$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1027 out of 1027
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JeannBtraveler
Business
Cooperstown, New York
May 2, 2009

Fantastic for the price

I was nervous about booking here due to the mixed reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. The only thing I would have changed was the room itself. It was clean, great bathroom, good TV but the room definitely needed updating and it looked out onto a dirty rooftop (at eye level). Buffet breakfast was great and very well priced. All of the employees we came into contact with were very helpful. There is a small shopping center a block away and the bus for the Adventura Mall stops outside the door. I will certainly return as soon as possible. I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 22, 2009

Decent Hotel

Nice hotel, a bit on the old side. Good service, nice beach. Long pier closed - very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

South Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Travel Queen
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 4, 2010

Family Fun on The Beach

The overall experience was good. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. In addition all of the staff encountered appeared helpful, with the exception of the evening clerk at the spa. She appeared a little preoccupied with flirting with a male staffer.The Kitchen 305 had excellent food. The night time entertainment is mostly geared toward the twentysomething crowd. There were half naked women dancing on the tables, not what I expected from a family spot. The spa is beautiful and a first class experience. My massage therapist [...] was wonderful. The private beach was perfect, we spent the majority of the trip on the beach. There were plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. Perfect location for travelling with the family.The hotel should upgrade some amenties. A resort fee is charged daily; however, there is no volley ball net for the volleyball court. In addition there aren't any watersports offered. You can walk about half a mile if you want to rent a canoe and Ski Doo's are for rent just next door to the property. Guest tend to litter the beach and the staff doesn't clean up during the day. It does appear that they do clean the beach in the early am.The property is really old and an eyesore when compared to some of the surrounding hotels. However, it was a decent and clean place to stay. A great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a nice family take out meal, try The Epicure Market. In addition Denny's is close by and a good spot for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stefanmi
Business
Wilmington, DE
Aug 16, 2010

Expected more - All show and no substanc

Exterior and Lobby look great but rooms and substance of the hotel itself seems old.Room Fee was not included in [...] price and there was no clear indication of such fee when we checked in.Old Tube TVs in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 16, 2011

Newport Beachside

Bad service . Waited 3 long sunny hours indoors waiting on 1 towel . Had these timeshare people costantly harassing me . Finally gave in to a "90" hour tour which lasted 3 and a half long stressful hours . Room needs more than remodeling . Very old fashioned . "homeowners" get the renovated rooms with the nice view . Did inmention the homeowners are those who give in to these timeshare people and give away 20,990 to have a renovated room ! Would not recomend unless you have MONEY . 120 long blocks away from south beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great club/restaurant right in the lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
go2mch
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Apr 23, 2011

Great deal for location

After reading reviews, we were skeptical of the resort. As long as you get a rennovated room everything is great, just make sure you ask for when you book! The location was great w/ nice beach, tiki-hut, pool, Kitchen 305. The tiki-hut food is very good. The staff was very helpful and pleasant, except we had to remind housekeeping daily for towels, etc., but once we called they immediately took care of it. Plan on a $30 one-way taxi trip to South Beach. Since Newport Beach Resort is in N. Miami, we recommend restaurant L'Attico and Porterhouse across the street, there's an Einstein and CVS and other small vendors in a shopping center across the street. A short taxi ride of $12 to the Aventura Mall was worthwhile. Lots of restaurants and great shopping. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and the weather was great !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

After 9 pm Kitchen 305 becomes a rock and rollin night club with lots of provacatively-dressed women, so keep your kids in the room! But don't worry, plenty of wholesome activites for the kids throughout the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, Ky
Apr 7, 2011

Somewhat deceiving

My husband and I went to relax and were quite disappointed in this hotel. I had been there in years past(approx. 7 yrs. ago). The website states that the place had been renovated. While some areas of the hotel had been renovated, our room was not! As a matter of fact, I was quite disgusted to see that they had the exact same comforters on the bed that were there 7 years prior. I also paid extra for a "partial ocean view" which was ridiculous. From the small worn down balcony you could see the rooftop of the building and if you looked to the far left...a glimpse of the ocean. Out of their control, one of the three elevators had caught fire minutes prior to us checking in. It was out of order for 4 days of our stay and caused a huge inconvenience for anyone needing to use it. We decided to take the stairs for most of our visit because it was faster. The hot tub was cold for the first 2 days we were there. After speaking with the front desk that was fixed within 24 hours. I have never been to a hotel (even slums) that did not have a coffee maker in the room. We bought a cheap one from Wal Mart instead of paying the ridiculous amount they wanted in their "Cappucinos" place. A can of coke from that place was $2.18 or you could walk down the hall and use the vending machine to buy a 20oz plastic bottle for $2.00???????? The price of the breakfast buffet was $14 not to include the sales tax and gratuity that are automatically added to your bill. If it were good, that would be reasonable but I would suggest ordering off the a la carte' menu. It was less expensive and cooked to order. Of course Denny's is not far down the street; within walking distance. I would suggest putting some kitchen utensils, bowls, plates, cups, etc. in the rooms. There is plenty of space for it and it would make things alot easier for the guests. There was a grocery store down the street where you could stock your room with basics because they do have a small fridge and microwave. But not a single piece of silverware or plateware? I will not be going back to this place in the future as I have paid the same amount of money for much nicer accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of stores and restaurants within walking distance to the hotel that are less expensive than dining at the hotel. Renting a car can be expensive as you have to pay $13 a day to park yourself across the street or $15 a day to valet on top of the $15 a day resort fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 3, 2010

think twice

The location of the hotel was good. It was fairly easy to find. I had to do valet parking since the self-parking was across the street in an unprotected lot. Trying to valet park took well over 30 minutes at check-in and I had to flag down a guy myself. Most days I left early enough in the morning that I got my car within 10 minutes and I purposely stayed out late enough to not to get caught up in the crowd trying to valet park (5pm-7pm is a bad time). Overall the room was not good. There was mold growing on the ceiling in the bathroom due to the lack of ventilation and the decor and carpet of the room looked like it had been there for 20+ years. The sheets were never changed all week and the door to the balcony did not seal so there was always a humid wind coming inside the room. No wonder the room smelled so damp. I asked for a change of the room especially because it was located right across from the elevators and preferred some place quieter but was told that there were no other rooms available. This of course was after multiple attempts to call the front desk who never answered. I left 2 messages for the manager who never responded. Finally I had to go downstairs and wait in line at the front desk. Obviously they are severly understaffed and need more training in customer service. There were some areas where they obviously had placed more money (new gym, spa and salon, restaurants, daily games and activities for the kids) but I will not return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There was a nice variety of group gatherings and games to entertain the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bubu58
Business
miami
Dec 29, 2010

Holiday relax

Take your time, if you need it, hotel is fantastic. Ocean, beach,SPA all for rour relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovin the sun
Business
new york
Apr 16, 2011

pretty good

Its a pretty good place to stay if you are traveling with family. Alot of local things to do, pretty decent restaurants, good choice of tourist activities. Not a good place for a crowd that just wants to party, more of a relaxes setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good places to eat all over that stay open pretty late

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top