$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

3 stars
1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
75 reviews
Great experience.

The room was beautiful. The amenities were great! The only thing was that the pool was under... See full review

  • Pepe Mandinga
  • Jul 22, 2014
Nice Hotel and Service!

We were pleased with my stay at the Marseilles Hotel in Miami, FL. Our room was nice and clean... See full review

  • Denoxoxo
  • Apr 29, 2014
The Marseilles has almost all the peculiarities of Art Deco style, including vertical emphasis and a combination of flat and curved walls, use of glass block, neon cove and porthole ceiling lighting and cast iron railings. While you stay with us, discover the delightful deco ambience and you will see how the past has been preserved in its original beauty. The Marseilles Hotel is an original Art Deco style hotel with typical architecture and design features of the 1930's. View the most talked about beach in America and enjoy spectacular world-renowned night life including restaurants and clubs by Madonna, Gloria Estefan, Michael Caine and Sylvester Stallone.

***No pets in rooms***
Internet access in public areas free of charge, there is limited self parking available on a first come first serve basis. No valet parking is available.

Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel will have a $15 per day plus tax resort fee paid directly to the hotel upon checkin. The resort fee will include, Unlimited local calls, Free WiFi in all rooms and public areas, Free use of the computer center,and Free Happy Hour from 7pm to 8pm.

The Marseilles pool area is being redesigned to improve the guests experience. The pool and beach access will be unavailable during this time. Our guests will still be able to use the pool next door at South Seas Hotel, free beach towels will be provided. Pool is expected to reopen December 25 2014.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel Rooms

Guest room with Two DBL Beds or 1 queen size bed
All guest rooms are remodeled,have central air conditioning, shower, Flat screen TV with movie channels, coffeemakers and in room safe.
Oceanfront room with 2 DBL beds or 1 king size bed
All guest rooms are remodeled, central air conditioning, shower, Flat screen TV with movie channels, coffeemakers and in room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Gavroche on the Beach Restaurant
Serving full breakfast,lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.1

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rothko
Business
Savannah, GA
Dec 7, 2010

Okay

The staff was only somewhat helpful. Our TV was busted and took two requests to get it fixed. A/C unit is finicky and EXTREMELY loud. Both beds were squeaky and very hard/uncomfortable. Pricey parking and WiFi (25 & 12, respectively). The shower temperature is also difficult to control and the water pressure was just more than a trickle. Overall it was a poor hotel to stay at but given that we were only there for two nights the price was acceptable. The location was very good (only two blocks from the Convention Center) and 5 blocks from the Lincoln Rd. street mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I like Miami
Business
San Francisco
Nov 14, 2010

Solid Stay

Great Location, Dining, Beach, etc Room was clean, Staff was friendly Not a top end hotel but very acceptable No fitness center and food not great, but with all the places near-by, not really an ise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Midlife Bachelor
Business
Annapolis, MD
Nov 12, 2010

No surprises

Based on reading other objective reviews, the Marseilles was exactly as described. The location is great, I liked the food and was priced very reasonably for South Beach. The bed is firm, but I got used to it after one night, the extra blanket in the closet used as a pad made the mattress a little softer. The bathroom is dated, but everything worked, hot water took a few minutes to arrive, the then again, wasn't the building built around 1940? The staff is very nice and friendly and for the price, I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nightlife as far as sleeping goes. The unmarked little black knob in middle of the far wall in my room controlled the dampner for the AC duct. Closing the dampner makes the room a lot quieter if you don't need or want all that air flow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2010

4th of July 2009

first trip to Miami. Kitchen staff for breakfast were too slow,a nd didn't pay attention to anyone...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a few blocks away...good walk before and after a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just a student
Business
Lansing, MI
Mar 13, 2010

good trip

Overall, it was nice. The location was great, whereas rooms, floors, room belonging were bad. I liked Miami, but the hotel wasn't as good as I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In a couple of blocks, there are lots of dining restaurants, which were fantastic. food and atmosphere were outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prague
Feb 20, 2010

Simply all orrible

First I have booked an oceanfront room and they give me a wallfront room [...].Second the room was very old, dirthy and noisy.Third the staff [*] was really unfriendly and they was jocking with me deniyng all the responsability.I have payed 250 us dollars for what?...and it was my honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 9, 2009

Friendly place to stay

We stayed at the Marseilles for 5 nights during Art Basel Miami and the location, on the beach just a block or two from the convention center and the main fair was excellent. Most hotels in the area were really expensive during the fair, including the Marseilles. The hotel is not a a fancy place, but not a dump either. It was a perfect middle of the road place to stay on our budget. The room was a little small, and beds somewhat uncomfortable, but this was made up for in the friendliness of the staff and overall charm of the place. My only complaint would be that the walls are pretty thin and we could hear anyone talking in the hallway. There was also an odd clanking noise, that we first thought was construction, but think it had to do with either the elevator, ice machine in the hallway or maybe just due to the fact that it's an old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,MA
Oct 15, 2009

You can find something better!

We went there for honey moon. At first we liked that place,the stuff was friendly,although most of them don't speak english at all. But that is all positive that i can say about it. The hotel is old, we could hear others having sex almost every night. The room was not clean and was smelling bad. The cleaning lady took our bast whisps for no reason(i tried to explain her that it was our personal and we need it back, but she didn't understand a word, so i gave up). If you didn't make a reservation yet, i would not recomend it, but if you did, make sure you don't have a "mini bar" in your room, because they charged us $151 for stuff that worth $20 without letting me know. There are thousands of different hotels around, you can deffenetly find something much better for this price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Jun 26, 2009

Marseilles Beachfront Hotel

great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lincoln avenue has the best outdoor dining, Esplade was good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wedding getaway
Business
NH
May 11, 2009

Not like the pictures they show online!

There were things broken in the room and I asked them to be fixed and no one ever came up. Also we didn't touch the mini bar yet they charged us. The staff was very nice and friendly. We expecially had fun with the bartender outside...[...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

it's about 3 blocks to resturants..doesn't sound long but it is!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top