$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
906 out of 906
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric0531
Business
Iowa City
Dec 30, 2013

Short Getaway

Generally a nice place. The valet parking and attendants was very convenient, and quick and pleasant service. Has a good small store for quick food and drink needs. The suite was nice but the shower was on the old side and its faucet didn't output an even spread. The check-in experience was a bit irritating when I had card problems and I think the staff did not provide a high end interaction but then this is a 3 star hotel. Anyways, nice place and would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan7
Business
CA
Dec 28, 2013

Nice Stay

Room was comfortable, staff was responsive, albeit guest volume and the age of the decor showed somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation J
Business
Canada
Dec 26, 2013

Good value

The hotel is getting older and it shows in the rooms and the lobbies. The breakfast buffet needs a pick me up. But still good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom with 3 children
Business
San Diego California
Dec 19, 2013

Be careful of hidden fees

All the time we found hidden fees, staff was not friendly we had a very rude response at the pool, the restaurant and the lobby. Spa was excelent and the staff at the tiki bar were also friendly. The location is good for Miami. I would not return to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heather babynurse
Business
harmony,pa
Dec 12, 2013

good place..great location

this was our 2nd time staying here, the location is great right next to the beach, the only negative really is the parking and the check in, both times i stayed check in is really long and check out is almost as long, Place is really nice, staff is really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the porterhouse accross the street and down 1 block always has drink specials until 9pm... 2 for 1 and 3 for 1. food is excellent!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YANKEEE
Business
HATFIELD PA
Dec 9, 2013

dont listen to the nay sayers

goooogle map it, its the only hotel/resort that has more than a dozen palm trees on the beach, cabana huts , new chairs, and a pier that belongs to the resort just check out the location. its just far enough away that you cant see Haulover beach (clothing optional), close enough to walk to if you wanted to. make sure that you include breakfast in your deal. otherwise its 14.95 each and orange juice is extra. the kitchen 305 has amazing food, the all you can eat seafood specials are not buffet style but sit down with an extremely attentive wait staff, the manager as i was watching him operate makes not only us, but the staff feel welcomed and glad to be there enjoying the 305 experience. happy staff, happy atmosphere. = relaxation. my 2 ladies and i are of different races and the only people that cared were the old couple sitting next to us, when they said " i just didnt see that" when they both gave me a kiss before exiting. The staff in this resort all made us feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 small strip malls across the street that have a variety of essentials, plus the extras for your stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feblolli
Business
montreal, quebec
Dec 8, 2013

OK stay… but had much better! But beachside and pet-friendly.

So we book this hotel online because we saw nice pictures of the lobby and it is a BEACHside hotel, something we were looking for. First, we did not know there was a 18$ resort fee per day. When we booked on this website, it did not mention it. Good thing is that it is a pet-friendly hotel, for 50$ extra fee per stay. The lobby was very nice indeed, but smelled food from the restaurants around… Our room (Traditional Suite) was really spacious and nice. But there was water leaking from the bathroom… the sound was just annoying at night. So we had a living room with fridge and microwave and tv, plus a bedroom with tv and a bathroom. The bathroom was the worst part of the suite… it was so tiny and the water did not come out strong. In general, the hotel was a bit "old" and needed renovation. For example, the elevators need to be updated. They were making some weird noises and were a bit slow. Maybe it was because it was the Black Friday week-end, but there was solo many people, we always have to wait an eternity before there was an elevator available… that was a bit annoying too. Sometimes, we had to take the stairs, but we were at the 7th floor, so that was quite some exercise (which is not bad per say). The worst element of this hotel, I think it is the service. I've never had that bad of a room service. The lady always forgets to pick up the old towels, or to change the waste bins… we had to call every time to complain. Also, we had in-room movies we could watch with a fee. But then, the system did not work because it says our room is not checked-in… we call a few times to the front desk before someone could fix the problem… Ok enough of the negative stuff! We did like the fact it has a private beach. Our dog was allowed. The water was beautiful. The sand a bit rough though. There is a gas station nearby, CVS, restaurants, etc, very convenient. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. The giftshop lady with her dog was really nice! There is a coffeeshop in the hotel with Starbucks coffee. They have "resort" activities but it was mainly for family and kids so we did not really participate. They had a nice Xmas tree in the lobby for the holidays. They have a SPA and gym, but we did not have the time to try. The bed was really nice, but their pillows could be fluffier.There is self-parking available for 15$ per day or valet. We preferred the self-parking because we did not have to wait for the valet. And we've heard that a week before our stay, there was a flood in the parking lot and that there was a lot of damaged cars! So we kind of felt lucky not to live that experience. At the end, it was an OK stay, but we will not really be back at this hotel unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a dog park nearby at Haulover. Also, on saturday and sunday from 8 to 3, pole 3, at the Haulover Beach, the dogs are allowed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann from Indy
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 27, 2013

nice for simple leisure

overall was good. my room was a little out dated, and my frig was hard to get to, but pretty comfortable. fitness facility needs new equipment. you only have the sun at the pool in the morning, other tall buildings block it. I would recommend to someone if they want something simple, but i will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are two strip malls across from the hotel that made it nice for shopping and dining out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Harleyluja
Business
Braintree, MA
Nov 22, 2013

Just the average place

just completed my trip. The entrance hall looks ok, service personal is friendly. the room was nice and good, but the mattress way too soft, the outside amenities look aged. Overall ok but nothing special to return to either. My wife got stuck with the elevator - used the emergency button but nobody answered the call for more than 10 min. a guy also on the elevator then plied the door open and they all left. also, that they charge $18 resort fee on top of the regular price is just a hidden price inflation. lots of shade at the pool in the afternoon. Hence the rating. Pick something else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rice Asian House - Sushi and more. Its really really good. Went there 3 times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joeyskee
Business
Miami
Nov 20, 2013

I'd go again

Place was beautiful lots of things to do very nice rooms with flat screens and beach views beautiful pool deff a great place for the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Einsteins bagels literally right across the st almost 13 bagels and two tubs of cream cheese only 13.99

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top