$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
851 reviews
great viwes

I had a great ocean view for the money. I wiuld come back. See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 17, 2014
great place

We had great vacation in that place, We have been there first time, but for sure We'll come back See full review

  • Maryam VM
  • Sep 16, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (851)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
851 out of 851
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom with 3 children
Business
San Diego California
Dec 19, 2013

Be careful of hidden fees

All the time we found hidden fees, staff was not friendly we had a very rude response at the pool, the restaurant and the lobby. Spa was excelent and the staff at the tiki bar were also friendly. The location is good for Miami. I would not return to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heather babynurse
Business
harmony,pa
Dec 12, 2013

good place..great location

this was our 2nd time staying here, the location is great right next to the beach, the only negative really is the parking and the check in, both times i stayed check in is really long and check out is almost as long, Place is really nice, staff is really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the porterhouse accross the street and down 1 block always has drink specials until 9pm... 2 for 1 and 3 for 1. food is excellent!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YANKEEE
Business
HATFIELD PA
Dec 9, 2013

dont listen to the nay sayers

goooogle map it, its the only hotel/resort that has more than a dozen palm trees on the beach, cabana huts , new chairs, and a pier that belongs to the resort just check out the location. its just far enough away that you cant see Haulover beach (clothing optional), close enough to walk to if you wanted to. make sure that you include breakfast in your deal. otherwise its 14.95 each and orange juice is extra. the kitchen 305 has amazing food, the all you can eat seafood specials are not buffet style but sit down with an extremely attentive wait staff, the manager as i was watching him operate makes not only us, but the staff feel welcomed and glad to be there enjoying the 305 experience. happy staff, happy atmosphere. = relaxation. my 2 ladies and i are of different races and the only people that cared were the old couple sitting next to us, when they said " i just didnt see that" when they both gave me a kiss before exiting. The staff in this resort all made us feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 small strip malls across the street that have a variety of essentials, plus the extras for your stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feblolli
Business
montreal, quebec
Dec 8, 2013

OK stay… but had much better! But beachside and pet-friendly.

So we book this hotel online because we saw nice pictures of the lobby and it is a BEACHside hotel, something we were looking for. First, we did not know there was a 18$ resort fee per day. When we booked on this website, it did not mention it. Good thing is that it is a pet-friendly hotel, for 50$ extra fee per stay. The lobby was very nice indeed, but smelled food from the restaurants around… Our room (Traditional Suite) was really spacious and nice. But there was water leaking from the bathroom… the sound was just annoying at night. So we had a living room with fridge and microwave and tv, plus a bedroom with tv and a bathroom. The bathroom was the worst part of the suite… it was so tiny and the water did not come out strong. In general, the hotel was a bit "old" and needed renovation. For example, the elevators need to be updated. They were making some weird noises and were a bit slow. Maybe it was because it was the Black Friday week-end, but there was solo many people, we always have to wait an eternity before there was an elevator available… that was a bit annoying too. Sometimes, we had to take the stairs, but we were at the 7th floor, so that was quite some exercise (which is not bad per say). The worst element of this hotel, I think it is the service. I've never had that bad of a room service. The lady always forgets to pick up the old towels, or to change the waste bins… we had to call every time to complain. Also, we had in-room movies we could watch with a fee. But then, the system did not work because it says our room is not checked-in… we call a few times to the front desk before someone could fix the problem… Ok enough of the negative stuff! We did like the fact it has a private beach. Our dog was allowed. The water was beautiful. The sand a bit rough though. There is a gas station nearby, CVS, restaurants, etc, very convenient. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. The giftshop lady with her dog was really nice! There is a coffeeshop in the hotel with Starbucks coffee. They have "resort" activities but it was mainly for family and kids so we did not really participate. They had a nice Xmas tree in the lobby for the holidays. They have a SPA and gym, but we did not have the time to try. The bed was really nice, but their pillows could be fluffier.There is self-parking available for 15$ per day or valet. We preferred the self-parking because we did not have to wait for the valet. And we've heard that a week before our stay, there was a flood in the parking lot and that there was a lot of damaged cars! So we kind of felt lucky not to live that experience. At the end, it was an OK stay, but we will not really be back at this hotel unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a dog park nearby at Haulover. Also, on saturday and sunday from 8 to 3, pole 3, at the Haulover Beach, the dogs are allowed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann from Indy
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 27, 2013

nice for simple leisure

overall was good. my room was a little out dated, and my frig was hard to get to, but pretty comfortable. fitness facility needs new equipment. you only have the sun at the pool in the morning, other tall buildings block it. I would recommend to someone if they want something simple, but i will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are two strip malls across from the hotel that made it nice for shopping and dining out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Harleyluja
Business
Braintree, MA
Nov 22, 2013

Just the average place

just completed my trip. The entrance hall looks ok, service personal is friendly. the room was nice and good, but the mattress way too soft, the outside amenities look aged. Overall ok but nothing special to return to either. My wife got stuck with the elevator - used the emergency button but nobody answered the call for more than 10 min. a guy also on the elevator then plied the door open and they all left. also, that they charge $18 resort fee on top of the regular price is just a hidden price inflation. lots of shade at the pool in the afternoon. Hence the rating. Pick something else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rice Asian House - Sushi and more. Its really really good. Went there 3 times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joeyskee
Business
Miami
Nov 20, 2013

I'd go again

Place was beautiful lots of things to do very nice rooms with flat screens and beach views beautiful pool deff a great place for the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Einsteins bagels literally right across the st almost 13 bagels and two tubs of cream cheese only 13.99

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oibrahim
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 10, 2013

Nice stay!!!!

It is nice hotel for good price. Location is perfect straight on the beach. We have 1 bedroom with small kitchenette. Each room have flat screen TV. King size bed is very comfortable. We also pay extra $ for ocean view, that is so beautiful. We have a nice time!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carpaccio restaurant is amazing, good food and excellent service!!!)) also Aventura mall for who like spend some $$$$$$$$$. It is mall with 300 stores and goor restaurants also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superniick
Business
Sanford, FL
Nov 9, 2013

Nice Hotel, But!!

Room was ok for a couple nights but be careful with the scam on timeshare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anne Monahan
Business
Southampton,Ma
Nov 5, 2013

good stay

easy checkin, room 3.5 star- clean and comfortable bed. Excellent view from poolside balcony. Elevators can be problematic (fills fast, stops every floor) pol and beach very clean. Staff working the grounds very early. best SUNRISES ever! Glad to have palm trees on beach or some shade. Parking expensive at $15 park yourself, $20 valet. Also do not forget there is an $18 extra, per day hotel fee. When I asked at checkin what this was for? Beach chair use and a free paper was the response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top