$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
View map of 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
756 out of 756
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luismachinery
Business
Puerto Rico
Feb 23, 2014

Average hotel

Need room renovation rush rush ........when you enter the room look from the 80s

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ustaman Sangat
Business
NY
Feb 12, 2014

On a budget? Good location if you know what to expect.

Good parts: Private Beach Good location - Epicure is a nice place for food, there is a CVS and an Enterprise Car Rental nearby. Rooms with the view of the ocean Bad parts: They have a pricey restaurant that had a good live music band but the food was below average. The breakfast buffet sucks. Although for 13 bucks I guess it is alright. Elevators are small and slow Couch in the room is disgustingly old. You will see a bunch of salespeople trying to give you a 90 minute presentation to become a member of a vacation club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you drive down Collins Ave for about 20 minutes, you will be in South Beach.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greaves
Business
Miami
Jan 30, 2014

Newport

Little to no hot water! Air conditioner sounded like a pressure washer right outside the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leave me be
Business
wi
Jan 28, 2014

Fine depending on what you want...

Check In service was extremely slow. Unless you wanna get roped into a long drawn out discussion about the property, tour, etc...stay away from the concierge!!! They will even call your room, if you don't go in person. If you are up for it, go for it, but this is fair warning. The room was just fine, was quiet even though it was next to the elevators! The restaurant waitstaff at all locations on the property were rude, inattentive and condescending for the most part...probably cuz it was one adult and two kids. Our trip was strictly for beach and pool time to get away from the snow and cold and we got what we wanted with no extra frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

D'Tako, just north on Collins on the opposite side of the street...ask for Lucio, he is awesome and food was tremendous!!! Mariachi on Friday nights from 8-9...very nice!

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CRISpilinda
Business
BUENOS AIRES ARGENTINA
Jan 26, 2014

A JOURNEY BY SUBWAY

. there were only 2 elevators for lots of people .the gym treadmill should be repaired , the breakfast was not included . But my son had to afford breakfast at a cafe since there was no juice , fruit ,cold meat . Michele the manageress ill treated me , the cuban manager told they were going to work on that .He was nice t

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

SOUTH POINT RESTAURANTS

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RainK
Business
Minnesota
Jan 24, 2014

Nice vacation with friends

The ocean view was create (although it was only partial). The room was nice, king bed was great. Gym was a little small, but ok, machines (treadmills) in the gym needs some fixing. Lobster Wednesday was fantastic!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lobster Wednesday

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rhodalee29
Business
Miami Beach Florida
Jan 22, 2014

Extremely POOR customer service

the location was exactly what we hoped for; you go out the back door of the lobby into the pool deck area with side by side kid and full size pools, there is a bar that also serves food to the right of the pools, and a few steps down you are on the beach, there were plenty of lounge chairs on the pool deck and the beach, it was perfect! BUT...we didn't have a perfect experience because of the following: 1) check in-we arrived at the hotel an hour early, the room wasn't ready-in fact it was an hour after check in time before it was ready; 2) customer service-the worst we have ever experienced; they ignored and at times were rude to customers at the front desk, calls to the front desk weren't answered before it rang at least 15 times, and when they finally did answer they interrupted you mid sentence and said "please hold" and put you on hold for several minutes. 3) house keeping-there were no towels or bed linens or pillows for the pull out bed (there were 4 of us staying in the room) 4) comfort-the springs in the pull out couch mattress jabbed through making a very restless first night; house keeping brought a roll away bed, but only after spending an hour and half with them and the front desk to convince them to bring it and not charge an additional $15 a night 5) room condition-the room was in need of a total overhaul; the rug was excessively stained, windows were cloudy (not dirty), the bathroom floor was damaged, and much of the trim and woodwork also gross or damaged in many areas, the hot water barely got above room temperature and it ran out/or got weak pressure, the shower faucet leaked 6) food-the breakfast buffet was powdery scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, french toast, hash brown potatoes and danish, it was all cold and it really tasted bad, the only beverage they offered for our 9 year old was coffee, water, or the cereal milk-NO JUICE?! 7) elevators-slow and over crowded 8) customer service-worth stating once more that the customer service was POOR, another example is while waiting for our room to be ready to check in, we had to wait in line several times to get updated, and once when we got up to the desk I started to ask if our room was ready yet, the man ignored me and started talking to a woman behind me that was taking pictures for a travel company, after a few minutes talking with her he just turned around and walked away as if we weren't standing there...another person behind the desk saw this and attempted to apologize, but his rudeness struck her as funny and she couldn't stop giggling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alpharetta
Business
georgia
Jan 19, 2014

Alpharetta

I absolutely enjoyed my stay, weather was chilly but the atmosphere was warm and friendly. Was not impressed with the kitchen service, on lobster night had to wait over an hour for the rack of lamb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janie252
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2014

Full of inconveniences!

This hotel has a good price for the location, but it comes with list of negatives: 1. There are 3 tiny elevators that are always overfilled and you need to wait for some time to get on and then stop on every floor. 2. Some rooms are ok, others are disgusting, with rusty bathrooms with horrible drainage in sink and shower, scratched and broken outdated furniture, musty smell especially in the closet, stains on the carpets, and dust on the night stands. After getting one of these rooms, we asked for a room switch which we got right away and it was definitely a great improvement. However, still don't understand how they can even offer rooms like that to people. 3. Valet parking costs $20 and takes a long time to pick up the car. We waited for 30 minutes on the first day and decided to use the lot for $15 across the street. 4. There is an $18 daily resort fee plus $2 tax on that resort fee which you are not told about when you book or at check in. They sneak in the charge and it seems like many guests were surprised at this fees at checkout. Be sure to review your bill for other incorrect charges. We were charged for extra days of valet parking, 8 days of resort fees when we only stayed for 7. These wrong charges were removed but you need to point them out to them. Positives: 1. Price. All other hotels in this area will charge much more. 2. Location. You are right on the beach and there are many stores, restaurants, car rentals, etc walking distance. 3. Offer 1 and 2 bedroom accommodations for a good price which is convenient. So if you just want to spend some time at the beach and don't want to spend much, you can do it here just know what frustrations you can expect. After our experience, we will visit another hotel next time even if we need to pay a bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sher loves the beach
Business
Niles, Ohio
Jan 5, 2014

Holiday Get Away

We really enjoyed our stay at Newport Beachside Resort. The room was very spacious and ocean front view was amazing. The ocean water is beautiful, the pool was very warm (we were there in January). The best thing we enjoyed was the all you can eat lobster dinner!!! What a great value!!! We will defiantly return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top