$405 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 23, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Hotel Victor

5 stars
1144 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
23 reviews
Best location in Sourh Beach!

In town for a business trip. I stayed off site at Hotel Victor. What a smart choice! The personal... See full review

  • New Yok Law dog
  • Feb 28, 2014
Romantic Rendezvous

Fabulous! Exceeded my expectations. The room was set back far enough from the street that it was... See full review

  • Kathy is back
  • Feb 7, 2013
Located on South Beach's famed Ocean Drive, Hotel Victor offers the ultimate in style and luxury to Miami's traveling elite. Steps from beautiful Miami Beach, this iconic hotel originally opened in 1936 and was restored in 2004, by renowned designer Jacques Garcia. Hotel Victor's lavish interior aesthetic artfully complements the architecture of its storied past, while providing guests' their heart's desire in state-of-the-art comforts. Hotel Victor's labyrinth of facilities will tempt all to relax in true South Beach style, whether it be in the large, lofty lobby, on the two floors of sophisticated lounge space, or poolside, on the sunbathing deck. The hotel's premium amenities include SpaV, a 6,000 square foot subterranean oasis of rejuvenation; open-air Vue Bar and Lounge, also designed by Jacques Garcia; as well as approximately 6,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor upscale meeting space. Hotel Victor is the perfect choice for any South Beach Miami leisure escape, event, or business destination. Custom made furniture by Jacques Garcia. The hotel also provides dry cleaning, lobby and reception in amenity.

Please note - Hotel Victor- soon to be Thompson Ocean Drive will be undergoing renovations as of April 29th, 2013. During the first phase of renovation, the hotel will remain fully operational, and construction will be confined to the top two floors of the building. Public spaces such as the spa, lobby, and restaurant will be available throughout this time, as will beach access, including all amenities normally provided in the hotel's resort fee. The pool will also be regularly available until May 6th. All construction will take place between 7:00am-4:00pm, Monday through Saturday. On May 20th the hotel will close briefly for our final phase of renovation, and is scheduled to re-launch as Thompson Ocean Drive on June 21th, 2013.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Victor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Victor Rooms

King Superior
King Superior offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, valet service, voice mail and soaking infiniti tub. Partial Ocean View. Oversized Separate marble soaking tub and walk in shower. Bigelow amenities and Dean & Deluca mini bar. Comtemporary and comfortable custom designed furnishings Between 300-400 sq. ft.
King Suite
Our King Suite feature 1 California King bed with custom made 300 thread count SFERRA linens. They feature an ocean view or pool view. Most have a private balcony, and an infinity edge Jacuzzi soaker tub. Furnished with contemporary yet comfortable fashion featuring Lutron Lighting systems with digital "Do Not Disturb" signs. Entertainment options include a 32' LCD flat panel screen TV, DVD & CD player, I-POD docking station and Wi-Fi. The mini-bar offers gourmet Dean and Deluca snacks, drinks and Kiki de Montparnasse accessories.
King Deluxe
Our King Deluxe guestrooms feature California king beds with custom made 300 thread count SFERRA linens and Frette robes. They feature an ocean view or pool view. Furnished with contemporary yet comfortable fashion featuring Lutron Lighting systems with digital "Do Not Disturb" signs. Entertainment options include a 23' LCD flat panel screen TV, DVD & CD player, I-POD docking station, Wi-Fi.. The mini-bar offers gourmet Dean and Deluca snacks, drinks and Kiki de Montparnasse accessories.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bice Ristorante
It is the perfect place to indulge your palate with dishes are inspired by the chef's many journeys around the world.
VUE Terrace
It offers an incredible view of Ocean Drive, in addition to light-casual fare and signature cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Victor

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carl on the road
Business
Satellite Beach, Florida
Aug 15, 2012

They just don't get it

The hotel looks good on the surface and is in a great location. We just stayed one night and wheren't going to take advantage of the pool or beach, but they still said the "Resort Fee" is mandatory. The resort fee is just a way of lying about there price. The cost of a room is $23 more than the price that they list. This puts them in the same category as airlines, who want you to believe they're all about customer service, when their actual behavior demonstrates otherwise. Just because everyone "else does it" is not an excuse. It just means you are as dishonest as they are. When you get off the elevator, you'll have to search to find your room because there aren't any signs that tell you which rooms are where. When you get to the room, don't expect a coffee machine. They don't even have an icemaker anywhere in the hotel. You have to call the front desk for it. And don't expect any of the helpful little explanatory cards in the room like the ones at other hotels that alert you if the pillows have down in the them for folks who are allergic. They pretend to be a fancy hotel, but it's all just decor without thinking or actually caring about the customer. Bottom line: I'd rather try somewhere else than stay at the Hotel Victor again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYC Road Warrior
Business
New York
Oct 5, 2009

Chic but bad service

Staff isn't very organized and as a business traveler I wouldn't recommend this establishment. On two seperate stays the service was sub par. The first stay they brought me the wrong rental car after not calling for it when I called to have my folio prepared for checkout. After paying $30 to park they had to drive me to the remote lot and search for my rental. The AC was out in their lobby and I was drenched prior to my meeting from waiting in the Miami heat. The second stay the front desk person gave me a room that didn't exist so I spent 20 minutes trying to search for the room. When I finally asked it took them 5 minutes to realize that she had inverted the numbers and that indeed it didn't exist. Later the manager on duty called to apologize when I shared with him that this was the second time I had experienced poor service. He informed me he could only address the current situation and offered to buy me a drink or an appetizer. This is a Hyatt property so I expected better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jersey girl 103
Business
miami, fl
Sep 13, 2012

horrible hotel

Horrible, I will never return. From accessories found in the room at check-in, no valet available at check-in, and numerous unrelated charges made to my credit card, this has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Overrated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa
Nov 18, 2009

Cool Dissapointment

Very cool hotel But...Restaurant was closed Monday and Tuesday -[...] Light bulbs were "out", TV sound was defective, coffee tea etc were not renewed daily.I was dissapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check if it's open or closed during your stay...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis,In
May 23, 2010

Girls Getaway

The hotel location and pool were fantastic. The pool staff was very friendly! My room was not very clean to begin with and got worse as the week went along. Several times I am sure the just made the bed. I ran out of toilet paper the night before and it was not replaced the next day after houeskeeping was there. And the lobby has this awful smell. Overall I would stay again juast for the pool and location but for the price the service id really slacking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Jul 12, 2011

Nice hotel, great location but tiny room

The location was ideal but the rooms were so tiny and the restaurant service was awful. I would probably not go there again since there are other hotels in the vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach and the clubs are just a block or two away, well within walking distance, even on a hot day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deco lover
Business
Naples Florida
Sep 3, 2012

Great for younger uninhibited

The staff and hotel were great, beatuful looby great food at BICE and the room overlooked the pool and the beach. The room was knid of strange though. King size bed was very confortable, but the bathroom area has a wierid setup. you can almost touch the bathtub lying in bed. The bathroom area was only seperated by a curtain, bad lighting, couldn't even shaved. Other than that great location and hotel. very artsy and deco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lincoln Mall up the street geat resturants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBiky
Business
Kalamazoo Mi
May 20, 2010

Great Place but Smells Awful...

Great location...very nice rooms...friendly people. Two hugh complaints...Please...no loud music before noon EVERYDAY...We are at South Beach and most stay up until 4 am. Get RID of the "smell" in the lobby and by the pool. I think the hotel thinks it smells nice..but it smells like sickie sweet nasty stuff... Other than that...would go back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cleveland outdoor bar sure is fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Mar 30, 2010

Ocean drive

Very nice bathroom. I upgraded to the king size room which isn't kingsize (4o0 sq. feet and it had a balcony which was great) but that is the typical size room for south beach. Ocean drive seems to be quieter than Collins Ave which is nice. Short walk to the beach. Pool is shallow but a nice size and is on the second floor so you can watch what's going on on Ocean drive, has a nice breeze and palm tree view. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Victor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2007

great hotel, trendy

this is one of the best hotels i've stayed in south beach. my favorite is the tides but it was on construction. i had always been curious to try the victor and this was the perfect opportunity. the hotel amenities are great and the staff is very friendly and efficient. i had a cheap rate and ending up in the worst rooms though. rooms have great design, full of drawers etc but in the bathroom you dont have enough shelves to put your stuff or anything to hang clothes. i strongly recommend the victor, and i will go back. on the last day, i asked for a tour of other rooms and what i saw was great :) i know what to ask for next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure you try the restaurant at the victor - there is a good scene, amazing cocktails and food but make reservations as it is packed every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top