$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
857 reviews
Very Nice Place

Very high end hotel. Valet parking (for extra charge) We felt very out of place when we arrived,... See full review

  • dewfrain
  • Dec 1, 2014
great viwes

I had a great ocean view for the money. I wiuld come back. See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 17, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. Newport Beachside Resort was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The resort captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms
Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.
Features
The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (857)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
857 out of 857
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, Mo.
Mar 19, 2011

Many positives but lots of problems

Beach, Everglades, Spa, Miami Beach and South Beach, Little Havana. All the teens loved the beach and the Sawmut Everglades airboat and animal exhibit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ForzaRoma
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
May 5, 2011

You pay for what you get...

Staff was very friendly and helpful, when you could find them! Rooms/hallways were dirty and tired - in desperate need of a remodel (This is the main reason for 3 stars). Beach and pool access is easy and there is an abundance of huts, chairs and umbrellas (some items for a fee). Decent restaurants and shopping all within a quick walk. Beach was a bit dirty, could use an occasional trash pickup - but this may be consistent throughout the area. The price on this one is indicative of the environment - don't expect 5 star accommodations. But if you can overlook the dirty carpets and moldy bathrooms, then this is probably a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Timo - Restaurant about 8 blocks away. Fantastic American-Style Italian food, with wood oven Pizza's and an extensive wine list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
little rock,ar
Apr 19, 2011

good hotel but bad management

i called newport hotel earlier in the day that i will be checking in late as my flight was reaching late i was reassured that your room is reserved. When i checked in I was given a room key and when we opened it there were already having checked in guests. we then went back to desk and was told "we will investigate this". i was then told all the rooms were booked in hotel and i will be sent to different nearby hotel that sucked, no refrigerator, no microwave, no blower etc in that room. Then when we returned next day to check back at newport hotel, we were asked to wait 2 hours in lobby with all luggage, this waisted our morning that day at miami. when i was given a room, that had a queens bed instead of the one i booked 'kings bed'. till that time i was so frustrated with the management that i rather decided to put all of this to an end and just enjoy miami. i will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern VA
Apr 17, 2011

Does anybody there really care?

Complacency was the name of the game at the Newport Beachside Resort. The front desk manager, a Hispanic female, was terrible - very unhelpful with every interaction. The conceirge worked limited hours, had no maps for meals etc. Housekeeping did not speak English and I found our maid sitting in my room on the couch watching TV drinking a soda...and she was not embarrassed when I asked her to please leave. She never finished the room nor brought fresh towels that day.Never had our room full cleaned while there. Laundry room in the basement has four washers, but only one works. No laundry soap vending machine there - you have to go upstairs to the gift shop to purchase. The pool was nice but dirty. The beach was a great escape but they close the beach at 5:00 - you have to turn in the beach chairs you are sitting in prior to that time. The men who work there were haughty and not helpful in securing chairs etc. - more interested in looking at the babes on the beach. Overall - for the price and location, we were pleased to have a stopping off place before we left for a Caribbean cruise...but the staff is HORRIBLE - the management must be sleeping or accepting of complacency. They could enhance this property so more more with some deep changes. I can't recommend it nor would I stay there again unless I saw that many changes are made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois+
Apr 7, 2010

you get what you pay for

our room was not ready at 7:00pm, garbage in the halls, (right outside the elavator, pizza boxes empty cans of pop, not a good first impression) To make-up for the room we got breakfast vouchers, which was nice. This hotel needs some updating, but overall it was just ok. We were also charged $28.00 for drinks we didn't order!!! Still fighting that. Springbreak very crouded pool with tons of kids. This hotel is not for quiet time. I guess you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Come here if you have a big family and want to save a little money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frankfurt, Germany
Jan 23, 2010

Not up to standards

Albeit it was an unusual cold January no heating was provided! And this in the 21 century. All our other Florida holidays had heating. Hotel is not at all up to standard. Need to complain and threaten to call the police because joungsters made pool at 1 a.m. to be their noisy playground. Hotel management didn't realy care and acted reluctant. Generel impression was not worth the money. Location though is good, pool and beach also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, or
Jul 5, 2011

Great family vacation

This was our second stay at the hotel. The first time we came down for spring break and enjoyed it more. We expected the 2 bedrooms rooms to be bigger but they werent. We were missing utensils and an iron. Everything else was fine. The beach is great, pool is great and the activities were fun. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LEY LEIGH
Business
UPSTATE NY
Mar 29, 2010

newport beachside hotel stay

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which looked amazing in the pics on the hotel website... when we got there I was extremely disappointed!! It was a basic hotel room with a mini fridge! Nothing very fancy! The bathroom was gross... the shower had hair in it when we arrived and there was no fan so there was mold on the ceiling over the shower. The lobby area is incredible but the rooms need a little work. The area was nice, but not many things to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 20, 2009

Newport Beachside Stay

The hotel is very nice. It is located near plenty of restaurants and they offer various tours around Florida, there is no need to even rent a car. Excellent for families with children, plenty of activities for the kids. Not a lot to do for the adults in the hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Porter House pub across from the hotel for the casual dinner is great. For a more sophisticated meal try the Argentinian restaurant on the plaza across from the hotel, near the Mexican restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toronto
Feb 8, 2010

Warm friendly employees

Initial greeting was not very receptive by front check in clerk,the vallet and other employees were great. we had listed smoking as a priority and were not given a room with outside terrace other than that the location was great and the lady at the Tiki Bar was very helpful in finding interesting places and great advice, Thanks Rose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top