$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
857 reviews
Very Nice Place

Very high end hotel. Valet parking (for extra charge) We felt very out of place when we arrived,... See full review

  • dewfrain
  • Dec 1, 2014
great viwes

I had a great ocean view for the money. I wiuld come back. See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 17, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. Newport Beachside Resort was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The resort captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms
Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.
Features
The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (857)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
857 out of 857
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nikolaaaa
Business
Illinois, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Resort Stay

Hotel location was descent being right on the ocean. But the housekeeping staff was very bad. I had to call how many times just to have towels brought up to my room and then when they didnt I went straight down to the front desk to complain. The front desk manager was sorry and ensured that towels would be brought up but very slow and staff was not friendly at all. I would not stay here again. Not happy with this resort, room was also tight and noisy hallways to where we were being woken up in the middle of the night. Construction was going on also while were there during our stay and that was very uncomfortable and annoying NOISY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brazillian cafe, the best crepes....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johndeereb
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Expect the unexpected.

Resort location is good, easy to find and get to. We arrived and are room was ready. Accomodations in the room were average, could have been cleaner. We observed water stains on the walls near the ceiling and chipped, peeling paint on the balcony. Cheap plastic (dollar store) style seats and table on the balcony. The beach/pool area was clean and very nice. You can expect to be charged for every little thing. In the pictures of the hotel there are little "grass huts" on the beach. If you sit in one to get out of the sun, it cost extra. The food at the 305 restaurant is very expensive as well as the food and drink at the little "deli type" eatery/store at the hotel. Even the simplest of things like coffee in the morning are not covered in the room rate. Adult beverages at the poolside bar, forget it. They cost at a minimum of 2 times the going rate of any normal bar. Try $11.00 for a Pina Colada in a 8 ounce glass. A person expects to pay more for food and drink at a resort but they dont expect to be "gorged" in the name of conveinence and location. We still have not figured out what the "Resort Fee" (added to the room rate at check out) was supposed to be for. If the "Resort Fee" was for something other than walking through the lobby to the elevator, I dont know what it was. If you are a FAMILY looking for a REASONABLY priced destination, look else where. If you are a "couple" looking for a nice destination, We would recommend this resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Depending on the type of meals you are looking for, you will have to drive to avoid the over pricing at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cly612
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Dont know where to start...

We got checked into a room that was already occupied by other guests. Had to take all our luggage back down to the lobby and get re checked in to a new room. Luckily our second room didn't already have guests in it. The beds were not comfortable and the roomsafe didn't work. The nicest part was the friendly valet staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cold
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 6, 2012

No Hot Water

The hotel was nice except for the fact that the hottest the shower water reached was around 70F even though the sink water was slightly warmer. We informed the staff the first day about the problem and nothing was done. On day two we complained again and the sent someone up and they said "Yes, that is as hot as it is getting." On the final day of our stay the water might have reached 80F which was fantastic but still not an enjoyable shower. The only word of advice is that some of the pictures are misleading on their website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smilng Jack
Business
Orange County, California
Jan 22, 2012

management did not meet its promises to upgrade room due to dirty walls, curtains and empty writi

Courteous staff but bellmen gave bad advice on nearby restaurant. Room 1035 had very dirty walls, room 309 poorly lighted. Linen blanket had large ragged holes. Managers evaded us after promising to move us to cleaner, renovated room. ALL ROOMS should be renovated, or prices dropped 50% for un-renovated rooms. Kitchen 305 inserted automatic 18% tip for the two of us --- we protested that bill should give patron the option as to tip based on service level received......to no avail ---"take it or leave it" , Restaurant band was very good on Thursday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
arusha
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 23, 2012

When did your staff stop liking customers?

the staff was aloff, unfriendly and unresponsive. when we approached the front desk, thre staff was speaking amongst themselves, after waiting a reasonable ammount of time , i asked for help. they looked at me , and then promptly looked away and continued their conversation. You missed giving my associates staying in another room an important wake up call. it took between 20 min. to a half hour to get my car. you lost my car two days out of three. your staff at the front desk was asleep at 5:45 am when we came down. the rooms are getting worn out. there are stains on the carpet. the desk chair was unstable. the bathtub is old anfd the porcelin is chipping. all in all you are not giving your customers fair value or service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bost
Business
mass
Jan 24, 2012

the rooms are very old carefull with this one

the hotel is going under mager renovation,they give u old rooms wich are like old motel condision,u have to pau resort fee,20$ for umbrella,and 20 per day for valet parking !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eduardo D.
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Terrible Valet parking.

Over the years, I have had recommended many of my clients to stay at this establishment. However, my visit on February 04, 2012 was unfortunately a horrible exception. I am certain that once you are aware of what transpired, you will be as appalled as I am. Here's what happened: On Saturday’s arrival the parking lot across the street was full and we were instructed to valet parking at the hotel, it took about 30 minutes to get park due to an special event, the front desk agent at the check in stated that she will waived the parking fee; two hours later took about one hour to retrieve my car, even when we called 15 minutes before to the front desk making the request. On Sunday when my car was brought to me it was not in the same condition that I left it the night before, it looked like someone was throwing liquor all over my windows. I was trying to complaint at the check-out but the system was down and many people was complaining, since I am in the hospitality industry I decide to wait and then communicate the issues that I had experienced in order for the hotel manager addressed accordingly. I just received tree e-mails with the final receipt that shows a charge for valet parking that supposed to be free of charge not only for the inconvenience but because what the agent said to me at the check in. (Delivery what you promises to a guest) As you can imagine, the experience fell far short of my expectations. I also frequently recommend your accommodations to other travelers. I am not certain at this time if I will ever feel comfortable returning to this establishment. To be honest, it depends on your response to my concerns. Thank you very much for your prompt response. Sincerely,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Many shopping center are in short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Mar 17, 2012

Lousy Weather This Year!

Not impressed that the Pier Drilling is STILL GOING ON almost 2 years Later! We only had 2 good days of weather out of 6 and they drilled part of those days? Went during March Break so ok i understand the late party THANG but when i call at 2:30 because they are still carrying on i want something DONE! Instead i get attitude from the front desk then the Secruity Guard Bangs on My Door and says he can't see or hear anything when i hear them in the background when he's talking, i give up. We've stayed here for the past 4 years straight. Won't be coming back ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay up till 4 am then sleep till the afternoon. They you too can yell and scream all night and Hey, you don't care cus yur sleeping in till noon to do it all over again. PARTYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nikolaaaa
Business
Illinois, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Newport

This time around was like my last time I visited newport beachside resort. Staff was not too helpful untill I spoke to the supervisor and management of the front desk. I had to call the front desk numerous amount of times to have my toilet fixed it kept on breaking and my front door access to my room kept on breaking. This led me to visit the front desk more than I anticipated on seeing them. The room was descent, the view was pretty awesome, just another average stay at newport and they really need to fix or repair the issues that I have mentioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top