$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1034 out of 1034
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bart k
Business
Den Haag, Netherlands
Oct 26, 2012

clean and good located, but just average

I spent 5 nights in this hotel (1x3 + 1x2); Good points: - the staff is very friendly (first time I even got a free upgrade to ocean view) - the rooms are generally clean (just within my expectations' range) - the beds are comfortable and bedding seems to be brand new; - the beach and pool area are very nicely arranged; the plastic deck chairs are for free (you can also try to use the unoccupied wooden beach lounges but wil be kindly asked to leave as soon as somebody reserves these) - the food choice on site is sufficient; there is a supermarket in the neighborhood and a food mart just across the street - the location is OK; there is also a bus stop at the hotel (both directions) so you could even reach the Miami downtown without having to use the car - executive suite I upgraded to during my 2nd stay was just awesome! But there are also things to consider: - the hotel is being renovated now; many rooms are just "clean but old"; It's not glamorous, but it's also not really disturbing (you will spent the whole day on the beach either, won't you?); - on some floors you will have to deal with renovation works. Hint: just ask the staff and they will check other rooms for you (worked for me both times) - there are some building works on the pier next to the hotel (but not really disturbing); - the self parking is across the street; it's only a problem on check-in/check-out or if you have a lot of luggage you want to transport to/from the car; but the parking staff is friendly - just tell them you have a reservation. - the price does not include Resort fee ($15 per day) and room tax ($1,95 per day); Resort fee (or the combination: room price + resort fee) is in my opinion too high given the current works in the hotel. But fair considering the free amenities. - the price of the valet parking on-site ($20) is ridiculous. The self parking ($15) is also a bit expensive (comparable hotels in the neighborhood have free or less expensive parkings). All in all I can really recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a huge Aventura Mall approx. 5 miles from the hotel.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 2, 2012

Location

It is a good location but about 30 minutes from south beach by cab! But other than that it is a nice hotel , staff is friendly, about 10 minutes away the shipping mall - Aventura mall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a bus to go to south beach and to the shopping mall! Very convenient ...

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ric96
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 25, 2012

Extra Sub-charges

Hotel was nice and clean, breakfast was not included and I charge extra from what I booked for. Since it is a resort there were extra charges for use of the "facility". It was not mention until I checked out next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was at walking distances to little stores

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Prixy
Business
New Jersey
Jan 18, 2013

Good Place to stay

The only down side was the front desk missing my wake up call. I had a call come in late at night and the caller could not get the call to my room..if it was an emergency I would have been in trouble.Other then that it was a good place to stay, I would go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patsbigbus
Business
Columbus, OH
Feb 2, 2013

Surprise Fees!!

We had to ask for towels almost every day. We were surprised at check out with a resort fee of $l5,00 a day plus tax which we were not told ahead of time; since our bill was already paid for before we checked out because we put it on a credit card at the time we made the reservation!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mombo1
Business
Norristown, PA
Feb 19, 2013

Location is good

The hotel was ok. The location is good and fortunately a short walk to other food options. The prices at the hotel for the breakfast brunch was very expensive. The room staff was just ok - we never got clean towels one night and had to use hand towels for our showers. The room key system is lousy and had to get the key re-swiped several times. Carpet in lobby was filthy which made no sense when they were constantly taking people through for a timeshare sales tour. The location is what would make me go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Einsteins Bagels is within walking distance as well as a couple of other food options

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vicki the RMC
Business
wisconsin
Feb 23, 2013

Good location on the beach

Costs more than expected. additional charges for resort fee and parking. No coffee maker in room, have to request. Rooms are old and need updates. Carpet not attached to floor. No separate air or heat for each room. Vending machines at each floor but most don't work correctly. Everything is expensive in hotel. Hotel in very congested area. Love the beach area, plenty of beach chairs. Can rent cushions and cabanas. All hotel personnel were very friendly and polite. This is mainly a resort hotel so the resort owners get the balcony rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay off the I95 if possible, very busy and congested. Better off on the city streets. This area has a lot of traffic when you get on the interstate system. If traveling long distance take the turnpike instead of the Interstate system.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellakinella
Business
Coon Rapids, MN
Mar 12, 2013

Family trip

This hotel is very nice. Has nice pools, including baby pool and great location. The drinks by the pool are expensive but good. As long as you do not stay in the room right above valet parking lot it is a good experience. Very convinient location, stores and restaurants within walking distance. Nice area with big mall nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Big and nice Mall - short drive

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Haulover visitor
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 23, 2013

If it wasn't for this Hotels location, they be in in much trouble

I've stayed there several times over the years. Biggest complaint? The bathrooms are in poor operational condition, showers, toilets... no vent fans, moisture problems, slip hazards for young and old. Sub-par patch work has been done in most baths. Room furniture worn and dirty. They are scrooge-like with their towels. Difficult to get a full set of bath towels delivered. And the desk staff is rude at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants in this area.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baseball fan I
Business
Mashpee, Ma
May 1, 2013

Nice beach area

The hotel was okay for our purpose. Small shops and restaurants within easy walking distance was nice. The mandatory $15 per day recreation fee and $15-$20 per day parking fee was not appreciated. For a week stay, these fees hurt the pocketbook. Staff was helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bagel shop/restaurant across the street was filthy no matter where you looked. We couldn't get out quick enough and the staff were rough around the edges!

Back to menu Return to top