$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
856 reviews
great viwes

I had a great ocean view for the money. I wiuld come back. See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 17, 2014
great place

We had great vacation in that place, We have been there first time, but for sure We'll come back See full review

  • Maryam VM
  • Sep 16, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (856)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
856 out of 856
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarcieMar
Yonkers, NY
Aug 26, 2012

Family Getaway

Great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Perfect for a inexpensive family trip with the kids. The location is much more low key than South Beach; situated in a luxury residential area. The beach is very nice- clear blue water (lounge chairs are free, but the umbrellas and huts can be rented for $15 or so), pool is nice ; cute playground for the kids. The hotel is in proximity to stores like CVS, local restaurants and supermarkets should you want to venture off/buy groceries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the miami metrobus to the tourist attractions such as the Childrens musuem or Jungle Island or even downtown miami and pay only $2 to ride!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunnys Mom
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 28, 2009

"Great hotel for the price".

I was a little scared after the reviews I read. It turned out to be a nice place. It isn't the Ritz but it's not the pits. I did pay 15 dollars to upgrade to a balcony room with a view. Vallet is 15 dollars a day. It was all worth it. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the millions
Business
ft myers florida
Aug 28, 2009

Overall very good

All very good but please let this hotel know they do not need nor should they have 6 poor tiny birds in 2 small cages in lobby under awful spotlights. They will live out their lives within just 40 ft of FREEDOM they will never experience. Cannot even open their wings to flutter about. They will die there. This hotel is superb in every other way. Pls ask them to be more humane & find a bird aviary or rescue sanctuary to release them to. Thank you kindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tra'La
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 27, 2009

Relaxing Tropical Vacation!

After booking our trip, I read several negative reviews concerning the Newport Beachside Resort. Therefore, I called the resort and they informed me that if I was not satisfied with my room they would assign me another one. Our flight landed at 10am and the resort allowed us to check-in early and held our bags so we could enjoy the pool until the room was ready. I was amazed at how nice the resort was especially after reading the reviews. There was constantly activities by the pool for all adults and children. There was a pool party when we arrived on Sunday. Every other day there was live music and activities by the pool for all ages. This was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations ever! I do not understand why the other resort reviews are so bad. Everything in our room was clean and very nice. I was informed that our room was not an upgraded room either. All the counter tops were marble, the bedding was clean and comfortable, there was a large flat screen TV on the wall. We only rented a car for two days of our trip to travel to the Miami Seaquarium, South Beach, Miami Beach, and Ft. Lauderdale. There were plenty of stores and restuarants in walking distance from the resort. Therefore, having a car was not necessary unless traveling. The resort provided all the towels and chairs by the pool and on the beach. My 9 year old niece and I had a wonderful time staying at Newport Beachside resort. I would definitely stay there again. It was an awesome vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kearny,NJ
Aug 26, 2009

Fantastic Resort

Our Stay was great the kids were kept busy with endless activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Niqua
Business
Brooklyn,NY
Aug 26, 2009

Great Getaway

Staying at this hotel was so relaxing. Having the beach right behind the hotel was the prefect touch. I went to the beach and pool everyday, I shopped at the stores inside of the hotel, and I even stopped in Kitchen 305 which was a wonderful place to have a drink or even have a meal. The room service staff was very welcoming and always provided you with things you may need. The hotel staff was very nice and also welcoming the moment you step foot in the door. If there was any problem, it was solved as soon as possible. I liked that there was events taking place at the hotel because it gave the guests something to do or participate in while they are there. I liked that the public transportation is right across the street which made it convenient to get around. If it were a little closer to south beach it would of been better to not travel so far on the bus, but it was worth it in a way because my friend and I wasn't so close to all the chaos, and coming back to a peaceful place was great. I liked the peacefulness of it. The only thing that was missing is having complimentary breakfast. That would of been better than to pay for about $16 everyday we were there. Having the two shopping plazas across the street was an excellent touch, your able to go to a supermarket, go to eat at many different places,and even shop for shoes or stop at CVS and get some necessities which added the perfect touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L@ diva
Business
Bronx,NY
Aug 26, 2009

Nice Summer Stay

After reading some of the reviews from all the websites I was scared to book. The only thing that I was very upset it was the room. Like many other people had said in their reviews the rooms need some updates. I went to front desk to get a room changed I had an excellent room that it was renovated, make sure that you get any room that is on the 10th floor. The entire floor is new furniture, beds and very clean. I can't complain about the service VERY ECELLENT service that they provide front the lobby to the beach... , the hotel offers activities every hour especially for the Kids (love it ) . I enjoyed the party in the pool with Dj .. Wow.. This hotel is very convenient because it has restaurants inside, there are plaza 3 minutes walking and everything is very close . .. There is no need for a car. It started with something negative but the most important I had a great time with my family in this hotel . I recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marshall, supermarket , Spanish,Italian, American restaurants very close, cvs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer with Friends
Business
New York
Aug 26, 2009

Not as bad as everyone says...

After researching online, I expected Newport Beachside to be a rundown place with only a few old customers. But I was so surprised when I got there and saw so many people, young and old. The access to the beach and pool was SO nice! The rooms weren't that bad either. The hotel also has activities for children, which was nice for families. Also, I expected to be in the ghetto with nothing around us, but there are quite a few shopping centers right across the street. It was great and they have some good restaurants there too! With friends, I took taxis/buses and went to downtown Miami and South Beach. The taxis were a bit pricey, but not bad. The staff here weren't terribly mean, but after I visited another hotel to go parasailing, I realized the staff there was much nicer and friendlier! However, overall, this was a very well-priced trip and the hotel was pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When going to and from the airport, we used a taxi for $52 + tip for 3 passengers, which is only about $20 each max. I heard there are other shuttles that make you pay $45 per passenger--so if you're not going by yourself, check out different prices for transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Bergen, NJ
Aug 25, 2009

Great Place to Relax!!!

Our stay there was great; We really enjoyed the pool area, There was always a live dj and entertainment.The tiki bar served great drinks and the food was delicious. While relaxing on the beach you can order drinks and food...it is brought to you on the beach.I can honestly say the servers had great customer service and were very attentive.The restaurant on the pier was great and enjoyed our food overllooking the beach.The kitchen 305 lounge had good music and had a very chill enviroment...Wendseday night is ladies night!!!Ladies drink free from 9-11 pm...male dancers after midnight.This hotel definitely has activites for the entire family...they have a whole intenirary just for daily kids activities.Ohh yea!!...lots of contests at the poolside.The room we stayed in was clean and had a great view to the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a variety of restaurants a couple blocks away, and several shooping plaza's.Also, there is a cvs across the street from the hotel where you can find beach stuff...beer...snacks...great variety.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 24, 2009

Great location, perfect for family

Great location. Fantastic beach. Great pool. Perfect for a family with young children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a mall next to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Had beach and pool for kids on premises and tiki bar for adults. Self parking was a little inconvenient. Stores and dining all close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top