$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
759 out of 759
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Seattle, WA
Apr 7, 2008

lovely, with caveats

We upgraded to a room with 2 king beds, a murphy bed and a mini kitchen (frig. and micro.). The room/s had 3 t.v.s and was very comfortable. The cleaning staff, valets and security were very friendly and helpful. The downfall of this hotel is the nickel and diming to death. If you want to use a computer it is $5.00 extra for each use, you must valet or self park with a cost of 15. per day extra for valet, and 10. per day extra for self park. Want to use a cabana or umbrella on the beach? 10.00 extra, PLUS a mandatory 10.00 per day mysterious hotel fee. Our in room safe did not work, nor did the ice machine nor pop machine on our floor, and the middle elevator was out of order. We had an entire day without pool use because of pump problems. I could have overlooked these problems had I not been nickled and dimed for everything other than breathing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

short walk down the beach to a WONDERFUL Cuban bakery. Groceries are also a short walk. Short drive, bus or cab to Aventura Mall, nice shopping. Public park nearby. If you're going on a cruise from Port Everglades, allow plenty of time as the roads are not marked clearly to the port.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Baltimore, MD
Mar 14, 2008

Spring break friendly

While this hotel is not located on south beach and a taxi to south beach (where the clubs are) was about $30 one way, it was still a great location. There were some stores and food places near by making it easy to pick up anything we forgot and to get food fairly cheaply. Unfortunately the TV cable quality was very fuzzy and did not get fixed while we were there. The bathrooms were clean and the room was decent overall. If you stay, ask not the be on the 4th floor. We had small windows that overlooked the roof of the lobby. If you will be traveling to downtown miami or south beach frequently, stay farther south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS, Subway, quiznos, tony romas. A lot of chains were near by.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington, DC
Feb 28, 2008

Great Family Hotel

While not the newest hotel the rooms are clean and spacious- most come with a Murphy Bed. It easily accomodated two adults and two 5 year olds. They have regular activities for both the kids and the adults. A little cheesy but enjoyable none the less. The location is great in terms of the beach itself a little far from South Beach. Pool was nice and heated. Especially nice on the 50 degree days in February. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York, NY
Feb 7, 2008

Peaceful and very relaxing

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I went to rest and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you shall need for the beach is a short walk from the hotel. CVS, Walgreens, and even a super market.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy MOG
Family
Hickory, NC
Jan 4, 2008

family friendly

These accommodations were very comfortable for our family of 4. Finding a suite that allows privacy in the evening but keeps everyone together in the day is sometimes challenging. Also enjoyed the delicious food and watching the kitchen activities at Michaels. Felt just like we were on the food channel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The drive to Dolphin Stadium was short and direct.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giang
Family
Portland, OR
Sep 16, 2007

Fun and Convenient Location

A little bit far from Downtown and South Beach, but great accessibility to fun spots with convenient stores available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Local markets close proximity.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Sep 3, 2007

Very family friendly

The Newport Resort was a very tropical & family oriented hotel. It's kept very nice & clean. The rooms are very comfortable & well divided. It has different options of things to do for all kinds of people. Water sports, beach lounging, just hanging out, having a drink at the bar, etc. I will definitely be back & I highly recommend it to anyone. It's fit for all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's plenty to do in and around the hotel. There's also lots of restaurants & shopping nearby.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Miami, FL
Sep 3, 2007

Be careful with property

We selected this hotel for its location and beach ammenities. When we arrive at the property we realized that the property was going thru a remodation which is causing inconveniences and also has closed its main restaurant. We had to wait to check-in because the room is not clean yet. When we finally check-in they gave us another room which was occupaid with guests. We had to recheck again for a new room. On our second day we called housekeeping to request 2 additional towels. I am still waiting for those towels to be delivered. I had to personally send my wife down to the basement of the hotel, where she didn't find anybody, but was still able to walk into the laudry room and obtain 2 clean towers. In all we were very disatisfied. The rooms were decent but nothing great, their housekeeping personnel was missing in action. On a positive side, we found the hotel ammenities acceptable, and the beach location and beach staff very friendly. We decided to look at the positive side so our vacation would not be ruin. My word of advise for other travelers, be careful and check everything, but don't expect much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They had a few restaurants within walking distance, but stay away for the restaurant located on the pier. The food is terrible and expensive.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Washington, DC
Aug 20, 2007

good location and friendly stuff

looking the hotel from out side for the first time makes you think you made a wrong chose, because it looks old, one you come in inside it's so cool, clean , and they way the rooms are divided with sliding door great if you lots of friends, for privcy great stay, we all enjoyed our stay at newport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach is right out side

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Aug 15, 2007

Great for couples to relax

We were very happy with this hotel. The beach area was beautiful and the hotel offered fun activities like wine tasting and Horse racing. Our room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street was a nice restaurant and bar with a pool table and delicious bread.

Back to menu Return to top