$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,336 reviews
Family fun time

We had a great time..only too short...the check in and check out lines are way too long...they need... See full review

  • Lulu b..super grandma
  • Jul 13, 2014
great experience

Rooms were clean, pool was nice and ocean was better. Over all it was a nice experience See full review

  • the guy88
  • May 31, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1336)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1336 out of 1336
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun in the sun
brownwood, tx
Jun 6, 2010

Had a great time

This was the first real vacation for us. The hotel was great, but the food was a bit overpriced. The beach was beautiful, and the pool was also fun. There was bingo and all kinds of games to play. The drinks were the best part for me. Over all, it was a memorable experience. Hope we can do it again. I would totally recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Kitchen 305 was a good place to eat and after nine pm, it became a night club. it was really fun, and the staff was great.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eatontown NJ
Jun 6, 2010

An exciting resort for everyone!!!!!

From the time that I checked in, everything went very smooth. When I got to the room I was pleasently suprised with the view from the balcony! I was also very pleased with the itenarary that the resort offered everyday and night. I noticed that the resteraunt/night club was popular within the neighborhood. I also noticed that the staff was selective in there admission process. I noticed two weddings during my stay and with all that going on the staff still maintained a relaxing atmosphere, simply amazing!!! This was my first visit to Miami for a vacation, and I can assure you that it will not be my last at this resort!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

On Wednesday night's the resort offers all you can eat whole lobsters for $35!!! With a live band, which was great! Dating games for singles on Thursday's and Club night on Sat!!! You don't have to leave the resort if you don't want to!!!! They also had a great casino 20 minutes away, if you like gambling.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deserves more...
New Jersey
Jun 6, 2010

Good, but needs more work....

Spa was fabulous!! However what was advertised for the bathroom (i.e. jet tub) wasn't available, although they had it listed in the standard room description. Its beyond obvious that most of Miami is under construction... the hotel no different. Very noisy at times, hallways to rooms showed all the unfinished work being done (i.e. messy carpet, holes in walls from electric work, etc). Bathroom was sup par! very old. Bar, Spa, friendly staff, the beach being the backyard is this place saving grace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Places to eat right across the street.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eatontown NJ
Jun 6, 2010

An exciting resort for everyone!!!!!

From the time that I checked in, everything went very smooth. When I got to the room I was pleasently suprised with the view from the balcony! I was also very pleased with the itenarary that the resort offered everyday and night. I noticed that the resteraunt/night club was popular within the neighborhood. I also noticed that the staff was selective in there admission process. I noticed two weddings during my stay and with all that going on the staff still maintained a relaxing atmosphere, simply amazing!!! This was my first visit to Miami for a vacation, and I can assure you that it will not be my last at this resort!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

On Wednesday night's the resort offers all you can eat whole lobsters for $35!!! With a live band, which was great! Dating games for singles on Thursday's and Club night on Sat!!! You don't have to leave the resort if you don't want to!!!! They also had a great casino 20 minutes away, if you like gambling.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, Nebraska
Jun 2, 2010

Great family destination!

Great family-oriented hotel! Lots to do for all ages. Great service. Only challenge was noisy guests/visitors in the 2:00-4:00 a.m. time frame at outside entrance. Would recommend to anyone who wants a cost-reasonable fabulous vacation spot for all ages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask hotel staff--very helpful in identifying options. Lots of great dining choices within a mile.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, Nebraska
Jun 2, 2010

Great family destination!

Great family-oriented hotel! Lots to do for all ages. Great service. Only challenge was noisy guests/visitors in the 2:00-4:00 a.m. time frame at outside entrance. Would recommend to anyone who wants a cost-reasonable fabulous vacation spot for all ages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask hotel staff--very helpful in identifying options. Lots of great dining choices within a mile.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth Texas
Jun 1, 2010

Disgusting Rooms....

The entrance of the hotel is very chic however its very deceiving. You valet park and as you walk into the lobby, the club music is blaring so you can hardly hear the front desk receptionist to check into the hotel. We asked for a renovated room days in advanced, however they couldn't guarantee and so of course at check in they didn't have any available, we decided to "upgrade" to an ocean view room. As we are walking up to the rooms, the hallway carpet looked like its never been cleaned in 20 years. We finally get into our room, which was very outdated. It was basically a Motel 6 or less of quality room. It was late when we checked in and decided to make the best out of it and figured we wouldn't be in the room that much anyways. The next morning we hit the beach early, paid $30 dollars for chairs and an umbrella, it was set up right at the waters edge, a couple hours later the beach was very over crowded. Our waters edge view of the ocean was then blocked by a family of 30 that decided to place their tent, chairs, and stroller in front of our view. It was a public beach and you didn't have to be a guest of the hotel to use the beach in front of the hotel. We had the cabana boy move our chairs to a better location and enjoyed the beach. We were scheduled for 2 more nights at this motel but we decided to check out early and made reservations at a different hotel. I guess you get what you pay for. Newport Beachside Resort was a bad choice…..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
holiday mum
maplewood, mn
Jun 1, 2010

best hotel ....if you love the beach!!!

it was great, the customer service is the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth Texas
Jun 1, 2010

Disgusting Rooms....

The entrance of the hotel is very chic however its very deceiving. You valet park and as you walk into the lobby, the club music is blaring so you can hardly hear the front desk receptionist to check into the hotel. We asked for a renovated room days in advanced, however they couldn't guarantee and so of course at check in they didn't have any available, we decided to "upgrade" to an ocean view room. As we are walking up to the rooms, the hallway carpet looked like its never been cleaned in 20 years. We finally get into our room, which was very outdated. It was basically a Motel 6 or less of quality room. It was late when we checked in and decided to make the best out of it and figured we wouldn't be in the room that much anyways. The next morning we hit the beach early, paid $30 dollars for chairs and an umbrella, it was set up right at the waters edge, a couple hours later the beach was very over crowded. Our waters edge view of the ocean was then blocked by a family of 30 that decided to place their tent, chairs, and stroller in front of our view. It was a public beach and you didn't have to be a guest of the hotel to use the beach in front of the hotel. We had the cabana boy move our chairs to a better location and enjoyed the beach. We were scheduled for 2 more nights at this motel but we decided to check out early and made reservations at a different hotel. I guess you get what you pay for. Newport Beachside Resort was a bad choice…..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
holiday mum
maplewood, mn
Jun 1, 2010

best hotel ....if you love the beach!!!

it was great, the customer service is the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top