$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
887 out of 887
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Miami, Fl
Oct 28, 2010

Good deal

The staff was very friendly except for the maid service- not very friendly. The restaurants semi-expensive. The partial ocean view room had a great view to pool and the ocean. The room was very nice and roomy. The hotel was a bit rundown. The location far from Miami Beach, South Beach, etc but we were not looking for excitement. I would recommend this hotel for friends that are not terribly choosy. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom with teenagers
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 2, 2009

Good and Bad, but a great Beach

We traveled with friends and had 6 rooms total. We were not given an updated room. They all got suites and oceanview rooms. Bedspread was torn, couldn't even see out windows on north side of building. Lovely beach. Would stay there again but would pay for upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Found several nice places to dine with local flare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ti-Guy Emond
Business
Mont St-Hilaire, Qc, Canada
Jan 8, 2010

Close to the Dolphin Stadium- 20 minutes

Noisy... specially during an Orange Bowl time...people were very noisy at 2:00AM (Iowa fans) Room aren't very clean, specially the old carpet. The restaurant staff isn't nice specially the Hispano's one. The location is good. The pool and the beach are perfect. The room are big enough. You can feel that they are doing some renovations, new TV, etc. For the price, I won't recommand that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you wish to see a beautiful and High Class Mall, you should go to AVENTURA MALL- BISCAYNE BOUL also Lincoln Ave is very interesting for a long walk with many boutiques and great atmosphere- Finally don't miss Ocean Drive for the Deco Architecture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason Yousef
Business
Carlstadt, NJ, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great Location, Poor service!

We traveled in August, room service was so bad, missing towels, only 1 towel unless we call them, busy hotel, old carpets and furniture, check in and out was a hassle, there was $15 resort fees per day which wasn't mentioned!! food was expensive inside the hotel, beach area is small but ok, water was wonderful, bed was clean and comfy, pool was clean and warm, hotel lobby is so small but who needs that anyway in Miami!! good for the value as it's not over prices like other hotels..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is around you, McDonald for the kids, CVS, Japanese, dollar store, Marshall, walmart,applebees, chilis !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Dec 21, 2010

Not bad

The room was clean, the staff was mostly professional (good people to offset the not so good). It was nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room. Self parking across the street was reasonable, and it is close to the highway so it's easy to travel to other places. Heat and thicker walls would be nice (heard generators all night and people in the halls). We had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everglades park near Homestead $10 per carload gets you in all week - lots of wildlife!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Awesome couple!
Business
Ft.Wayne, IN
Oct 11, 2009

Front Staff iffy but overall pleasant

Air conditioning was non-existant in our 1st room when we arrived and forecast was in upper 90's-- * Front staff horrible about resolving the problem BUT surprisingly enough an engineer took great care of us and battled front desk for us to get us a NEW upgraded room and complimentary breakfast for our troubles!!! The private beach was an amazing getaway not a long walk.... in the hotel's backyard as a matter of fact.. * Resort fees were ridiculous though for the little value we noticed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel seemed to have a popular bar/resturant at it's lobby "The Kitchen" which always seemed busy! I would advise the economic shopper on a budget to purchase groceries at a local store and stock up your fridge.... Each room has a fridge & microwave!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Jul 11, 2011

above average

renovated room a must here if not the room is outdated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nice places to eat on collins ave

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Keller, TX
Jul 13, 2011

Nice hotel, but be cautious

We walked in to a friendly staff and a beautiful lobby area and we very pleased. We were given our room and made our way up. Once we got into the room, it was nothing like the pictures online [...] or the hotel website. The layout was pretty much the same, but the room was disgusting and worse than any motel I have stayed in, much less any hotel! It was poorly painted with cracks in the walls, had a 25" TV (not flatscreen as in pictures)and the bed would have been more comfortable if they had laid plywood over the top of the mattress (not exaggerating). To their credit, I called and asked to be placed in a different room and the staff was very courteous and was promptly moved to a nicer room with the 42" flat screen and a balcony....much better. The only problem with the room was that the pull out sofa beds mattress was really poor and my daughter couldn't sleep on it and ended up just sleeping on the sofa without the bed being pulled out, so keep this in mind if you are traveling with children. The rest of the room was much better. I saw the room change scenario play out with others during our stay, so just be aware. Also, since they are updating rooms, the renovation hammers and saws will start promptly at 9am and end at 5pm. If you are stuck in your room due to weather as we were on our last day, you will have to contend with this as well. All in all, it should be very nice once the renovations are done, but until them, make sure of what you are getting. Overall, we were happy with our stay and the hotel is in a great location and the beach access was fantastic! Will we go back to this area, definitely! The beaches were great! Will we go back to this hotel.....maybe, but I will likely search other options first, and definitely not while the renovations are still taking place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of great places to eat that are within walking distance to the hotel on the North side of Miami....not so on South Beach, so don't waste your time looking. However, there is a small restaurant on Biscaynne Blvd toward downtown Miami called "Scorch"....it is fantastic! Fresh seafood and a nice selction in a great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MartyW
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Newport Beachside Resort Review:

The positives about this hotel are the pool, beach front access, a beautiful & clean beach, a bar @ the pool, the view from the beach front rooms is great, no problems asking staff questions & getting responses and assistance when needed. Problems with this hotel are the thin walls, where if sleeping or needing some quiet time in your room can be inpossible at times because you can hear those around you and other things going on out of your room which can be very disturbing. The Beds are not comfortable and do not seem like they are sized correctly; we asked for a king and it seemed like a queen. Also the rooms need some upgrading and seem a little outdated. there are not much to choose from when it come to food in this hotel and another restaurant would be nice. And lastley, the resort fee and amount for parking are ridiculous. If I have a resort fee there shuld be more ammenities to this hotel, which there are virtually no added benifits that would entail having a resort fee and the parking seemes a little high @ $12 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Just know that if you are looking for night life there is virtually none in this part of Miami/ Sunny Isles. You will have to go more towards south beach which is a short drive or taxi ride. We would have liked to know this before choosing this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pauliebpaul
Business
Pinellas park,Florida
Oct 30, 2009

On my way to a cruise

Quite comfortable after check in. I did not like having to check out at the front desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a strip mall with several dining options across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top