$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

National Hotel

4 stars
1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
10 reviews
Wonderful Restored Historic Hotel

My family has visited THE NATIONALHOTEL since it opened in 1939 and we all adore the place / and... See full review

  • Musician Charlie
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great hotel

Hotel was excellent, location was perfect, and price was a great value. Definitely would stay here... See full review

  • Michelle Nicole
  • Jul 21, 2014
Set in the heart of the Art Deco Historical District, the National Hotel brings back classical resort elegance to Miami Beach. This unique South Beach Hotel is located on the ocean with direct beach access, and only a quick stroll from the best restaurants, galleries, boutiques and nightclubs on South Beach, minutes from Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive, and just two blocks from the Miami Beach Convention Center.

Authentically restored to showcase its fine Deco features, the National provides world-class meeting, conference and event facilities within a seemingly secluded hideaway. The hotel also features a full-time production department to coordinate fashion shoots, music videos, television and film productions. Our award-winning concierge will cater to your every need and desire.

Valet Parking is available for $40.00 per 24-hour period. Please note that there is a $19 mandatory hotel fee per room, per night, which includes full use at no additional charge of the following services and amenities: complimentary wireless internet via your personal laptop computer, all use of the lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach, FREE local calls and daily (including Sunday) delivery of the New York Times and/or The Miami Herald. This charge is not included in your room rate and is payable directly to the hotel. *** THIS FEE IS NOT INCLUDED IN YOUR PREPAID BOOKING - IT IS PAYABLE DIRECTLY TO PROPERTY **

Hotel Map

25.7919 -80.1288
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Art Deco District, Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive
Nearby airports
Miami International (MIA) Fort Lauderdale International (FLL)
Area description
Walking distance to Ocean Drive, trendy Lincoln Road Mall, the Jackie Gleason Theatre and the Miami Beach Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed National Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

National Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room
Standard room with Ocean View located in the hotel's historic tower with one king bed. Room Features: European Cotton Linens, down comforters, feather pillows, Damana Spa Toiletries and minibar.
City View Room
City View room located in the hotel's historic tower with one king bed. Room Features: European Cotton Linens, down comforters, feather pillows, Damana Spa Toiletries and minibar.
Cabana Room
Featuring 1 king or queen sized bed, located in the Cabana Wing, with a private terrace overlooking our signature one-of-a-kind 205-foot long Infinity Pool and surrounding tropical gardens. Amenities include: European Cotton Linens, down comforters and feather pillow, Damana Spa Toiletries. Sleeps max 2 adults. Also featuring Wireless Internet, Safe, Pillow top Mattress, Minibar, CD Player.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The National Hotel is the choice venue for small and medium sized groups looking for distinctive surroundings and outstanding service, right in the middle of South Beach. The historic Oval Room, with its vintage 1939 chrome chandelier, provides an elegant setting for executive meetings up to 70 persons or banquet events up to 100 persons. The Martini Room, an intimate club room with its own private bar, is suitable for meetings up to 30 persons. Also available is a handsomely furnished boardroom. The D'Lounge's retro-chic ambience provides a glamorous atmosphere for cocktail receptions and is the perfect place to unwind at the end of the day. The National Hotel can organize a number of special activities including theme parties, outdoor events in the tropical gardens, around the dramatic Infinity pool, beach barbecues, sunset sails on Biscayne Bay, or VIP entrance to local South Beach or Miami clubs.

Dining

Tamara Restaurant
The National Hotel's signature restaurant Tamara features a tantalizing menu of Mediterranean cuisine. The restaurant is named after Tamara de Lempicka, whose famous artwork appears throughout the hotel. Guests are invited to dine indoors under the famous ceiling mosaic or outside on the hotels expansive poolside terrace. Menu: Mediterranean Cuisine Atmosphere: Intimate Hours: 6:30 a.m. to 11 p.m., serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Aqua Bar & Grill
Escape the South Beach craze at The National Hotel's exclusive poolside bar and grill. Aqua Bar and Grill is the perfect location for those seeking relaxation and originality. Meet friends for a casual-chic evening of beachside eating and drinking. With creative food concepts, exotic drinks, and relaxing music, this ultra-chill South Beach bar has everything you're looking for. Menu: A unique "Dipping Grill" menu Atmosphere: Casually fashionable Hours: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m
D'Lounge
Chill out at D'Lounge, The National Hotel's vintage bar and lounge, where guests can experience the glamour and style of the Art Deco era mixed with a modern, intimate vibe. The ambiance of this Miami lounge is a twist on the hotel's past and present, reminiscent of a bygone era with lounge and cabaret-style music, but kicked up for modern hipsters. Menu: Fine champagnes, cocktails, whiskies and brandies Atmosphere: Timeless chic Hours: 4:00pm to 1:00am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for National Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiki C.
New Jersey
Mar 4, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This was my second time at The National Hotel. Beautiful renovated rooms, great ocean view, amazing pool and very attentive staff. Location is great....walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and dining on Lincoln.

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike the brit
Boca raton , florida
Aug 18, 2014

perfect romantic weekend getaway

this recently refurbished hotel fills all the boxes for style, location on the beach and just a few steps to Lincoln road where all the action is. Pool area is magical and food was both good and well priced. staff very courteous. Highly reccomend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

be casual in summer, very hot.

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KoChi
Bryan, Texas
Aug 15, 2014

Perfect relaxing atmosphere

My bf and I stayed at this hotel this August for the weekend and we enjoyed this hotel a lot! The room has very nice decor and the brown furnitures looked very luxurious. They also have amazing infinity pool outside, it was awesome. The pool is not a regular family pool, more for adults who wants to relax. Beach is only a step away. Only thing I didn't give 5 stars is because our room was located outside of the hallway, but overall we enjoyed. Thanks, and we'll come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jules22w
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Aug 11, 2014

Slightly Disappointed

I am a South FL local, frequently having "staycations" in Miami Beach. Upon arrival - valet wasn't helpful with baggage until we requested assistance. They were unable to provide the Ocean View room that was reserved. Room was clean, but very average as far as decor and luxury goes. Upon check out we were charged for an umbrella rental on the beach (which we did not request or use). They took it off, but it took a while to sort as they needed "proof" we didn't use it. Luckily we were planning a lay out session at pool so the time it took to get sorted didn't delay anything. Beautiful beach and pool. You CAN'T BEAT the LOCATION- everything you want in surrounding area! If a luxurious room and service isn't high on your priority on your list, it's a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sal milan
milan
Aug 11, 2014

it matched the expectation

friendly staff. clean. can't complain. good value. it matched all expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

historic building

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Musician Charlie
New York Ciy
Jul 30, 2014

Wonderful Restored Historic Hotel

My family has visited THE NATIONALHOTEL since it opened in 1939 and we all adore the place / and they just did an extensive restoration / and she is better than ever / and the location is the best / Give her a try / and you will not regret it / from the gorgeous art deco lobby / to the 225 foot amazing pool / gorgeous rooms and amazing food and beverage places / ocean front and right near the famous Lincoln Rd mall shops and Ocean Drive / A+++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle Nicole
Newport Beach
Jul 21, 2014

Great hotel

Hotel was excellent, location was perfect, and price was a great value. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekender15
NY,NY
Jul 21, 2014

weekend getaway

I really enjoyed my stay. The room seemed a little cramped up (king bed, city view) but overall it was good. It was clean and had everything I needed. We arrived earlier than check in, and they accommodated us ASAP. One thing I will say is that their concierge desk could answer the phone once in awhile. I walked into the hotel and saw someone working the desk but had a question once I got to my room. I tried to call the desk a couple of times but no one answered. I decided to go down and the same guy was still there so I'm under the impression he ignored the call- or there could have been something wrong with the phone connection. Pool area was beautiful, and the beach very accessible. Staff was very friendly. Food was good. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ThdRN
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 1, 2014

Perfect spot

Perfect spot on high end section of south beach. Beautiful pool nice staff room was a bit small but a great value'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovetravelling
Miami, FL
Jun 2, 2014

Beautiful place and very friendly staff

We had a wonderful stay at The National. The hotel is very pretty and the staff is friendly and very attentive. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndrewC
Business
NYC
May 22, 2014

Very Nice stay but staff are hard to reach

I had a very nice stay here, room service meals were actually very good. My only complaint is that it took numerous upon numerous amounts of tries to reach the apropriate staff, whether it was valet or room service. It seems like the front desk employees have to relay alot of messages to get the staff up to par as far as answering their phones. Or maybe the place is understaffed ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search