$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
875 reviews
Awesome couple trip

I'm really like this place and for sure I will come back. See full review

  • Maryam VM
  • Feb 14, 2015
precruise beach time

Arrived at he hotel after a short flight from Cincinnati, OH and waited to approach the front desk.... See full review

  • Peter C.
  • Jan 27, 2015
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. Newport Beachside Resort was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The resort captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms
Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.
Features
The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (875)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
875 out of 875
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maureen Miami
Business
Montreal, Quebec
Mar 12, 2013

lobster

The lobster made it all perfect!! The ocean magnificent and the hotel perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellakinella
Business
Coon Rapids, MN
Mar 12, 2013

Family trip

This hotel is very nice. Has nice pools, including baby pool and great location. The drinks by the pool are expensive but good. As long as you do not stay in the room right above valet parking lot it is a good experience. Very convinient location, stores and restaurants within walking distance. Nice area with big mall nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Big and nice Mall - short drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
azut
Business
clearwater fl
Mar 11, 2013

not happy!!!!!

Dirty,couch had cigatrettes burn ,saw a roach in the bathroom, elevators slow and old ,bed supposed to be king was queen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
One upset traveler...
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 8, 2013

What do you mean "we don't have room?"

We booked I room last December and it was charged to my VISA in full. When we arrived at the hotel and showed them our confirmation number they said they were booked up and they wanted us to move to another hotel 5 blocks away. We were traveling with another couple who ran into the same problem. We protested and asked to speak to manager and after raising a fuss they suddenly came up with another room. We suspect they want to move us to another hotel since we had a discounted rate so that they could get higher rates from new people who were willing to pay the prevailing rate. We will never stay at the Newport Beach hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morrison Butterfly
Business
Tecumseh, MI
Mar 2, 2013

Had a great time in Miami

We had a great time in the Miami area. The staff was very friendly, and we had no problems. Weather was great and the beach was nice. Was a little disappointed that the hot tub wasn't working, and the resort and parking fees were more than I expected, but still had a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DrBrit
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 27, 2013

Not a place for you if your visual

I needed to be close to Aventura. So it was the only reasonable hotel. However, it was very dated outside of the lobby. In walking down the hallway on my floor, I felt I needed to worry about cleanliness since everything was so old. The room windows were filthy and I had trouble with my door not opening or closing without use of body weight and disturbing my neighbors. It took them three days to finally fix it and they wouldn't let me change rooms without an extra fee. And, its $15/day for self-parking and $15/day resort fee, which is not on their website. Drinks are around $13 for a cocktail at the bar. The only good thing is that their on the beach. Next time I'm in Miami I'd rather pay the extra $30-$50 a day to have a place I feel is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vicki the RMC
Business
wisconsin
Feb 23, 2013

Good location on the beach

Costs more than expected. additional charges for resort fee and parking. No coffee maker in room, have to request. Rooms are old and need updates. Carpet not attached to floor. No separate air or heat for each room. Vending machines at each floor but most don't work correctly. Everything is expensive in hotel. Hotel in very congested area. Love the beach area, plenty of beach chairs. Can rent cushions and cabanas. All hotel personnel were very friendly and polite. This is mainly a resort hotel so the resort owners get the balcony rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay off the I95 if possible, very busy and congested. Better off on the city streets. This area has a lot of traffic when you get on the interstate system. If traveling long distance take the turnpike instead of the Interstate system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mombo1
Business
Norristown, PA
Feb 19, 2013

Location is good

The hotel was ok. The location is good and fortunately a short walk to other food options. The prices at the hotel for the breakfast brunch was very expensive. The room staff was just ok - we never got clean towels one night and had to use hand towels for our showers. The room key system is lousy and had to get the key re-swiped several times. Carpet in lobby was filthy which made no sense when they were constantly taking people through for a timeshare sales tour. The location is what would make me go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Einsteins Bagels is within walking distance as well as a couple of other food options

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Skiking
Business
Michigan
Feb 19, 2013

below average for what the price was

Room was very dirty. Carpet had dirt and depress on it from the other quests. Some of the staff was excellent and some were rather put off if they had to do anything for their job. One pool/towl guy was extremely lazy. The room we had needs to be updated desperately. Walls are paper thin and lots of teenagers there creating lots of noise during the night. I will go elsewhere next time. These folks want to charge you for everything. Restaurant was over priced for the quality of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Taramia
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 18, 2013

Do Not pick this Hotel. You can do much better for the price.

We just came back on 2/16/13 and we stayed 6 nights in an upgraded executive suite. The total cost was about $1,900.00. When you arrive the lobby is decent but once you are off the elevator it is nothing more than a low class hotel. Old carpet, furnishings and bad lighting. Our air conditioner leaked water on the floor. The bed pillows were super hard and the bathroom had a strange shower that my husband had to help me figure out how to get hot water out of each day. We never had wash cloths. When we called up for some it took over an hour and they brought one and said there aren’t any more and this happened more than once. Most days I just went without. We did reuse towels to be environmentally friendly so we weren’t towel hogs either. They need to purchase more! They advertise this wonderful tub with jets. It was old and gross. I am sure if you soaked in it you would catch something. False advertising. Compared to all other vacation hotels this was the worst. My house is a million times nicer. I expect to have a nice place to stay when on vacation and for the price I thought it would be pretty good but it wasn’t at all. One day we decided to take a short nap and it sounded like they were re doing the bathroom on another floor. Super noisy and annoying so that didn’t work out either. I would not recommend this hotel. You can do way better. Do not waste your money. Also, the breakfast buffet was a nightmare. Too much to write. Just don’t go there!! It actually made me not like Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top