$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
851 reviews
great viwes

I had a great ocean view for the money. I wiuld come back. See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 17, 2014
great place

We had great vacation in that place, We have been there first time, but for sure We'll come back See full review

  • Maryam VM
  • Sep 16, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (851)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
851 out of 851
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CRISpilinda
Business
BUENOS AIRES ARGENTINA
Jan 26, 2014

A JOURNEY BY SUBWAY

. there were only 2 elevators for lots of people .the gym treadmill should be repaired , the breakfast was not included . But my son had to afford breakfast at a cafe since there was no juice , fruit ,cold meat . Michele the manageress ill treated me , the cuban manager told they were going to work on that .He was nice t

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

SOUTH POINT RESTAURANTS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RainK
Business
Minnesota
Jan 24, 2014

Nice vacation with friends

The ocean view was create (although it was only partial). The room was nice, king bed was great. Gym was a little small, but ok, machines (treadmills) in the gym needs some fixing. Lobster Wednesday was fantastic!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lobster Wednesday

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rhodalee29
Business
Miami Beach Florida
Jan 22, 2014

Extremely POOR customer service

the location was exactly what we hoped for; you go out the back door of the lobby into the pool deck area with side by side kid and full size pools, there is a bar that also serves food to the right of the pools, and a few steps down you are on the beach, there were plenty of lounge chairs on the pool deck and the beach, it was perfect! BUT...we didn't have a perfect experience because of the following: 1) check in-we arrived at the hotel an hour early, the room wasn't ready-in fact it was an hour after check in time before it was ready; 2) customer service-the worst we have ever experienced; they ignored and at times were rude to customers at the front desk, calls to the front desk weren't answered before it rang at least 15 times, and when they finally did answer they interrupted you mid sentence and said "please hold" and put you on hold for several minutes. 3) house keeping-there were no towels or bed linens or pillows for the pull out bed (there were 4 of us staying in the room) 4) comfort-the springs in the pull out couch mattress jabbed through making a very restless first night; house keeping brought a roll away bed, but only after spending an hour and half with them and the front desk to convince them to bring it and not charge an additional $15 a night 5) room condition-the room was in need of a total overhaul; the rug was excessively stained, windows were cloudy (not dirty), the bathroom floor was damaged, and much of the trim and woodwork also gross or damaged in many areas, the hot water barely got above room temperature and it ran out/or got weak pressure, the shower faucet leaked 6) food-the breakfast buffet was powdery scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, french toast, hash brown potatoes and danish, it was all cold and it really tasted bad, the only beverage they offered for our 9 year old was coffee, water, or the cereal milk-NO JUICE?! 7) elevators-slow and over crowded 8) customer service-worth stating once more that the customer service was POOR, another example is while waiting for our room to be ready to check in, we had to wait in line several times to get updated, and once when we got up to the desk I started to ask if our room was ready yet, the man ignored me and started talking to a woman behind me that was taking pictures for a travel company, after a few minutes talking with her he just turned around and walked away as if we weren't standing there...another person behind the desk saw this and attempted to apologize, but his rudeness struck her as funny and she couldn't stop giggling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alpharetta
Business
georgia
Jan 19, 2014

Alpharetta

I absolutely enjoyed my stay, weather was chilly but the atmosphere was warm and friendly. Was not impressed with the kitchen service, on lobster night had to wait over an hour for the rack of lamb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janie252
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2014

Full of inconveniences!

This hotel has a good price for the location, but it comes with list of negatives: 1. There are 3 tiny elevators that are always overfilled and you need to wait for some time to get on and then stop on every floor. 2. Some rooms are ok, others are disgusting, with rusty bathrooms with horrible drainage in sink and shower, scratched and broken outdated furniture, musty smell especially in the closet, stains on the carpets, and dust on the night stands. After getting one of these rooms, we asked for a room switch which we got right away and it was definitely a great improvement. However, still don't understand how they can even offer rooms like that to people. 3. Valet parking costs $20 and takes a long time to pick up the car. We waited for 30 minutes on the first day and decided to use the lot for $15 across the street. 4. There is an $18 daily resort fee plus $2 tax on that resort fee which you are not told about when you book or at check in. They sneak in the charge and it seems like many guests were surprised at this fees at checkout. Be sure to review your bill for other incorrect charges. We were charged for extra days of valet parking, 8 days of resort fees when we only stayed for 7. These wrong charges were removed but you need to point them out to them. Positives: 1. Price. All other hotels in this area will charge much more. 2. Location. You are right on the beach and there are many stores, restaurants, car rentals, etc walking distance. 3. Offer 1 and 2 bedroom accommodations for a good price which is convenient. So if you just want to spend some time at the beach and don't want to spend much, you can do it here just know what frustrations you can expect. After our experience, we will visit another hotel next time even if we need to pay a bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sher loves the beach
Business
Niles, Ohio
Jan 5, 2014

Holiday Get Away

We really enjoyed our stay at Newport Beachside Resort. The room was very spacious and ocean front view was amazing. The ocean water is beautiful, the pool was very warm (we were there in January). The best thing we enjoyed was the all you can eat lobster dinner!!! What a great value!!! We will defiantly return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blown off customer
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 1, 2014

Great location, ridiculous resort fee

Generally nice hotel, but overrun by teens without parents. $18 resort fee gets you little. No coffee in room, soda machines on EVERY floor are out of order -- many have signs saying can buy soda in bar. If you like fishing, nice fishing pier on property (free with room key)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric0531
Business
Iowa City
Dec 30, 2013

Short Getaway

Generally a nice place. The valet parking and attendants was very convenient, and quick and pleasant service. Has a good small store for quick food and drink needs. The suite was nice but the shower was on the old side and its faucet didn't output an even spread. The check-in experience was a bit irritating when I had card problems and I think the staff did not provide a high end interaction but then this is a 3 star hotel. Anyways, nice place and would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan7
Business
CA
Dec 28, 2013

Nice Stay

Room was comfortable, staff was responsive, albeit guest volume and the age of the decor showed somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation J
Business
Canada
Dec 26, 2013

Good value

The hotel is getting older and it shows in the rooms and the lobbies. The breakfast buffet needs a pick me up. But still good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top