$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

National Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
38 reviews
awesome place to stay

Very nice place awesome pool's very nice landscape short walk to the beach very clean good location... See full review

  • Debra R.
  • Jun 26, 2015
happy trip

we have a wonderful time, and it isclose to the southbeach. we really have awonderful trip there.... See full review

  • Dan Y.
  • Jun 20, 2015
Set steps away from Lincoln Road amidst the Art Deco District of Miami Beach, the National Hotel brings classic elegance to the discerning traveler. This unique beachfront resort sits a quick stroll away from the best restaurants, galleries, boutiques and nightclubs on South Beach.

Fully restored in 2014 to showcase its original Art Deco details, the National features 116 redesigned guestrooms in the historic tower and 36 plush cabanas along the city's longest infinity edge pool. The National provides world-class meeting and event spaces within a secluded South Beach hideaway. The National also frequently accommodates film and event production needs. Our award-winning concierge will cater to your every need and desire.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed National Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

National Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room
Standard room with Ocean View located in the hotel's historic tower with one king bed. Room Features: European Cotton Linens, down comforters, feather pillows, Damana Spa Toiletries and minibar.
City View Room
City View room located in the hotel's historic tower with one king bed. Room Features: European Cotton Linens, down comforters, feather pillows, Damana Spa Toiletries and minibar.
Cabana Room
Featuring 1 king or queen sized bed, located in the Cabana Wing, with a private terrace overlooking our signature one-of-a-kind 205-foot long Infinity Pool and surrounding tropical gardens. Amenities include: European Cotton Linens, down comforters and feather pillow, Damana Spa Toiletries. Sleeps max 2 adults. Also featuring Wireless Internet, Safe, Pillow top Mattress, Minibar, CD Player.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Tamara Restaurant
The National Hotel's signature restaurant Tamara features a tantalizing menu of Mediterranean cuisine. The restaurant is named after Tamara de Lempicka, whose famous artwork appears throughout the hotel. Guests are invited to dine indoors under the famous ceiling mosaic or outside on the hotels expansive poolside terrace. Menu: Mediterranean Cuisine Atmosphere: Intimate Hours: 6:30 a.m. to 11 p.m., serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Aqua Bar & Grill
Escape the South Beach craze at The National Hotel's exclusive poolside bar and grill. Aqua Bar and Grill is the perfect location for those seeking relaxation and originality. Meet friends for a casual-chic evening of beachside eating and drinking. With creative food concepts, exotic drinks, and relaxing music, this ultra-chill South Beach bar has everything you're looking for. Menu: A unique "Dipping Grill" menu Atmosphere: Casually fashionable Hours: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m
Blues Bar
Chill out at Blues Bar, The National Hotel's vintage bar and lounge, where guests can experience the glamour and style of the Art Deco era mixed with a modern, intimate vibe. The ambiance of this Miami lounge is a twist on the hotel's past and present, reminiscent of a bygone era with lounge and cabaret-style music, but kicked up for modern hipsters. Menu: Fine champagnes, cocktails, whiskey and brandies Atmosphere: Timeless chic Hours: 4:00pm to 1:00am

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The National Hotel is the choice venue for small and medium sized groups looking for distinctive surroundings and outstanding service, right in the middle of South Beach. The historic Oval Room, with its vintage 1939 chrome chandelier, provides an elegant setting for executive meetings up to 70 persons or banquet events up to 100 persons. The Martini Room, an intimate club room with its own private bar, is suitable for meetings up to 30 persons. Also available is a handsomely furnished boardroom. The Blues Bar retro-chic ambiance provides a glamorous atmosphere for cocktail receptions and is the perfect place to unwind at the end of the day. The National Hotel can organize a number of special activities including theme parties, outdoor events in the tropical gardens, around the dramatic Infinity pool, beach barbecues, sunset sails on Biscayne Bay, or VIP entrance to local South Beach or Miami clubs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for National Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
krisztinastar
Business
SEATTLE
Jan 9, 2015

Horrible service and no free coffee!

No free coffee! Staff was horrible rude and the front desk phone never answered, I will never stay here again! We moved next door to the Marseilles hotel which was much better value, about equal quality, and had free coffee and 1$ cocktails from7-8pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Chooses ababa room to get a balcony.

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alisha P.
Business
Fort Myers
Mar 24, 2015

Believe the Reviews!

My wife and I just finished a stay at The National Hotel, Miami Beach. We read reviews about bad service but, overlooked them because we're pretty well traveled, hadn't been to South Beach in years so we weren't sure where to stay, and the location seemed terrific. The location was great, our Cabana Room - 2nd Floor - was a little small but, very nice, and the hotel was clean and well kept so it's a shame how lacking in service they are. When we arrived we were told we could not use the pool or access the beach from the National but, instead had to go a couple of blocks down to another hotel - the reason? The pool area and most of the grounds were reserved for a DJ dance/pool party for local kids to attend. The music was louder than inside a dance club and there were bouncers at each exit/entrance, treating the guests of the hotel no different than the 20 year old partiers. Every time we left the hotel and attempted to return we were treated like we were trying to sneak into the ridiculous party. I am in my early 40s and my wife is mid 30s and when paying the kind of rate we paid, didn't expect to have to wear a club type wrist band to move about the property, have techno music blaring from noon til midnight, and have the entire cast of Jersey Shore (or local lookalike, wannabe Jersey Shore) plus several hundred of their friends lounging about. We asked a bartender for a couple of plastic cups for our room since it didn't have any, and we were told "I can't just give these out", a bouncer nearly accosted me when trying to return to the hotel from the beach at 3 in the afternoon, and another told me I couldn't leave the hotel for the beach boardwalk with a plastic cup of ice water in my hand. We felt like we were in the twilight zone! Last night there the A/C went out in the entire building - no one seemed to care except the guests. It wasn't the end of the world but, the room reached 84 degrees by the time we checked out. Biggest problem is the lack of service or caring from any staff/management. The place is incredible (history, beach, infinity pool), the location is excellent but, the staff just seems so out of it. The hotel would be very well served by putting in place a professional hospitality management company to run it. The bar and restaurant seemed empty, the pool bar wasn't usable by us thanks to the MTV Spring Break Dance Off or whatever it was, and the staff was oblivious! Some staff were great, the room service personell that brought ice (no ice available for self serve) were very quick, the place seemed clean overall so housekeeping is doing something right, and the bellmen were pretty decent although, when we first pulled in for check in, were told by the front drive attendant - he wasn't sure where any bellman were and then he went off about his business without getting one or helping with our luggage. With all the choices close by - SKIP THIS ONE - and stay at one of the many others nearby. If you still decide to book here - call ahead and make sure no events are planned and good luck...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jules22w
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Aug 11, 2014

Slightly Disappointed

I am a South FL local, frequently having "staycations" in Miami Beach. Upon arrival - valet wasn't helpful with baggage until we requested assistance. They were unable to provide the Ocean View room that was reserved. Room was clean, but very average as far as decor and luxury goes. Upon check out we were charged for an umbrella rental on the beach (which we did not request or use). They took it off, but it took a while to sort as they needed "proof" we didn't use it. Luckily we were planning a lay out session at pool so the time it took to get sorted didn't delay anything. Beautiful beach and pool. You CAN'T BEAT the LOCATION- everything you want in surrounding area! If a luxurious room and service isn't high on your priority on your list, it's a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katkh
Business
New Jersey
Oct 7, 2014

Just an average hotel

This hotel is just an average hotel. The staff were not the friendliest. However, the pool/bar staff were great! The rooms are a bit small and I suggest they put a coffee machine either in the rooms or someplace in the lobby for the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SARY B.
Business
grand rapids
Dec 22, 2014

Family trip

The rooms were little small, but it's in very nice location. It's near by "Lincoln Mall Rd".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joanna L.
Business
Kissimmee
Apr 17, 2015

Great location but room was small for a family

Can not fault the location being beach front and close to all the South Beach sights without being too noisy! However, I probably would try another hotel for a future visit, as the room was ok, but very small. We had a City View double bedded room - not noisy at all but very little space and the bathroom was TINY! The actual hotel is very pleasant with Art Deco vibes, and the pool is pretty cool. However, housekeeping was not punctual, the toiletries and towels were not great, and the pool did not look very clean. Having said that, we enjoyed a fab beach day (only 2 loungers permitted per room) - lovely stretch of the beach and it was not crowded at all. We really wanted a hotel with beachfront access and The National does have this which is it's trump card I guess! We chose not to eat at the hotel, but took a 3 min walk to a local coffee shop for great breakfast and lunch take-out. Plenty of restaurants/eateries within a 5/10 min walk. All in all, a fab location but would recommend ONLY for perhaps a short stay or if you get a good deal. It suited us very well, as we specifically wanted to be on the beach and it was much cheaper than the adjacent hotels (Ritz Carlton, Sagamore)! We struggled to find a beachfront hotel within the same price range, so overall, it did the job for our short visit to Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alice O.
Business
N/A
Apr 23, 2015

Girls getaway

Arrived on Saturday night & staff were very friendly & pleasant. Wasn't satisfied with our room & they accompanied us to a another room without hesitation. Wi-Fi was horrible. & drinks were pricey. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaitlyn L
Business
FOUNTAIN VALLEY
Jun 12, 2015

Good location, bad service.

Location is perfect with walking distance to mall, deco art street, water front beach. The hotel lobby design and pool are nice. But be awared that they only give you free beach chair and umbrella is $19 extra charge. Everything is small including elevator (fits 4 people snuggly ), bathroom (I hit my head to the shower glass door accidentally when I try picking up a toothpaste on the floor). Room has weird smell, carpet is damp they send someone over to check but say nothing and leave. We are frustrated but it's late so we just accepted because we need rest. On check out day, we called bellman and wait 30 minutes, did tell them we have a flight to catch but...we end up carried our luggages in 2 trips to the lobby. Waiting another 20 minutes for vallet service even though we called 30 minutes in advantage. We paid premium $40 per day for vallet parking service so we can have better service (Cheaper elsewhere). We stayed in 5 hotels during this trip and this is the worst experience we have so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ThdRN
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 1, 2014

Perfect spot

Perfect spot on high end section of south beach. Beautiful pool nice staff room was a bit small but a great value'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekender15
Business
NY,NY
Jul 21, 2014

weekend getaway

I really enjoyed my stay. The room seemed a little cramped up (king bed, city view) but overall it was good. It was clean and had everything I needed. We arrived earlier than check in, and they accommodated us ASAP. One thing I will say is that their concierge desk could answer the phone once in awhile. I walked into the hotel and saw someone working the desk but had a question once I got to my room. I tried to call the desk a couple of times but no one answered. I decided to go down and the same guy was still there so I'm under the impression he ignored the call- or there could have been something wrong with the phone connection. Pool area was beautiful, and the beach very accessible. Staff was very friendly. Food was good. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top