$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Essex House Hotel and Suites

3 stars
1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Perfect weekend getaway

The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable. The location was perfect. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 5, 2012
Great vacation for a young couple

This hotel has a great location. It is close to all the craziness of South Beach, but is still able... See full review

  • midwestbeachlover
  • Mar 21, 2012
Sophisticated hotel, lounge with free Wi-Fi offers best of South Beach
The Essex House Hotel and Suites is one of the original boutique hotels in South Beach, Miami. Spot the property as the nautical pink 1938 Art Deco exterior. A hedge guards an exclusive swimming pool from the Collins Avenue sidewalk where travelers absorb chic Miami nights under the cool glow of neon. As the sophisticated older sister hotel of the flashy oceanfront Clevelander next door, guests of the Essex House Hotel and Suites make appearances at rooftop pool parties and lively sports bars at their leisure. The beach is only one block away.
Highlights
  • Expertly-restored example of Art Deco in the heart of South Beach
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Sophisticated happy hour
  • Jacuzzi and swimming pool (Clevelander) (Pool Hours are 8am to 5pm daily, weather permitting)
Rooms
Essex House Hotel and Suites accommodations are in chocolate brown and white with solid oak or mahogany furniture. Double-glazed windows highlight the signature curve of the building from inside each room. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and 27-inch cable TVs are provided. In addition to 56 rooms, the Essex House Hotel and Suites boasts 14 suites along the courtyard with Jacuzzis, refrigerators and wet bars.
Features
The Essex House Hotel and Suites lobby is a work of art in muted shades of sand and marbled browns. Admire an Art Deco fireplace and an Everglades mural that was painted and restored five decades later, by Earl LaPan. Refresh with chilled wine or fresh lemonade on beach house sofas surrounded by palms at the Jacuzzi. The Essex lounge serves top-shelf liquor. On the stroll between this hotel and the white sands of South Miami Beach, the Clevelander hotel provides full resort access to guests of the Essex House Hotel and Suites. Room service is available from the Clevelander kitchen. The Essex House Hotel and Suites offers valet parking.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
  • Port of Miami (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Attractions
  • Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Bars and restaurants on Ocean Drive (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Miami Beach Golf Club (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business services (Clevelander)
  • Meeting space (Clevelander)
  • Catering
Policies and fees
  • Guests over 21 years old can use the Clevelander Hotel's amenities. 
  • Children 16 years old and below stay free when accompanied by a paying adult. Children are accepted up to the maximum occupancy of the room.
  • The hotel pool hours are from 8 AM to 5 PM daily, weather permitting.
  • Continental breakfast is available from 7 AM to 10 AM daily. 
  • A $100 USD incidental fee per night is required upon check-in. The fee will be returned upon check-out.
  • For guests who wish to check out early, a 50% early check-out fee will be charged.
  • Valet parking is $34 USD per night.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Essex House Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Essex House Hotel and Suites Rooms

Superior King
Superior King rooms are spacious corner guest rooms with a view of the city- Collins avenue. Double-paned windows. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone. Plasma TV's on Superiors Rooms and Suites (42 inches)
King Suite
One king bed. Tropical courtyard view. Located in Courtyard Building. 480 square feet. Sitting area. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Double-paned windows. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Refrigerator. Marble bathroom with pedestal sink, jetted tub, TV, and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. 42 inch Plasma TV.
Double Double
Street or tropical courtyard view. 200 square feet. Double-paned windows. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Marble bathroom. Nonsmoking.
Queen Room
This room has one Queen sized bed. Spacious guest rooms with designer art deco furnishings. 250 Sqft. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Marble bathroom. Nonsmoking.
Double Suite
2 king beds. Tropical courtyard view. Located in Courtyard Building. 480 square feet. Sitting area. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Double-paned windows. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Refrigerator. Marble bathroom with pedestal sink, jetted tub, TV, and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. 42 inch Plasma TV.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Available at the Clevelander Hotel.

Dining

Lounge & Bar
Essex House features a stylish hotel lounge with a sophisticated but always inviting atmosphere. The perfect before, after and during party place, our centrally located lounge features top-shelf liquor, domestic and imported beer and your favorite red and white wines. Conducive to casual conversation, unwinding after a long day or to getting the party started, House Lounge offers the perfect marriage of classiness and comfort.
Clevelander Hotel
Essex Guest over 21 years of age are welcome to use the Clevelander Hotel amenities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Essex House Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 21, 2009

Great Hotel

This hotel was great for the price. Great staff. The rooms look recently remodeled. Defintely recommend this and hotel and I will stay here again on my next visit to South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restuarants, nightlife and beach all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdot
Business
New York City
Sep 2, 2009

Great Hotel!

This hotel wasso clean, staff was friendly, the lobby was beautiful, I took so many pics in the lobby. As far as location, it's perfect we were steps away from the beach and right next to Ocean Drive. The pool was not that big, but it was clean. Staying here gives you access to the Clevelander, so again this is where you should stay when you're in SOBE. Have fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sobe Live is fun, great crowd, mixed, ladies free before 12, drink free till 12:30..love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vincent Anderson, pleasantly pleased!
Business
Columbia, SC
Mar 24, 2010

Great Experience!

My recent experience at this hotel was absolutely superior! At first, I was very hesitant and nervous about my hotel selection from reading all the reviews. However, I was very surprised and had a superior stay. From the moment, I arrived I received quality,first class service. The suite that I was upgraded to was wonderful and I would strongly suggest a suite. Initially there was an issue with what I booked online thru cheap tickets and what the hotel considered comparable, but they made it good and honored what I paid for thru cheap tickets and reason for the upgrade. The hotel is in the best location and very convenient to everything. It is also very well preserved in comparison to many of the hotles that I saw on collins and ocean drive. Also, for those of you who may be needing to take a shuttle, don't pay the $23 fee,as there is a local bus you can take from the airport,called #150/airport shuttle for $2.35, yes $2.35, so definitely this will be savings, just ask when you arrive at the airport. Overall, my birthday trip and stay at Essex Hotel exceeded my expectations. I agree for those of you who may be considering the other property Clevelander Hotel, to think twice if you want to get some sleep. This hotel is live and for the person who likes to party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to everything! In the heart of it all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trinigyal
Business
NY
Oct 11, 2011

Great Time

Essex has been one of the best hotels ive stayed in in Miami!!! Staff was friendly, rooms were kept clean! Def plan on staying there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
midwestbeachlover
Business
Ohio, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great vacation for a young couple

This hotel has a great location. It is close to all the craziness of South Beach, but is still able to remain pretty tame and relaxed. You are extremely close to the beach and within walking distance of great dining. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and the hotel is very clean and well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to this hotel is The Clevelander, which is operated by the same people. Staying at The Essex House allows you special access to all of the night life festivities The Clevelander has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 5, 2012

Perfect weekend getaway

The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable. The location was perfect. The room was beautiful and super clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant "Red" was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Do Not Travel Enough
Business
MD
May 9, 2009

Great Boutique Hotel In SoBe

Originally I had focused on finding a room with an Ocean view for a 2 night mid week trip to South Beach in late April 2009 with my girlfriend, but after reading some of the reviews for hotels on Ocean Drive I determined that it would probably be too noisy for my liking to stay at any hotel on Ocean Drive due to their proximity to Ocean Drive traffic, clubs, etc. My priorities for a hotel were cleanliness, location, lack of noise at night and value. With that being said, I narrowed down my choice to The Essex House for the following reasons:1) Excellent reviews for value, customer service, lack of noise, cleanliness, etc.2) Close to the beach (1 short block), but far enough away from the noise of Ocean Drive.3) Cool veranda, courtyard and little pool.From the time we checked in we realized we had picked the right hotel. Although we arrived at The Essex House around Noon which was well before the 3 PM or 4 PM check in time, they had a room available for us and allowed us to check in when I assumed we would only be able to store our bags until check in. Our interaction with all the staff at The Essex House was equally positive from that moment on. BTW, Chris at the front desk also later granted us a late check out as well. We found everyone at The Essex House to be friendly, very pleasant, customer service orientated and genuinely interested in being helpful. [...] at the front desk greeted me by name each day when I requested his assistance for things like beach towels, ice or resetting our door key. [...]the manager, inquired about our stay and solicited our feedback. [...] addressed me and my girlfriend by our first names when storing our luggage, obtaining a taxi for our departure, etc. [...] spent sometime giving us the local’s insight on how SoBe changes during the holiday weekends, etc.After our 2 night stay at The Essex House we can say our expectations were exceeded. Our standard room was clean, quiet at night for sleeping, in a great location, comfortable, with outstanding staff providing excellent customer service that made it a great value. We really enjoyed the Art Deco design of the building, cool veranda, courtyard and pool and will stay there again when we come back.We highly recommend you consider The Essex House for your stay in South Beach unless you require a room with an Ocean view, a hotel that is 4 star or higher or a hotel that has a restaurant onsite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Some things to keep in mind when staying at The Essex House: 1) For breakfast and lunch we suggest the Front Porch Café which is fairly close and good. 2) For dinner we recommend Puerto Sagua which is fairly close and has great Cuban food. 3) You can obtain beach towels from the front desk. 4) The Essex House is within walking distance of most everything except Lincoln Road Mall and Espanola Way (For most people). 5) You can get a discounted rate on beach umbrella’s and chairs from Bouchette rentals at 9th street on the beach by mentioning you are staying at The Essex House. 6) The Essex House is about 20 – 30 minutes from MIA depending on traffic. 7) The Essex House and many of the hotels in South Beach are older which means they tend to be a little smaller than what you might be used too and may have some wear. With that being said, have realistic expectations. 8) The air conditioning unit is a bit loud, but it didn’t bother us. The noise from the A/C can help drown out any unwanted noise that may occur outside of the hotel so we would not view it as a problem. 9) The Essex House serves decent regular coffee in their bar area in the morning, but no food. If you’re a coffee snob or drink decaf, there is a Starbucks a couple streets North.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 5, 2009

4 Star Hotel

I would definitely stay in this hotel again. The staff is EXTREMELY friendly and they make you feel right at home. On my last day they let me check out at 12:30 without charging me extra. They always went out of their way to accommodate you. The rooms where extremely clean, I can't complain about the rooms, definitely had the South Beach atmosphere you're looking for. They have a small pool and after catching sun in the beach the pool definitely was the hot spot to unwind for the rest of the afternoon. Essex is right on 10th and Collins and its where the party is at. So be ready to stay up all night. The environment is mixed from family oriented to singles trying to have a great time. I love it here and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lielani
Business
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2008

great staff, great location!

I've stood in sobe plenty and essex house has been the best place I've stood thus far! The staff was great! Very nice and attentive! The curbside lounge decor was very cozy n the free bkfst was yumO n great eating out in sun! Pool is tiny but everyrhing else makes up 4 it! Would deff stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat tuesdays Mangos Wet willies Right around the corner on ocean!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 12, 2007

Great Vacation Stop

The Essex House was by far a very welcoming place. We got in Miami around midnight and recieved the most comforting check in I have ever had. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And I loved the room decor. The bathroom was small but it was paved in marble which my wife loved. The location was a few steps away from the beach and only a couple blocks from Lincoln ave. This by far was a very memorible vacation. My wife and I will be returning here and I recommend it to all those looking for the beach and night life suth beach has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All night clubs are a block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top