$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,335 reviews
Family fun time

We had a great time..only too short...the check in and check out lines are way too long...they need... See full review

  • Lulu b..super grandma
  • Jul 13, 2014
great experience

Rooms were clean, pool was nice and ocean was better. Over all it was a nice experience See full review

  • the guy88
  • May 31, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1335)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1335 out of 1335
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Z
Maryland
Aug 15, 2012

Excellent

we loved it, we stay any day, love the spa, and the staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CoupleGetwaway
San Diego, CA
May 20, 2010

Not the best option... keep looking

The location was great with access to the beach in Sunny Isles, just north of South Beach. Other than that, it was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. There were renovations going on in several floors, drywall debris were all over the hallway carpets and holes in the walls, restrooms have calcium build up and mold on walls and ceilings, bed sheets were rough and old, trash left outside rooms, vending machines were empty and staff did not care, under staffed, no one would pick up the phone at front desk when calling from your room, they stole my passport from my room, and the maids forgot to leave towels two days after cleaning service. I would have preferred to pay a little more for a reputable chain hotel. The name of this hotel does not live up to it. oh!, yeah and parking was acrooss the street next to a gas station for $12/night - horrible! Trust me on this, do not book this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is a lot of night life in this area and especially on Friday nights!

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diony
georgia,usa
May 19, 2010

newport res.

the stay at the hotel where great[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

location was great

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ny
May 18, 2010

So so

From 1 to 10 points I will rate it 6

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
arlington va
May 18, 2010

It was very good.

Very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ny
May 18, 2010

So so

From 1 to 10 points I will rate it 6

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
May 17, 2010

Miami vacation

This was our extended weekend stay in Miami area. The place was reasonable, however, we had bad experience with the staff during the check out, when they did not explain the charges and did not give us a bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 17, 2010

Everything was perfect except for....

I got at the hotel at 1 am on Thursday and the first impression was good. The room was great and comfortable. I was very surprise about the room, since I read some reviews saying that the standard rooms were old. The next morning the hotel manager called us saying that they needed to change us room, since they had made a mistake giving us a 2 bedroom luxury room. I had to pack my stuff and move to another room, which was nice, in front of the beach. The manager gave us a 1 bedroom luxury room because of the inconvenient. I do agree the manager was very nice. We spent 2 great days at the hotel, but the last night, on Saturday I had the worst experience in hotels in my whole life. The hotel was packed and very noisy. I had to wake up at 5 am on Sunday to go to the airport and at 2 am people were screaming in my floor. I called the reception and the line was busy. After 30 minutes, the fire alarm actuated and everybody had to go to the lobby. There were many people down there, seeking for information and there was only one person at the reception and nobody else. People were nervous and I was tired and very disappointed. After some minutes the receptionist said that someone was playing with the fire alarm. I went back to my room and the alarm was actuated two more times. I could not sleep at all that night. I went to the reception asking for my money back or any kind of refund. And the same receptionist was rude and told me that he would not give anything back and If I want I could go to the newspaper and complain about it. The hotel doesn't have cameras in the floors, so it is impossible to control who is doing what. Unfortunately Newport hotel never again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The most amazing restaurant is the La Cofradia- it is a peruvian restaurant. The food is wonderful !!! The best restaurant ever !

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
May 17, 2010

Miami vacation

This was our extended weekend stay in Miami area. The place was reasonable, however, we had bad experience with the staff during the check out, when they did not explain the charges and did not give us a bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
boston
May 16, 2010

yes but stay out of the hotel!!

the valet driver tried to pocket the 18 dollar fee for the parking. He charged it to the room as well as took cash every day we went out. the drilling and construction sounds coming from the next room were really nice to listen to. the best was trying to get moved, repacking and waiting a day for a new room, then never even getting a new room. i had the privlage to see the entire miami high school seanior class.. they climed from balcony to balcony, one came into my room. they urinated off the balconys on and into the pool. the repeatedly pulled every fire alarm in the building. the elevators locked up so we were forced to climb 6 flights of stairs many times. the trashed the halls with broken bottles. they even tried to start a fist fight with my freind. the hotel waited 2 hours to call the police. They did wave the parking for the valet incodent.. then tried to wave it again for the drilling and again waved for the horror show that the high school put on. it was a joke trying to get someone who could handel things at the desk.. i was told by the staff" it will be handeled ill make a note for the manager". they never did any such thing. every time your at the desk your never remembered. i have a good amount of travel experience and this was by far disgusting. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
boston
May 16, 2010

yes but stay out of the hotel!!

the valet driver tried to pocket the 18 dollar fee for the parking. He charged it to the room as well as took cash every day we went out. the drilling and construction sounds coming from the next room were really nice to listen to. the best was trying to get moved, repacking and waiting a day for a new room, then never even getting a new room. i had the privlage to see the entire miami high school seanior class.. they climed from balcony to balcony, one came into my room. they urinated off the balconys on and into the pool. the repeatedly pulled every fire alarm in the building. the elevators locked up so we were forced to climb 6 flights of stairs many times. the trashed the halls with broken bottles. they even tried to start a fist fight with my freind. the hotel waited 2 hours to call the police. They did wave the parking for the valet incodent.. then tried to wave it again for the drilling and again waved for the horror show that the high school put on. it was a joke trying to get someone who could handel things at the desk.. i was told by the staff" it will be handeled ill make a note for the manager". they never did any such thing. every time your at the desk your never remembered. i have a good amount of travel experience and this was by far disgusting. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top