$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 13, 2015

Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
91 reviews
Had an excellent time

A close walk to the beach or the art deco district, and a bit of a walk to some amazing restaurants... See full review

  • Todd the rod
  • Jan 22, 2015
great location

Nice hotel and staff. The pool was under construction but we were given a pass to go to the pool of... See full review

  • grace
  • Dec 29, 2014
The Marseilles has almost all the peculiarities of Art Deco style, including vertical emphasis and a combination of flat and curved walls, use of glass block, neon cove and porthole ceiling lighting and cast iron railings. While you stay with us, discover the delightful deco ambiance and you will see how the past has been preserved in its original beauty. The Marseilles Hotel is an original Art Deco style hotel with typical architecture and design features of the 1930's. View the most talked about beach in America and enjoy spectacular world-renowned night life including restaurants and clubs by Madonna, Gloria Esteban, Michael Caine and Sylvester Stallone.

***No pets in rooms***
Internet access in public areas free of charge, there is limited self parking available on a first come first serve basis. No valet parking is available.

Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel will have a $15 per day plus tax resort fee paid directly to the hotel upon checkin. The resort fee will include, Unlimited local calls, Free WiFi in all rooms and public areas, Free use of the computer center,and Free Happy Hour from 7pm to 8pm.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel Rooms

Guest room with Two DBL Beds or 1 queen size bed
All guest rooms are remodeled,have central air conditioning, shower, Flat screen TV with movie channels, coffeemakers and in room safe.
Oceanfront room with 2 DBL beds or 1 king size bed
All guest rooms are remodeled, central air conditioning, shower, Flat screen TV with movie channels, coffeemakers and in room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Gavroche on the Beach Restaurant
Serving full breakfast,lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachgirl305
Business
Edison, NJ
Mar 28, 2012

Worth the money paid

The room is really clean minus the gum stuck on one of our lamps. Bathroom newly renovated and updated and large. Beds were clean and I felt comfortable in the room. The only complaint is the noise. Walls are really thin and you can hear everythign going on outside and the hallway. Dont stay here if you are looking for peace and quiet. I had even gone out that night but woke up probably 7-8 times due to outside noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paulfrancis
Business
Northern VA
Mar 18, 2012

No complaints

We only stayed 2 days but we had nothing to complain about. Yes, it is an older hotel but our room overlooking Collins Ave. was bright, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. We really had nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tell it like it is
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Was not what I expected.

First it was false advertising on the internet,hotel looks nothing like pictures shown it was so bad we had to switch to a sister hotel which was the Dorchester and it wad average still not wat I expected from a South Beach Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cameo,SoBe,Nikki Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carribean Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Unpleasant Stay

Our experience at the Marseilles Beachfront Hotel was an experience I want to forget. When we booked this hotel our expectations were a clean, cozy, and comfortable experience and it was not. The room was small the bed was dingy and the bedspread had a cigeratte burn that was patched up shabby and smelled about 10 years old. The bathroom door would not close from years of paint, door jam appeared as the wood had termites, and NO WATER PRESSURE to bathe. The hair dryer on the wall was not secured therefore it fell inside the sink it was so close. The location of the hair dryer was clearly a code violation. The worst part was when we arrived the room temp was 77.F and no air thermastat in the room to control the air temp in our room. The AC unit was so old there was only one control for the floor so everyone had the same temp or higher. The air smelled so bad because the room did not have access to absorb the air in the room therefore not an efficient AC unit. We could smell cigeratte smoke from other rooms and bathroom smells in our room traveling through the AC vent and the noise the AC vent was making could not let us get a comfortable sleep. The hotel had constant air fresheners, probably because of the constant bad smell blowing from the AC unit. In addition, when we arrived on the first day, the hotel maintenance guy knocked on our door once yelling EMERGENCY!!! he needed to know if the water was turned back on he had turned it off. I told the guy off!!!!!! At that point I called American Airlines to get the hell out of there!!!!! I am going to complain about this awful HOTEL. This should not be allowed a hotel owner to capitalize and a hotel is under this condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Traveled away from Collins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stuart, Fl
Jun 24, 2011

Didn't go so well

I have stayed at this hotel before, but the room we got this time was smaller. We were with my 2 year old and they put us adjacent to the elevator. The doors have slats in them so you can hear everything! I know Miami is a party city so I knew that there would be noise when the clubs closed and people were coming back, but I had no idea how much noise would take place. The lobby smells too much like heavy perfume, and I took a peak inside the kitchen, scary to say the least. My room smelled like must, and my shower had black hairs all over the wall and came out like a trickle. It took like 20 minutes just to get clean. We checked out early and did not bother staying a second night in hell. The only good part of this hotel if you don't want anything fancy, is it is on the beach and close the Lincoln Rd. shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd. has a lot of great deals for shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW York,NY
Jun 4, 2011

An Okay Stay!

The hotel was nice nothing spectacular though. There were somethings that did bother me. We had a balcony with no view, the view was of the back of buildings! And the hotel had ONE ice machine that never worked. So i had to continuously go to the front desk for ice. And the shower felt like bathing in a sprinkler. This is most likely a 2/3 star stay. Otherwise i had a great trip just need a different hotel for next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The blocks are really long and the dining is on OCEAN ave so it's best to get a hotel around that area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Sun Person
Business
Oak Lawn, IL
May 29, 2011

Great Location & Servicee

Hotel is very nice & great location. I always stay at the Marseilles when I go to South Beach everything is in walking distance. Service is good and staff are very nice. Beach is right out back door!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Road and Washington street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami beach
May 25, 2011

Rundown mess. Don't believe the pictures

Our room was on the 8th floor of this rundown hotel, and both of their elevators were broken. The electric wiring in the rooms is about 100 years old and the sockets won't hold plugs from personal appliances. The air conditioning didn't work. And there were actually windows missing in the hallway. This place was terrible, no exaggeration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Once weary...
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 27, 2011

Not as bad as some say

Before traveling to Maimi, I read the hotel reviews and they really scared me. After staying 3 days in the Marseilles Hotel I would make a return trip. The hotel is going through several renovations and the restaurant was nothing to desire however, the customer service displayed by the hotel staff was impeccable. For the amount of a night's stay, it was what I expected. If you are looking for the main action on the Collins strip, this may not be the hotel for you but their are plenty of cabs and walking lends itself to awesome pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marseilles Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 18, 2011

Nightmare

Will never stay at this hotel again. The hotel and room was dirty. There was construction going on in two of the rooms every morning at 7:00 am. People in the front desk were not helpful, they didn't want to be bothered. front desk never answer the phone. The pool was dirty. do not stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top