$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Lord Balfour

4 stars
350 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
21 reviews
Perfect location. Friendly staff.

Have absolutely no complaints. Room was beautiful with unique decor. Staff was friendly and very... See full review

  • Trackstarr
  • Sep 3, 2014
In good hands

First of all, the staff went way above and beyond expectations. One of managers even saw my husband... See full review

  • Mal Joan
  • Aug 27, 2014
Lord Balfour, a refreshing take on South Beach boutique hotels, is situated directly on Ocean Drive, just south of Fifth Street. The neighborhood, better known as "SoFi" to the South Beach locals, is a relaxing oasis in the heart of the Art Deco District. The hotel's Ocean Drive location is in close proximity to the city's ever growing arts and culture scene. Miami Beach's turquoise waters are just steps from the hotel, and shopping, restaurants, and South Beach's dazzling nightlife are all within walking distance. Lord Balfour's 64 rooms and suites are a refreshing take on South Beach hotels, designed with clean, modern lines, and incorporating a distinctive allure. From bamboo hardwood floors to luxurious ETRO Bathroom products, Lord Balfour offers a full array of boutique hotel comforts for the ultimate South Beach experience. Public spaces have been transformed: chic vintage style merges with art deco in a thoroughly modern setting. An expansive veranda facing Ocean Drive provides a perfect place to people watch while enjoying a refreshing beverage from the lobby bar. An interior palm courtyard provides a more tranquil retreat to enjoy a morning coffee or evening cocktail.

Starting January 15, 2014 - A $18 resort fee will be due at time of checkin which includes Continental breakfast for two, Internet and 2 Beach chairs.

Hotel Map

25.7731 -80.1326
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport (MIA) and Fort Lauderdale Airport (FLL).
Area description
Local area attractions include the Atlantic Ocean, Collins Avenue, Art Deco District, Bass Museum of Art, Port of Miami, Miami Seaquarium, Key Biscayne, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Jungle Island, Everglades National Park, Bal Harbor Shopping Center and Village of Merrick Park Shopping Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lord Balfour also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Lord Balfour Rooms

Balfour Suite
The 1-Bedroom Suite features 1 king-size bed and a separate living room with a sofa sleeper. Bright and airy suites are designed with clean modern lines, bamboo flooring and custom-designed furniture. Luxurious amenities include plush robes, towels, slippers and ETRO bath products. Docking stations, 40" TVs, writing desks and renovated bathrooms are designed for your comfort. (Approx. 324 sq ft)
King Room
Bright and airy rooms are designed with clean, modern lines. Rooms feature a king-size bed, bamboo flooring, and custom-designed furniture. Luxurious amenities include plush robes, towels, slippers, and ETRO bath products. Docking stations, 40" TVs, writing desks and newly renovated bathrooms are designed for your comfort. (Approx. 221 sq ft)
Double Room
Perfect for sharing, the bright and airy rooms are designed with clean, modern lines. Rooms feature 2 queen-size beds, bamboo flooring, and custom-designed furniture. Luxurious amenities include plush robes, towels, slippers and ETRO bath products. Docking stations, 40" TVs, writing desks and newly renovated bathrooms are designed for your comfort. (Approx. 210 sq ft).
Queen Room
The bright and airy rooms are designed with clean, modern lines. Rooms feature 1 queen-size bed, bamboo flooring, and custom-designed furniture. Luxurious amenities include plush robes, towels, slippers and ETRO bath products. Docking stations, 40" TVs, writing desks and newly renovated bathrooms are designed for your comfort. (Approx. 198 sq ft)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Lord Balfour

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maxbet
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2014

Just close enough to (and far enough from) the craziness

On Ocean Blvd., but a 3-minute walk from the South Beach craziness and noise -- nice to be able to jump in and out of it whenever you want. Rooms are Europe-style small, but immaculately clean, and very comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful, from the housekeeping to the concierge, and everywhere in between. Commitment to art in the rooms and lobby/bar/breakfast area is a major plus. Outside seating areas for drinks and breakfast also great. Beach chairs/umbrellas a 1-minute walk away. Ideally situated between crazy South Beach strip and quieter but still vacation-y SoFi area. Go to My Ceviche for perfect stay-and-eat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My Ceviche is a hole-in-the-wall shack a few blocks away, next to the hostel. Not even a place to sit, except for a bench and a few chairs outside. But... the best ceviche and grilled-octopus tacos! Also, Bolivar -- great food, great space, great entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oznola
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 31, 2014

Great weekend stay!

The rooms are a bit small, restroom is tiny, but it's still a great place to stay in South Beach! No pool, but not needed when you have the beach within walking distance. Great staff, very attentive to all our needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sebastiancm
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
May 4, 2014

Best place to stay

Beautiful room, excellent service, perfect location. Wish it had a pool. Other then that I don't have any complaints. Highly recommend it, definitely consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anney11
Business
Briabane
May 23, 2014

Amazing!

The staff at this hotel are wonderful, helpful and willing to go out if their way to make your stay perfect. The location is fantastic! About 1min walk to the beach. With sunbeds reserved everyday for hotel guests, free wifi, free breakfast and two for one cocktails during the week, this hotel is outstanding. I couldn't recommend it enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get caught out by the $45 cocktails along the strip. Try eating elsewhere, the hotel has a list if great restaurants to try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny Jr
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 19, 2014

Great!!

We can reach the beach on foot in 30 second and use towel and chair, parasol on free charge. The room is very comfortable and staff is kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jagz
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2014

Amazing staff and updated rooms

From the moment that I walked in, every staff member greeted me and was extremely professional. The rooms were a bit small but the beds were comfortable and updated. The decor of this hotel is really nice. I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton on South beach and the only that has got over this place is marble and more space. To be quite honest I enjoyed this place more than the Ritz.. Thanks to Devin, Richard, the other guy who carried my luggage and the concierge. I have never been treated so well at a hotel. You should go! Everything is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYCGalA
Business
New York
Aug 17, 2014

Absolutely Amazing Vacation!

My overall experience with Lord Belfour Hotel was amazing. It's location is right on Ocean Drive but yet 2 blocks away from the craziness. Which was fantastic for me. The moment I arrived the staff greeted and met me and were of great service. Every staff member were helpful but I must say Devon (Front Desk) was a joy and extremely helpful from the moment I booked my trip. Staff members like him is what these experience make it worthwhile.They serve continental breakfast every morning. They cleaned my room everyday and stocked up on my amenities. I will definitely return back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom Tom SJ
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 23, 2014

South Beach Gem

First time back to Miami in 10 years. Didn't want to go generic with the usual big name hotels but also didn't want to end up in one of those older hotels that should be shut down. Found this gem. Never head of a hotel like this but saw that all the reviews were positive. Boutique, trendy and painting of a tatooed female over the bed.... hey its Miami! What a great boutique hotel. Great location in South Beach. You walk in and you are greeted by the bar and the cool decor. The lobby is a bit small but clean and hip. The people are super friendly. Even before I mentioned it the check in clerk knew my name, probably because I was his last check in. The room is clean. Small but cozy. The bathroom is a bit tight but I never felt crowded. I like the hard wood floors. There is a $18 daily resort fees that covers beach towels, chairs and breakfast. Never had a chance to use the towels and chairs. Breakfast was simple and clean. Toast, bagels, croissant, danish. Some fruit (strawberries and bananas), yogurt, cereal, coffee or tea. Definitely not $18 worth but the items were well presented and better quality than just stuff you buy at a super market. The price was totally affordable. You can do valet parking but I just parked on the street and paid with my credit card < $10 overnight. Amenities are little lacking (no pool or jacuzzi), yes I know the ocean is right within walking distance but who goes to the beach at 9 pm when its dark but I could use a dip in the pool. I didn't ask if there was a gym. Overall would definitely come back and stay longer. The trip was too short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parked on the street. Just use your credit card and type in the license plate of your car. <$10 overnight. Less than valet or garage. Good if you plan to wake up and leave the next day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mal Joan
Business
Boulder, CO
Aug 27, 2014

In good hands

First of all, the staff went way above and beyond expectations. One of managers even saw my husband and I come back fairly early on a Saturday night and OFFER us a late check-out for Sunday, completely unsolicited. We were unanimously encouraged to ask staff members for anything we might need, from ice to restaurant recommendations, etc. The rooms are crisp, hip, and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small and I wasn't a huge fan of their shampoo/conditioner -- but I'm picky. Nice breakfast layout in the morning. Seems very family-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua is wonderful and affordable Cuban -- the best Cuban sandwich I had in the Miami area infact and also has some delicious tender stews. The Italian "La Bufala" place on the corner -- even closer to Lord Balfour -- was also great and moderately priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lord Balfour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trackstarr
Business
Washington, D.C.
Sep 3, 2014

Perfect location. Friendly staff.

Have absolutely no complaints. Room was beautiful with unique decor. Staff was friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top