$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Essex House Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Essex House Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Elmhurst
Sep 14, 2008

No sleep

If I planned to not sleep much and party every hour I would stay at this hotel. Checking in was fast, but the staff did not take my luggage or walk me to my room. Something was wrong with my first key it did not open my room. There is no refrigerator in the room. I was not happy with the hotel. The only thing that was satisfying was the bed and that I had a place to shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pretty close, stores, nightlife and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2008

Nice Location and Doabale

I enjoyed Essex. It was a few of us in Miami trying to kick it for the weekend and it was a good value and good location. The staff was friendly (Nury at the front desk was really nice). We went on a cruise and got back to Miami early and they allowed us to store our luggage there when we returned and I thought that was really nice. The air conditioning was excellent. It is within walking distance of all the South Beach clubs and the restaurants. A block from the beach. EXCELLENT location.... The downfall was that you couldn't open any windows, so it was somewhat of a musty smell in the room. It just needed a little natural air. There was also signs of mildew around the floor boards. Lastly, the blinds were really dirty. A little more upkeep and they would be off the chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a FatBurber and Pizza place around the corner on Washington Ave. The food is cheap here. The restaurants on Ocean have some good lunch specials, but after tax and gratuity, you really lose the deal. So if you want cheper meals, go around on Washington Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Will stay again!

Loved everything about this hotel! From the moment we arrived, I knew we picked the perfect place. The staff was more than accomodating and the hotel was just adorable. I've stayed at many five star hotels, and this boutique ranks up there in terms of service. The rooms were very comfortable - and the free continental breakfast was amazing. I'll definitely stay at the Essex Hotel next time I'm in South Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very centrally located to all dining and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tonawanda
May 23, 2008

great location

The essex was an okay hotel rooms were very small, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

clubs are close walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 5, 2008

The best hotel experience ever.

I just want to start off by saying.. I loved my stay at the Essex House Hotel. For one, the location was perfect. Its located on the Corner of Collins and 10th Street. The beach is a block away and the night life is just a short walk around the corner. Our flight got in quite early and our check in time was 3pm. So, I called to see if we could check in early and they allowed us to. When we got there we were greeted by the very friendly staff memebers. They let us know of all the amentities such as the bar and pool (they provide you with free towels) and assured us that if we had any questions that they would always be availble to help us...AND THEY WERE! ( they also provide club passes and info on various tours around miami.) The rooms were very clean and suprisingly a bit roomier than i expected. The bed linens were clean and the comforters and pillows were super comfy. I had a great nights rest. The courtyard at the hotel was beautiful. I spent so many nights and days just sitting in the breezeway enjoying the yummy coconut mojitos from the bar and made friends with the other people staying at the hotel. I also had a blast in the pool area. It was very clean..the water was refreshing and i loved that one side of the pool was always shaded. (they also provide some umbrellas if you can get out there early enough to snag one.) The hotel staff was great during happy hour always making sure we were all set with drinks even when we were by the pool. (Drink prices extremely reasonable) I can't tell you how many friends i made right there in the hotel. I think we had the whole 2nd and 3rd floor hanging out outside every night as if we'd known eachother forever...maybe it was luck but we had more fun right at the hotel some nights than we actually did going out! Right up to the very last night all of us gathered outside in the lounge area to enjoy our last night there. I absolutely loved everything about this hotel. From the cleanliness to the frienliness... the service was impecable! My only advice to you is... PLEASE NO MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE IN THE ELEVATOR. After a couple of drinks we seemed to miss that sign and 4 of us got stuck up on the second floor. Only for about a minute before someone rescued us. Lesson learnt! and it was quite the hilarious memory to take back home with us. The only other negative thing i could think of is the view... depending where you stay you may get a view of the Clevelander Construction site. Which didn't bother me any.. i waved at the construction workers every morning and it only made me eager for my next visit because i can't wait to see what its going to look like when the construction is done.... =) I plan on staying there again on my next visit to south beach... Hands down the best hotel experience ever. I recommend it to couples, girl vacations, guy vacations, hell i recommend it to any one who's down for a good time. For the price, your getting alot out of this hotel. You have to check it out... You wont be sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2008

fun location

great location and front porch was beautiful. room was a bit musty but clean. we didnt plan to hang out in our room so it suited our needs just fine. one block from ocean. we would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

right in the middle of all the action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lielani
Business
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2008

great staff, great location!

I've stood in sobe plenty and essex house has been the best place I've stood thus far! The staff was great! Very nice and attentive! The curbside lounge decor was very cozy n the free bkfst was yumO n great eating out in sun! Pool is tiny but everyrhing else makes up 4 it! Would deff stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat tuesdays Mangos Wet willies Right around the corner on ocean!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Mar 6, 2008

Friendly Staff

My daughter and I decided to take a little mini vacation to South Flordia and decided to spend a couple of days in South Beach. When researching hotels, we found the Essex to have all the amenities and pretty good reviews from other travelers. We really liked the vibe of the hotel, the breakfast was excellent and we were a block away from the beach. The room happened to be the second floor corner room above the lobby overlooking the Collins Ave intersection. Nice large room but the veranda speaker was right below the room and you could here it as if it was in the room. We pretty much shrugged it off, turned up the TV and ran the AC which drowned out the music. We don't get too stressed out about those things. In fact, we laughed about it. What's funny is we would love to stay there again. The staff made up for any shortcomings of a character ridden hotel. Their sister hotel, The Clevelander, is being remodeled right next door so there is a lot of noise in that area in general. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is not the place. If you like people and people watching, you can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Ocena Drive, walk on the beach side to avoid pleadings from every hostess to eat at their restaurant. Head for Lincoln Road to get the most of Dining and more people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manal
Business
USA
Feb 3, 2008

it was ok.

Absolutely great location.The hotel was within walking distance to almost everything on the strip. Our stay was a total of two nights. The first night, they gave us a room for the elderly/handicapped, and it was extremely upsetting considering we are two young girls on vacation. To make things worse,it was on the side that they had construction going on! We mentioned it the following day and they switched us to a room with a fabulous view to compensate.The rooms are tiny but will do if you're not planning on staying for long. The hotel pool is so small and disappointing, but the beach is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're hungry, and craving something different. Try Puerta Sagua Restaurant. It's delicious but inexpensive Cuban food to die for. Order the Vieja Ropa. Excellent!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 5, 2007

needed to shell out a few more bucks

The essex house was a pleasant hotel- liked the vibe- true Art Deco- when I saw my room it was a bit sad- I had business in South Beach- so I needed to work out of the room- and it was small and looked out onto a demolished building- for $60 dollars more they gave me a suite and I loved it. you get what you pay for-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top