$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1031 out of 1031
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Oct 30, 2009

Not too bad

Yes, it's in a great location. Pool and beach facilities are acceptable and well-maintained. The staff is friendly and very helpful. On the downside, the rooms are a little shabby. However, if you're there for romance, they have mirrors everywhere and jacuzzi tubs. LOL They are undergoing renovations on the 9th and 10th floors. So the out-dated rooms should be addressed in the future. It will be interesting to see if that affects price in the future. They could definitely use another elevator bank as the three available were overtaxed by guests, construction debris removal and staff. We usually like to stay in Starwood-level hotels, but this place was OK. I'd stay there again. Oh, and one annoying thing...and it's good and bad...they have activities for kids, which is great. But they do it in the pool area and they make a lot of noise with megaphones and such. It makes for a rather un-relaxing hour or so around the pool. The kids love it though and it was followed up by some nice guitar-reggae music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doc Ron
Business
Little Silver, NJ
May 5, 2011

Family Affair

Room was not clean. Very little space to hang clothes. Security lock box didn't work and asked the desk clerk to send someone to fix it. No one came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some nice places to eat. All within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual mother/daughter
Business
Minnesota
Apr 21, 2011

Beautiful Beach

We arrived at 1:00pm, checked in, but could not get a room until the 3:00 pm check in time. We walked to a strip mall and returned at 3:00 pm. They stated our room was still not ready. We ended up sitting in the lobby until 5:00 pm. They upgraded us to an executive suite at no charge, but wasted much of the first day of vacation!! Once we got our room, it was very nice, although we ended up getting a new toilet installed the next morning because the one we had did not flush. Seemed like we always had to ask for things(coffee, wash clothes,dishes for kitchenette, ect). Staff was very nice, and the beach was amazing!! This seems to be a great resort, but owning a business myself, I would say their management needs to take a better role in this if they want guests to continue to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there were mini strip malls and grocery store within walking distance, and a short bus trip to malls and dining which were great. Would recommend skipping the rent-a-car since the resort also charges you to park these and just go with bus or taxi!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covington, Ga
Aug 9, 2010

Besties Getaway

I loved many things about the hotel but it wasn't what my best friend and I had in mind....it is very family oriented so there were always screaming kids about which we didn't mind. The hotel service was fantastic and the staff were very friendly. One thing I could add to make this hotel even more hospitable is to (lack of a better word)upgrade their rooms. They are very outdated but kept in good condition but its time for a change. That would be the only thing to add about the hotel overall but I enjoyed myself, got burned but left with many memories. The vicinity its in also in within walking distance of many shopping centers....I didn't like the fact that hotel guests had to pay for parking. That made me think twice about car rental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

bingo night, clubbing....shall I go on?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Qc
Aug 21, 2010

Affordable short stay close to sobe

our stay was a short one (3 days) before we left for our cruise. we were looking for a place that was quiet and so sunny isles seemed to be the perfect fit. however, the amount of children at the hotel was way too loud. rooms were outdated, service was friendly, extra surchages for umbrellas and lounge chair cushions despite paying the resort fee. it was ok for what you paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurants are available in the area if you dont feel like driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
miami trip
Business
texas
Oct 1, 2010

they didnt have a room for us!

i got to the hotel and they did not have a room for us, they send us to an other hotel for part of my trip were i was not so happy,even that they pay for my parking and other stuff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

this is a nice place but far away from all the night life and everything, if you have a car is ok!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunny Isles Beach, FL
Oct 5, 2009

Perfect Beach...

Regular stay, no so great..but ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Kitchen 305...great place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookfield, CT
Apr 30, 2010

Nice spot

came in real late and left in the morning after a nice breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
May 27, 2009

Great stay in Miami Beach

Would definitely stay again as the Newport Beachside Resort offered everything we needed. The rooms were definitely older and the bed was very uncomfortable and the shower not so clean. But the staff were extremely friendly and catered to your every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping complex across the street can offer all your little travel needs for a lot less. You can even get breakfast at Einstein's bagels when the restaurant at the resort isn't doing it for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cajun Couple
Business
Louisiana
Jun 8, 2011

Relaxing couples getaway

The hotel was a good location if you want to be close enough to the buzz on South Beach without having to be in the heart of it all day. It's about 10 miles from Ocean Dr. which is either good or bad depending on what you are looking for. The rooms were decent. My first room was old and rundown, but the supervisor kindly upgraded my room with no hastle to an ocean front room (which was only slightly better)after I expressed dissatisfaction. "From what I hear" the newly renovated rooms are 10 times nicer than the older ones I was staying in, but none were available at the time. There are plenty of restuarants and shopping centers around the hotel. A big mall is only about 4 miles away. The beach front and the pool area is the best part. It's beautiful everywhere around and there are plenty of water activities to do. This hotel is catered more towards family, but it will definately work for couples as well. Overall good value for what you're getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top