$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

National Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
35 reviews
Birthday weekend Fun

The National Hotel is an elegant place to stay. Not your typical hip, young crowd, blasting club... See full review

  • llioi
  • Aug 19, 2015
National Hotel

Great hotel and location could not be better. Walking distance to all the best spots on South Beach. See full review

  • Marc W.
  • Aug 2, 2015
Set steps away from Lincoln Road amidst the Art Deco District of Miami Beach, the National Hotel brings classic elegance to the discerning traveler. This unique beachfront resort sits a quick stroll away from the best restaurants, galleries, boutiques and nightclubs on South Beach.

Fully restored in 2014 to showcase its original Art Deco details, the National features 116 redesigned guestrooms in the historic tower and 36 plush cabanas along the city's longest infinity edge pool. The National provides world-class meeting and event spaces within a secluded South Beach hideaway. The National also frequently accommodates film and event production needs. Our award-winning concierge will cater to your every need and desire.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed National Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$78
3.3 / 5 611 reviews
★★★★★
$161
4.0 / 5 176 reviews
★★★★★
$111
4.2 / 5 53 reviews
★★★★★
$139
4.0 / 5 257 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★★★
$182
4.3 / 5 32 reviews
★★★★★
$249
4.3 / 5 99 reviews
★★★★
$119
3.5 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews

National Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room
Standard room with Ocean View located in the hotel's historic tower with one king bed. Room Features: European Cotton Linens, down comforters, feather pillows, Damana Spa Toiletries and minibar.
City View Room
City View room located in the hotel's historic tower with one king bed. Room Features: European Cotton Linens, down comforters, feather pillows, Damana Spa Toiletries and minibar.
Cabana Room
Featuring 1 king or queen sized bed, located in the Cabana Wing, with a private terrace overlooking our signature one-of-a-kind 205-foot long Infinity Pool and surrounding tropical gardens. Amenities include: European Cotton Linens, down comforters and feather pillow, Damana Spa Toiletries. Sleeps max 2 adults. Also featuring Wireless Internet, Safe, Pillow top Mattress, Minibar, CD Player.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Tamara Restaurant
The National Hotel's signature restaurant Tamara features a tantalizing menu of Mediterranean cuisine. The restaurant is named after Tamara de Lempicka, whose famous artwork appears throughout the hotel. Guests are invited to dine indoors under the famous ceiling mosaic or outside on the hotels expansive poolside terrace. Menu: Mediterranean Cuisine Atmosphere: Intimate Hours: 6:30 a.m. to 11 p.m., serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Aqua Bar & Grill
Escape the South Beach craze at The National Hotel's exclusive poolside bar and grill. Aqua Bar and Grill is the perfect location for those seeking relaxation and originality. Meet friends for a casual-chic evening of beachside eating and drinking. With creative food concepts, exotic drinks, and relaxing music, this ultra-chill South Beach bar has everything you're looking for. Menu: A unique "Dipping Grill" menu Atmosphere: Casually fashionable Hours: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m
Blues Bar
Chill out at Blues Bar, The National Hotel's vintage bar and lounge, where guests can experience the glamour and style of the Art Deco era mixed with a modern, intimate vibe. The ambiance of this Miami lounge is a twist on the hotel's past and present, reminiscent of a bygone era with lounge and cabaret-style music, but kicked up for modern hipsters. Menu: Fine champagnes, cocktails, whiskey and brandies Atmosphere: Timeless chic Hours: 4:00pm to 1:00am

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The National Hotel is the choice venue for small and medium sized groups looking for distinctive surroundings and outstanding service, right in the middle of South Beach. The historic Oval Room, with its vintage 1939 chrome chandelier, provides an elegant setting for executive meetings up to 70 persons or banquet events up to 100 persons. The Martini Room, an intimate club room with its own private bar, is suitable for meetings up to 30 persons. Also available is a handsomely furnished boardroom. The Blues Bar retro-chic ambiance provides a glamorous atmosphere for cocktail receptions and is the perfect place to unwind at the end of the day. The National Hotel can organize a number of special activities including theme parties, outdoor events in the tropical gardens, around the dramatic Infinity pool, beach barbecues, sunset sails on Biscayne Bay, or VIP entrance to local South Beach or Miami clubs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for National Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stu7986
Couples
London, UK
Aug 10, 2012

Great location and cool hotel

Really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in the heart of South Beach. Food good and was good value for money. Staff very helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
llioi
Couples
N/A
Aug 19, 2015

Birthday weekend Fun

The National Hotel is an elegant place to stay. Not your typical hip, young crowd, blasting club music and drinking binges. Saw many families with children as well as relaxed couples enjoying time together. Access to the beach is always great as well as two pools to choose from. Staff was excellent and when ordered few wine glasses or extra towels, they arrived within minutes. Some stains on the linen and bathtub had scratches, but overall experience was worth the trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marc W.
Business
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

National Hotel

Great hotel and location could not be better. Walking distance to all the best spots on South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monique C.
Friends
London
Jul 21, 2015

Friend Holiday

The hotel staff were always very helpful. Cleaners kept removing towels from the room and not replacing. Lovely hotel, wonderful view, very close to the beach, although it is a bit far from the center of the South Beach area, it is still very accessible, and ideal for a relaxing break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alexe L.
Couples
Arlington
Jul 7, 2015

Don't stay at National Hotel!

We were very disappointed at the end of our stay finding out about the resort fees that we paid without knowing what do they actually mean. We didn't receive any description about the additional hotel services, at the beginning of our stay, such us using swimming pools, towels, newspapers, etc. We felt that we were charged without benefiting of any of the services. We also found an authorization fee of 150$ charged on the credit card that we were not aware and we had to ask for explanations, that was stresfull raising concerns how much will we actually end up being charged. Dirty carpets in the room and on the hallways. There were no hanging no disturb fliers such that, every morning, the House Keeper was knocking loudly on all the doors at 8.00 am making noise extremely annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rasheeba C.
Friends
N/A
Jul 1, 2015

Girls getaway

Hotel was very nice and met all my expectations. Staff was very attentive and helpful. The hotel is located in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debra R.
Couples
N/A
Jun 26, 2015

awesome place to stay

Very nice place awesome pool's very nice landscape short walk to the beach very clean good location for walking to shop or eating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelAddict
Friends
Chicago
Jun 18, 2015

Florida Trip

Great amenities, short walk to beach. Unfortunately you have to rent your own beach chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luis G.
Couples
MIami
May 23, 2015

Nice Trip

3 night stay at the National and enjoyed a nice experience during my stay. The weakest part of the stay was probably the fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alice O.
Friends
N/A
Apr 23, 2015

Girls getaway

Arrived on Saturday night & staff were very friendly & pleasant. Wasn't satisfied with our room & they accompanied us to a another room without hesitation. Wi-Fi was horrible. & drinks were pricey. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of National Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joanna L.
Family
Kissimmee
Apr 17, 2015

Great location but room was small for a family

Can not fault the location being beach front and close to all the South Beach sights without being too noisy! However, I probably would try another hotel for a future visit, as the room was ok, but very small. We had a City View double bedded room - not noisy at all but very little space and the bathroom was TINY! The actual hotel is very pleasant with Art Deco vibes, and the pool is pretty cool. However, housekeeping was not punctual, the toiletries and towels were not great, and the pool did not look very clean. Having said that, we enjoyed a fab beach day (only 2 loungers permitted per room) - lovely stretch of the beach and it was not crowded at all. We really wanted a hotel with beachfront access and The National does have this which is it's trump card I guess! We chose not to eat at the hotel, but took a 3 min walk to a local coffee shop for great breakfast and lunch take-out. Plenty of restaurants/eateries within a 5/10 min walk. All in all, a fab location but would recommend ONLY for perhaps a short stay or if you get a good deal. It suited us very well, as we specifically wanted to be on the beach and it was much cheaper than the adjacent hotels (Ritz Carlton, Sagamore)! We struggled to find a beachfront hotel within the same price range, so overall, it did the job for our short visit to Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top