so it's got a nice new lobby but most everything feels "older". Room was decent with refrigerator, microwave, iron, hair dryer, large flat tv, small two seat balcony with aluminum railing that I would not lean on. Large beach side pool with beach access right out of the hotel is the selling point. Dinner in restaurant was very good. The breakfast buffet was pricey. There are a number of stores within easy walking distance for supplies. They will try to sell you on interval ownership. Most places have computers where you can print out your flight, limo vouchers; theirs were down and they offered no solution to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your fruit, water and snacks, and Sunscreen at local CVS then hit the beach.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Mar 2, 2011

Simply, okay.

The hotel was an average hotel. However, our room did NOT have a window which was quite odd and not the ideal situation. The woman at the front desk was very kind but at first they didn't have a room for us to switch so we had to check in the next day. The room they wanted us to switch to was a complete downgrade! Room was not updated, old furniture, old tv etc. We stuck with the old room and figured we wouldn't be in there much anyway. The beach and pool was fantastic and there was always enough room and not very crowded. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. The returant downstairs was fine as well, it turns into a lounge after a certain period of time and they usually have small events. BUT if you want to see the night life and go out then I don't recommend this hotel since it is in northern Miami and about a 25 minute cab/drive or an hour bus ride to downtown Miami or South beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS is a couple blocks away where you can get basic groceries so that don't have to go out to eat every night.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Awesome couple!
Business
Ft.Wayne, IN
Oct 11, 2009

Front Staff iffy but overall pleasant

Air conditioning was non-existant in our 1st room when we arrived and forecast was in upper 90's-- * Front staff horrible about resolving the problem BUT surprisingly enough an engineer took great care of us and battled front desk for us to get us a NEW upgraded room and complimentary breakfast for our troubles!!! The private beach was an amazing getaway not a long walk.... in the hotel's backyard as a matter of fact.. * Resort fees were ridiculous though for the little value we noticed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel seemed to have a popular bar/resturant at it's lobby "The Kitchen" which always seemed busy! I would advise the economic shopper on a budget to purchase groceries at a local store and stock up your fridge.... Each room has a fridge & microwave!

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Jul 11, 2011

above average

renovated room a must here if not the room is outdated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nice places to eat on collins ave

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Keller, TX
Jul 13, 2011

Nice hotel, but be cautious

We walked in to a friendly staff and a beautiful lobby area and we very pleased. We were given our room and made our way up. Once we got into the room, it was nothing like the pictures online [...] or the hotel website. The layout was pretty much the same, but the room was disgusting and worse than any motel I have stayed in, much less any hotel! It was poorly painted with cracks in the walls, had a 25" TV (not flatscreen as in pictures)and the bed would have been more comfortable if they had laid plywood over the top of the mattress (not exaggerating). To their credit, I called and asked to be placed in a different room and the staff was very courteous and was promptly moved to a nicer room with the 42" flat screen and a balcony....much better. The only problem with the room was that the pull out sofa beds mattress was really poor and my daughter couldn't sleep on it and ended up just sleeping on the sofa without the bed being pulled out, so keep this in mind if you are traveling with children. The rest of the room was much better. I saw the room change scenario play out with others during our stay, so just be aware. Also, since they are updating rooms, the renovation hammers and saws will start promptly at 9am and end at 5pm. If you are stuck in your room due to weather as we were on our last day, you will have to contend with this as well. All in all, it should be very nice once the renovations are done, but until them, make sure of what you are getting. Overall, we were happy with our stay and the hotel is in a great location and the beach access was fantastic! Will we go back to this area, definitely! The beaches were great! Will we go back to this hotel.....maybe, but I will likely search other options first, and definitely not while the renovations are still taking place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of great places to eat that are within walking distance to the hotel on the North side of Miami....not so on South Beach, so don't waste your time looking. However, there is a small restaurant on Biscaynne Blvd toward downtown Miami called "Scorch"....it is fantastic! Fresh seafood and a nice selction in a great atmosphere.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MartyW
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Newport Beachside Resort Review:

The positives about this hotel are the pool, beach front access, a beautiful & clean beach, a bar @ the pool, the view from the beach front rooms is great, no problems asking staff questions & getting responses and assistance when needed. Problems with this hotel are the thin walls, where if sleeping or needing some quiet time in your room can be inpossible at times because you can hear those around you and other things going on out of your room which can be very disturbing. The Beds are not comfortable and do not seem like they are sized correctly; we asked for a king and it seemed like a queen. Also the rooms need some upgrading and seem a little outdated. there are not much to choose from when it come to food in this hotel and another restaurant would be nice. And lastley, the resort fee and amount for parking are ridiculous. If I have a resort fee there shuld be more ammenities to this hotel, which there are virtually no added benifits that would entail having a resort fee and the parking seemes a little high @ $12 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Just know that if you are looking for night life there is virtually none in this part of Miami/ Sunny Isles. You will have to go more towards south beach which is a short drive or taxi ride. We would have liked to know this before choosing this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top