$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1044 out of 1044
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
May 27, 2009

Great stay in Miami Beach

Would definitely stay again as the Newport Beachside Resort offered everything we needed. The rooms were definitely older and the bed was very uncomfortable and the shower not so clean. But the staff were extremely friendly and catered to your every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping complex across the street can offer all your little travel needs for a lot less. You can even get breakfast at Einstein's bagels when the restaurant at the resort isn't doing it for you.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cajun Couple
Business
Louisiana
Jun 8, 2011

Relaxing couples getaway

The hotel was a good location if you want to be close enough to the buzz on South Beach without having to be in the heart of it all day. It's about 10 miles from Ocean Dr. which is either good or bad depending on what you are looking for. The rooms were decent. My first room was old and rundown, but the supervisor kindly upgraded my room with no hastle to an ocean front room (which was only slightly better)after I expressed dissatisfaction. "From what I hear" the newly renovated rooms are 10 times nicer than the older ones I was staying in, but none were available at the time. There are plenty of restuarants and shopping centers around the hotel. A big mall is only about 4 miles away. The beach front and the pool area is the best part. It's beautiful everywhere around and there are plenty of water activities to do. This hotel is catered more towards family, but it will definately work for couples as well. Overall good value for what you're getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, N.Y.
Nov 26, 2010

Thanksgiving Getaway

We went to Fla. simply to relax. The hotel was adequate. It is about a half hour from South Beach. This was a major inconvenience. In addition to the Resort fee, be prepared to pay either $12 or $18 dollars for parking,PER DAY. The beach was nice, but I found a needle and syringe on two different days. I notified police and I was told it was probably from waste discarded by boats. I will stay closer to South Beach next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All shopping is close by.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hopeless
Business
ky.
Nov 6, 2010

Newport Beachside Resort

they need a shuttle bus from airport to hotel. very expensive to eat there and around hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

very expensive

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
preciousNy
Business
NY, NY
Nov 3, 2009

Better than I expected!!!!!!!!!

I stayed here this past weekend I and was very concerned based on the previous reviews posted on [...]. I actually wanted to change my hotel but I'm glad I didn't. The front desk staff was very friendly, we were there early & our room was not ready but I was allowed to see the room to make sure it was to my liking, it was a bit outdated but nice. We left our bags @ concierge desk and I was told to come back in 1 hr, we were gone for more than 2hrs we were told the room was ready and when we got upstairs it wasn't. The house keeper was in there she was really nice we told her we were going to the beach and she assured that the room would be ready upon our return and it was. I would recommend booking a suite, our view was great we were able to see the pool area as well as the beach.As mentioned by previous visitors, there is a $15.00 a day valet parking fee as well as a $10.00 daily resort fee. This hotel seemed to be very kid friendly and I would definitely visit again.The only thing is I wish the resort was a little closer to south beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexico Bravo right across the street in shopping center is great. A few blocks north there is a Denny's, TGIF and few other resturants.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bklyn / Queens, NY
Aug 9, 2009

I'ts a nice resort for the price

The hotel was decent for the price. The thing I had a problem with was that the maintenance crew and the house keeping barely spoke english,so if u have an issue good luck.We did have an issue with our door not closing fully if it wasn't pulled manually and no matter how many times we called or spoke to house keeping in the hall or had maintenance come to fix it the problem was never resolved. Needless to say 9 out of 10 times when we returned to the room our door was not locked. Aside from that the location is great. You have everything u need right on the strip. You have Dennys, CVS, Waldgreens,a place called Wings where u can get basically anything u can possibly need for the beach or pool at a really great price. There's all your fast food restaurants and then some. The resort itself was extremely kid friendly. Always something going on for the kids to do. The beach is beautiful although if u want any kind of shade whatsoever you have to pay for it. All in all we had a really nice time and we would definately go back if the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Every type of everyday store that you would normally shop at if you were home is available within walking distance. It just saves alot of money to shop at these stores rather than buy everything you might need at the hotel shops. You can find all kinds of food places as well.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelPet
Business
Laguna Beach
Feb 11, 2010

Not too shabby

The location is ok. A little removed but on the beach. The hotel has a sort of cheesy vibe. The best part is the private beach. Very nice. They allow pets which was why we picked this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amtrak Guy
Business
Ft. Worth Texas
Dec 14, 2010

Nice hotel/great views

I had read alot of different reviews about this place, so I really wasn't expecting alot. We stayed in room 922 partial ocean view.The room was okay it had a a couch/ pullout bed, refrigerator,microwave, safe, coffee-maker, and ice machine down the hall. We had a great view of the Atlantic all the way out to the end of the horizon. Beautiful sunrise each morning. Great view of the beach, the pools and the property. When we arrived on 12/06/2010 it was not Miami weather I was expecting, in fact the first three days we were there they broke 100year low temp records.!!! brrrrr The hotel staff were very friendly, and helpful. There was always something going on in the lobby. They do charge $18. a night for valet parking, and $12.a night for self parking. I was aware of that so no surprise there, however they also charge $13.26 for resort fee and room tax. so be sure to add this into your final cost when budgeting for your vacation. We didn't use the beach or the pool because it was so cold. overall I would stay again. I think.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Dennys not far north of the hotel and a Cuban cafe not far south of the hotel, both have reasonable prices $8-12 per person. There are a few places within walking distance but I thought they were pretty pricey. Around $25-30 per person, but I am a cheapskate anyway.Do not order out from Pomodoros(they slide a menu under your hotel door) the pizza was like dry cardboard, and the salads might have been ok if they would have delivered forks and salad dressing with them, but they didn't.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ebe
Business
staten island, NY
Nov 15, 2010

Hotel on the Beach

Beach was beautiful. Room was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Apr 12, 2010

Good time at Newport Beachside Resort

We thought this hotel was a pretty good deal for the price. Located close to shops and restaurants, has a private beach, nice pools. We had the 1 bedroom suite, which was really small for 4 people but worked out ok. Room was kept very clean. Staff seemed willing to help. We didn't eat in the restaurants but room had refrigerator and microwave, which was nice to have with kids along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Oleta River State Park is close by and our kids loved it. Only $6 to enter and you can rent kayaks, swim, walk on trails, etc.

Back to menu Return to top