$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,333 reviews
Family fun time

We had a great time..only too short...the check in and check out lines are way too long...they need... See full review

  • Lulu b..super grandma
  • Jul 13, 2014
great experience

Rooms were clean, pool was nice and ocean was better. Over all it was a nice experience See full review

  • the guy88
  • May 31, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1333)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1333 out of 1333
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Z
Maryland
Aug 15, 2012

Excellent

we loved it, we stay any day, love the spa, and the staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charles and Bexs
Mexico City
Apr 7, 2010

Bad security

The hotel is fine for a 3 star. The beach is great. Just a block away is a Marshall´s pretty handy for last minute shopping. The S route bus take u from the hotel to south beach in about 40 minutes. The security personal pretty bad, they should speak spanish in a city with 1.5 million latinos and the tourism is most from LATAM. My wife was harassed by a security staff. The personal at lobby should be more friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS pharmacy in front of the hotel.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois+
Apr 7, 2010

you get what you pay for

our room was not ready at 7:00pm, garbage in the halls, (right outside the elavator, pizza boxes empty cans of pop, not a good first impression) To make-up for the room we got breakfast vouchers, which was nice. This hotel needs some updating, but overall it was just ok. We were also charged $28.00 for drinks we didn't order!!! Still fighting that. Springbreak very crouded pool with tons of kids. This hotel is not for quiet time. I guess you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Come here if you have a big family and want to save a little money

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois+
Apr 7, 2010

you get what you pay for

our room was not ready at 7:00pm, garbage in the halls, (right outside the elavator, pizza boxes empty cans of pop, not a good first impression) To make-up for the room we got breakfast vouchers, which was nice. This hotel needs some updating, but overall it was just ok. We were also charged $28.00 for drinks we didn't order!!! Still fighting that. Springbreak very crouded pool with tons of kids. This hotel is not for quiet time. I guess you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Come here if you have a big family and want to save a little money

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 6, 2010

Fun & Sun on Miami Beach

The location was perfect, out back was a nice size pool with a hot tub and kiddie pool as well as the cocoanut hut where you could order food and drinks. From the pool, you had a view of the beach and got there by walking down the back steps of the pool patio right to the beautiful beach. On the beach there were cabanas that you could get for a price, or umbrellas if you wanted. If you didn't want to pay for anything, there were beach lounge chairs for free. On the beach, you could order drinks from the wait staff. It was great! The rooms could use some updating, but they were clean and the staff was very helpful. I used the valet for my car, and you could call for it to be in front for you, or if you walked outside, it would take no more than 5 minutes for them to bring it around. The valet, was $18/day. It was a great convenience though. The breakfast buffet was good, but the easter brunch we had was ok, and extremely expensive. I wouldn't do that again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were a few stores you could walk to, but if you have a car, many places to eat.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Apr 6, 2010

Perfect Getaway

Everything was perfect from the staff to the food. Will return as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marshalls

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 6, 2010

Fun & Sun on Miami Beach

The location was perfect, out back was a nice size pool with a hot tub and kiddie pool as well as the cocoanut hut where you could order food and drinks. From the pool, you had a view of the beach and got there by walking down the back steps of the pool patio right to the beautiful beach. On the beach there were cabanas that you could get for a price, or umbrellas if you wanted. If you didn't want to pay for anything, there were beach lounge chairs for free. On the beach, you could order drinks from the wait staff. It was great! The rooms could use some updating, but they were clean and the staff was very helpful. I used the valet for my car, and you could call for it to be in front for you, or if you walked outside, it would take no more than 5 minutes for them to bring it around. The valet, was $18/day. It was a great convenience though. The breakfast buffet was good, but the easter brunch we had was ok, and extremely expensive. I wouldn't do that again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were a few stores you could walk to, but if you have a car, many places to eat.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MR. Never Coming Back
Baltimore, MD
Apr 5, 2010

Bad Plumbing, Great Beach

This vacation was the first time we traveled with out infant. We also have a 6 year old. We were attracted to this resort because of its family friendly atmosphere. The location was great and beach was awesome. There was activites for children every hour. A CVS was nearby, this was important having the infant with us. But two nights in a row my toilet and sink were stopped up and overflowing. The sink started to overflow at midnight so we had to have a technician come in and drill while my xchildren was sleep. Needless to say this was a big problem. The hotel manager was not willing to do anything to make our time there more enjoyable. I will not return to this resort ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MR. Never Coming Back
Baltimore, MD
Apr 5, 2010

Bad Plumbing, Great Beach

This vacation was the first time we traveled with out infant. We also have a 6 year old. We were attracted to this resort because of its family friendly atmosphere. The location was great and beach was awesome. There was activites for children every hour. A CVS was nearby, this was important having the infant with us. But two nights in a row my toilet and sink were stopped up and overflowing. The sink started to overflow at midnight so we had to have a technician come in and drill while my xchildren was sleep. Needless to say this was a big problem. The hotel manager was not willing to do anything to make our time there more enjoyable. I will not return to this resort ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Gibson
West Bloomfield, MI
Apr 2, 2010

It'll do!!!

The design of the hotel was great, the lobby was beautiful & the staff was somewhat friendly. BUT the rooms weren't clean, the bathroom had mold, leaky bathrooms and the housekeeping was not very friendly! The balcony was old and so was the furniture that they had on it! I'm glad all i did was sleep in the room!! I do understand that they are renivating BUT, they should have a decreased nightly rate for the guests who have to stay in the older model rooms!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Kitchen 305 was awesome! The food was great and so was the atmosphere!

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 2, 2010

Perfect family getaway

This was our fourth time staying at the Newport Beachside Resort and surely will not be our last. We fell in love with this hotel from out first visit. The staff is wonerful, non-stop daily activities for the kids, beach doesn't get any better than this spot. Hotel location perfect, close to so many attractions within a 30 minute drice, terrifc pool, especially for kids, best part you can walk to just about anything thing you might need or desire, restaurants walking distance. South beach a 20 minute drive away. The rooms are all different but very spacious for families, include refridge, microwave and all necessities for light meals. With all the restaurants and food stores just across the road makes for a perfect family spot. You will love this place, we consider it our home away from home. Just returned and can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many wonderful excursions within a 30 minute drive, Everglades, Seaquarium, Miami Zoo, wonderfull shopping

Back to menu Return to top