$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
756 out of 756
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Puddin'
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

They Suck

The hotel informed me at check in time that they would be charging me $15 per day (4 days) for services that I may or may not use and of course I never used them but was still charged. They then gave me a fraudulent $130 bill at check out time for some outrageous fees which I absolutely refused to pay. Apparently they think their guests are idiots and will pay for anything they throw your way. I will never refer anyone to that hotel for any reason. They were horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Completely Unsatisfied
Business
Omaha, NE, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Sunny Isles YES, Newport Beach Resort NO

Find another resort on this same beach. A few of the staff here were great but the majority were self absorbed and not interested in the guests experience at all. They make more of an effort to sell their "Vacation Club" than they do trying to make sure you enjoy your stay. Most of the staff (clearly identifiable with their name tags) would simply look down or away rather than say good morning. Our room was cleaned only once during our 5 day stay. On a daily basis only the bed was made. The elevator stopped at the 10th floor EVERY time we got on no matter if the button was pressed. The elevators in general will scare you into using the stairs. The online photos of the room show a nice newer looking room. We were given an ok looking much older room. Tried to call the front desk, housekeeping, and guest services multiple times during our stay and NEVER once got an answer after 25 rings. The view was great and the beach was second to none but the overall experience was seriously lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

L'Attico You should head to this restaurant for sure. Great food and right on Collins Ave. Five star dining and great prices.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
little honeybee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Loud and Disappointing

My experience was unpleasant to say the least. There were people screaming in the hallways until late hours of the night. The elevators barely worked and they kept getting stuck. I had to call downstairs for a corkscrew FIVE times before room service CAME BACK (upon my request) after my food was already delivered. There were no room service menus and someone had to bring them up after I called. The internet went in and out. The highlight of my stay was how good the food was but besides that, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NameTaken
Business
Naples, Florida
Nov 20, 2011

Don't stay here

I found the sink in the bathroom was chipped and scratched, sink counter was not thoroughly cleaned, room was VERY small and it took about 3-1/2 hours to get 2 additional pillows. I would NOT RECOMMEND staying in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Traffic is terrible. Stay in another location.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trishnphilly
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Horrible Experience

I bought a groupon for this hotel and was really looking forward to a weekend away! (I have a very stressful job and was ready for some relaxation!). Instead, I got a horrible weekend full of stress and frustration. First, I booked an oceanfront suite, but when I arrived was told that there were none available (how is that possible if I made a reservation?!?). They told me they could give me a room with double beds for the night and then move me to an oceanfront suite the next day. I was not happy, but it was late and I needed a place to sleep (the valet guys told me that I was lucky to even get a room, they often send people to other hotels when they overbook!). When we got to our new room, I was horrified, there wasn't even a window!! It was basically a closet in the corner, on the side of the building where their sales offices are located. In addition, the TV didn't work and the beds were gross. The next day, I was able to move to an oceanview room and the manager did give me a $50 credit toward the room, but made no apologies. Our new room still left much to be desired; uncomfortable bed, no refrigerator and only a side view of the ocean. It was better than the closet, though. As a part of the groupon deal I was also supposed to have a 50 minute massage at their spa. When I called, I was told they were all booked for massages, but they could give me a facial instead, which I booked for Sunday night. On Saturday I received a phone call that my facial was cancelled because I didn't show up... they had be scheduled for Saturday instead of Sunday. They then told me that they were booked up all day Sunday and could only offer to do my hair (which really means they would wash and then dry my hair). I agreed since it was better than nothing (and the people at the salon were very nice). I arrived for my hair washing, which was fine. Then they discovered that the drawer that apparently holds all the hair dryers was locked and no one could open it. I stood with dripping hair for 20 minutes while waiting for them to break into the drawer. Finally, they were able to dry my hair and then gave me a free trial size hair product for my troubles. I was finished just in time to miss my free breakfast. Lastly, our groupon deal also came with free champagne and strawberries. I made my first call to order them at 5 p.m., and after several reminder calls, they arrived in our room at 11:30 p.m. We also experienced many of the struggles that other reviewers have mentioned: tiny elevators with long waits, waits up to 45 minutes for the valet, a loud party in their restaurant that went until 3 a.m. Oh, and we were given free use of a tiki hut for a day... with a nice view of a stack of beach chairs. The pool was nice and the water was gorgeous, but the rest of my "vacation" was a disaster. I can't imagine why anyone would ever return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lbzclan
Business
houston, texas
Dec 19, 2011

a horrible experience

The location was great but the service was lousy...as I arrived there was no toilet paper in my room, guest services took forever to come. They charged me 30 dollars for internet and gym that I didn't use...as per the hotel its mandatory... and the heater was not working in my room and without forgetting that I didn't have hot water...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TellyS
Business
NY
Feb 2, 2012

terrible service

The rooms were not cleaned properly. Bathtub was dirty. Internet was constantly not working. Very noisy. The valet lost the key to our car and we had to wait more than 30min for them to find it. Almost missed our flight! Service very unprofessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JGfam
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Dissapointing

After reading many reviews I was very let down with this place. The rooms were old and I had to ask to be changed a couple times before finding one that was suitable. They constantly walk people through the pool area trying to sell them time shares. It is distracting and not relaxing. The room that we had was old and falling apart. It was close to clean but not to the same standard as many of the larger hotel chains. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Customer from Miami
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Once a nice place, now a flophouse

My company have been using Newport Beachside for years booking rooms for our partners and customers visiting us in Miami. Once a very nice place, gradually it has become a sugar-coated wreck. The final nail in the coffin was a robbery of one of our customers' room just a few days ago. The thieves took all valuable electronics (laptop, IPad, camera) worth about $4,000. What's most characteristic about the accident, the hotel management not only didn't offered some compensation, they DIDN'T EVEN OFFER AN APOLOGY. And all that on top of dirty rooms, water dripping from air conditioners, rude personnel, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miami2012
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Spend the $ and enjoy your vacation someplace else

What a nightmare- check in at 3- room ready at 4:30( along with a lobby full of people waiting for their rooms) booked king- got a partially renovated queen - of course for the same price next to a very loud emergency door which open and slammed shut all night - beach was great and that is all I can say that is nice about this place. Elevators always packed - expect to wait - tiki bar food is expensive and not good. You should expect your room will be completely messed up and they do not care. The price is not worth the aggravation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top