$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1046 out of 1046
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarcieMar
Yonkers, NY
Aug 26, 2012

Family Getaway

Great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Perfect for a inexpensive family trip with the kids. The location is much more low key than South Beach; situated in a luxury residential area. The beach is very nice- clear blue water (lounge chairs are free, but the umbrellas and huts can be rented for $15 or so), pool is nice ; cute playground for the kids. The hotel is in proximity to stores like CVS, local restaurants and supermarkets should you want to venture off/buy groceries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the miami metrobus to the tourist attractions such as the Childrens musuem or Jungle Island or even downtown miami and pay only $2 to ride!

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isinha
Business
north carolina
Dec 25, 2009

Great private beach

The location is great and the private beach offers guests a quiet and cozy rest. I didn't enjoy paying the parking lot fee, as I had already paid for the resort fee. That adds a lot the room final price. Rooms are spacious but a bit outdated. Renovations were made in the bathroom only. Didn't find the carpet very clean, but I think it is just everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Publix (supermarket) going North on Collins Ave. That is a good place for buying things for breakfast. Breakfast at the hotel is $12 per person. For the same amount you can feed a party of four.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Dec 22, 2009

Wonderful place to stay!!!

I cant imagine staff being more helpful than the people at this resort. I was not familiar with the area at all but the staff was so willing and full of knowledge about things to do in the area. I asked the staff so many questions and I never felt like I was being brushed off. They were always willing to provide help and info.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brockton MA
Dec 22, 2009

Horrifying experience

Upon entering my room I immediately was met by the smell of cigarettes, a very dirty rug, exposed electric sockets and mold around the bathroom and each vent. I asked for a different room and was refused a change - they said I had already been upgraded! When I was forced to checkout 2 days early because of these problems, the deskclerk I originally spoke with denied I'd ever asked for a change. I felt compelled to report these conditions to county authorities [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay City, Michigan
Dec 22, 2009

Needs improvement in many areas

Upon checking in we had to wait at least 30 minutes because there was only one person behind the desk. We were not offered any comps for this time wasted. Our room was dirty and very outdated. The carpet was old and worn, the shower was disgusting with mold on the ceiling. The elevators smelled and were dirty. The Hotel Bar was closed on a Friday night for a private party. Everything was overpriced-food, drinks, etc. No on the property parking unless you used valet. Had to walk across busy road to get to our vehicle. Menu for room service was very poor-not much of a selection. $25.00 for two small pizzas?? Housekeeping sometimes did not show up until late afternoon. Nothing much positive to write.....this hotel needs some serious updating!!!! Would never stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Aventura Mall was beautiful and very close by.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ju
Business
Orlando, Florida
Dec 21, 2009

Unfriendly, no customer service, poor

The employee that check us in was totally unfriendly. I asked him if there were any other rooms and he said no. The bathroom floor was dirty with mold in the shower. This room should of been rented for maybe$35.00 a night. When I asked employees at the front desk a question there response was not customer friendly. I will never recommend anyone to this hotel and I work for a cruise company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

My recommendtion is don't stay at this hotel.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tpeezie
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 20, 2009

Paradise

Service was great. Food at the hotel was great as well. Concierge service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boysenberry
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Dec 18, 2009

Don't wasate your time

This was supposed to be a romatic getaway. The location was inconvienient to anything but one decent restaurant. The closet and bathroom had mold in them. The bed linens were dirty and the bed was as hard as a board. So we went outside to have some fun in the sun! The beach was very narrow at that area and had about 2-3 hours of sun due to the tall buildings around. The pool had absolutely NO sun all day. When we tried to get directions to a restaurant from the staff - the guy refused to write down the directions! The final insult was the elevators were out of service for a day and had to use the service elevator and they were doing construction in the fitness center (closed) and on each floor - BEGINNING AT 7:45 AM! Don't waste you money or time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

GO to South Beach and see some real nice beach areas, nice outdoor restaurants and all the "pretty people".

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Dec 15, 2009

Hit and Miss

* the parking for disabled is across the street - doesn't that defeat the purpose?* the rooms don't get cleaned thoroughly; the tub still had hair.* maybe it was just our "luck", but 2 neighboring rooms were just partying until 3 in the morning.* some staff members tell you one thing and then something else - first parking was free for persons with disabilities; then they said it cost $10.* [...] listed the resort fee as $10 daily; when we arrived they said it was $12* the location is close to all major freeways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LonestarLantern
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 15, 2009

I would return again

The hotel is nonsmoking but one room in our suite reeked of old smoke. We had all the linens changed and this helped somewhat. The beach was wonderful, the breakfast buffet was a bit expensive for the food choices offered. There was always a line to get service at the front desk. The elevators were very shabby. The pool and kids' activity staff were really helpful and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Publix supermarket approx a 5 minute drive north on Collins Ave where you can stock up on food for your room. The Marshall's across the street has a really good selection of clothes and shoes.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 8, 2009

Weekend trip

Went with Husband for a weekend trip for a Miami Dolphins game. Location was ok, covenient to get to the Stadium as well as South Beach. Needed some updating, but for the price was good for a weekend getaway. Beach and pool were nice. Pretty clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top