$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Essex House Hotel and Suites

3 stars
1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Perfect weekend getaway

The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable. The location was perfect. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 5, 2012
Great vacation for a young couple

This hotel has a great location. It is close to all the craziness of South Beach, but is still able... See full review

  • midwestbeachlover
  • Mar 21, 2012
Sophisticated hotel, lounge with free Wi-Fi offers best of South Beach
The Essex House Hotel and Suites is one of the original boutique hotels in South Beach, Miami. Spot the property as the nautical pink 1938 Art Deco exterior. A hedge guards an exclusive swimming pool from the Collins Avenue sidewalk where travelers absorb chic Miami nights under the cool glow of neon. As the sophisticated older sister hotel of the flashy oceanfront Clevelander next door, guests of the Essex House Hotel and Suites make appearances at rooftop pool parties and lively sports bars at their leisure. The beach is only one block away.
Highlights
  • Expertly-restored example of Art Deco in the heart of South Beach
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Sophisticated happy hour
  • Jacuzzi and swimming pool (Clevelander) (Pool Hours are 8am to 5pm daily, weather permitting)
Rooms
Essex House Hotel and Suites accommodations are in chocolate brown and white with solid oak or mahogany furniture. Double-glazed windows highlight the signature curve of the building from inside each room. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and 27-inch cable TVs are provided. In addition to 56 rooms, the Essex House Hotel and Suites boasts 14 suites along the courtyard with Jacuzzis, refrigerators and wet bars.
Features
The Essex House Hotel and Suites lobby is a work of art in muted shades of sand and marbled browns. Admire an Art Deco fireplace and an Everglades mural that was painted and restored five decades later, by Earl LaPan. Refresh with chilled wine or fresh lemonade on beach house sofas surrounded by palms at the Jacuzzi. The Essex lounge serves top-shelf liquor. On the stroll between this hotel and the white sands of South Miami Beach, the Clevelander hotel provides full resort access to guests of the Essex House Hotel and Suites. Room service is available from the Clevelander kitchen. The Essex House Hotel and Suites offers valet parking.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
  • Port of Miami (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Attractions
  • Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Bars and restaurants on Ocean Drive (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Miami Beach Golf Club (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business services (Clevelander)
  • Meeting space (Clevelander)
  • Catering
Policies and fees
  • Guests over 21 years old can use the Clevelander Hotel's amenities. 
  • Children 16 years old and below stay free when accompanied by a paying adult. Children are accepted up to the maximum occupancy of the room.
  • The hotel pool hours are from 8 AM to 5 PM daily, weather permitting.
  • Continental breakfast is available from 7 AM to 10 AM daily. 
  • A $100 USD incidental fee per night is required upon check-in. The fee will be returned upon check-out.
  • For guests who wish to check out early, a 50% early check-out fee will be charged.
  • Valet parking is $34 USD per night.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Essex House Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Essex House Hotel and Suites Rooms

Superior King
Superior King rooms are spacious corner guest rooms with a view of the city- Collins avenue. Double-paned windows. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone. Plasma TV's on Superiors Rooms and Suites (42 inches)
King Suite
One king bed. Tropical courtyard view. Located in Courtyard Building. 480 square feet. Sitting area. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Double-paned windows. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Refrigerator. Marble bathroom with pedestal sink, jetted tub, TV, and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. 42 inch Plasma TV.
Double Double
Street or tropical courtyard view. 200 square feet. Double-paned windows. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Marble bathroom. Nonsmoking.
Queen Room
This room has one Queen sized bed. Spacious guest rooms with designer art deco furnishings. 250 Sqft. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Marble bathroom. Nonsmoking.
Double Suite
2 king beds. Tropical courtyard view. Located in Courtyard Building. 480 square feet. Sitting area. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Double-paned windows. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Refrigerator. Marble bathroom with pedestal sink, jetted tub, TV, and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. 42 inch Plasma TV.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lounge & Bar
Essex House features a stylish hotel lounge with a sophisticated but always inviting atmosphere. The perfect before, after and during party place, our centrally located lounge features top-shelf liquor, domestic and imported beer and your favorite red and white wines. Conducive to casual conversation, unwinding after a long day or to getting the party started, House Lounge offers the perfect marriage of classiness and comfort.
Clevelander Hotel
Essex Guest over 21 years of age are welcome to use the Clevelander Hotel amenities.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Available at the Clevelander Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Essex House Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lielani
Business
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2008

great staff, great location!

I've stood in sobe plenty and essex house has been the best place I've stood thus far! The staff was great! Very nice and attentive! The curbside lounge decor was very cozy n the free bkfst was yumO n great eating out in sun! Pool is tiny but everyrhing else makes up 4 it! Would deff stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat tuesdays Mangos Wet willies Right around the corner on ocean!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Mar 6, 2008

Friendly Staff

My daughter and I decided to take a little mini vacation to South Flordia and decided to spend a couple of days in South Beach. When researching hotels, we found the Essex to have all the amenities and pretty good reviews from other travelers. We really liked the vibe of the hotel, the breakfast was excellent and we were a block away from the beach. The room happened to be the second floor corner room above the lobby overlooking the Collins Ave intersection. Nice large room but the veranda speaker was right below the room and you could here it as if it was in the room. We pretty much shrugged it off, turned up the TV and ran the AC which drowned out the music. We don't get too stressed out about those things. In fact, we laughed about it. What's funny is we would love to stay there again. The staff made up for any shortcomings of a character ridden hotel. Their sister hotel, The Clevelander, is being remodeled right next door so there is a lot of noise in that area in general. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is not the place. If you like people and people watching, you can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Ocena Drive, walk on the beach side to avoid pleadings from every hostess to eat at their restaurant. Head for Lincoln Road to get the most of Dining and more people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manal
Business
USA
Feb 3, 2008

it was ok.

Absolutely great location.The hotel was within walking distance to almost everything on the strip. Our stay was a total of two nights. The first night, they gave us a room for the elderly/handicapped, and it was extremely upsetting considering we are two young girls on vacation. To make things worse,it was on the side that they had construction going on! We mentioned it the following day and they switched us to a room with a fabulous view to compensate.The rooms are tiny but will do if you're not planning on staying for long. The hotel pool is so small and disappointing, but the beach is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're hungry, and craving something different. Try Puerta Sagua Restaurant. It's delicious but inexpensive Cuban food to die for. Order the Vieja Ropa. Excellent!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 5, 2007

needed to shell out a few more bucks

The essex house was a pleasant hotel- liked the vibe- true Art Deco- when I saw my room it was a bit sad- I had business in South Beach- so I needed to work out of the room- and it was small and looked out onto a demolished building- for $60 dollars more they gave me a suite and I loved it. you get what you pay for-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 12, 2007

Close to the beach and dining

It reminds me of old Florida. Great location to Beach. Room was more than adequate, nice small pool, lots of palm trees, lots of close shopping, incredible, dining all along the strip. very nice bar at hotel, don't forget to get a Mojito.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to post office

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fusun
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 30, 2007

Great value, great location

The Essex House is at the best location for someone who wants to dicover South Beach. It is 5 minutes to the beach and the restaurants and clubs. Right around the corner from the Mango's the hottest club on Ocean Drive and famous News Cafe. One block away from the city public parking and all the great shopping. The lobby is large and presentable. There is a large outside patio where you can have your drink while watching people passing by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free welcome drinks and continental breakfast was included to our stay. The room was clean and basic but I can not say romantic. And the pool is really small if you are planning on laying by. So I thought this was a great room for the money for going out and enjoying yourself in Sobe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 1, 2007

Good location, not so much as space.

The stay I had at the hotel was very formidable and convenient for both my pockets as well as the location of where I wanted to be. It was dead center in the heart of South Beach, Miami, and very close to all attractions. I'd recommend it if in fact you do last minute planning to go visit that side of Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good locations to go to is Wet Willy's, you got to try the Call-a-Cab drink. You will not regret it. If you're latin, you also have to go to Mango's. Thereafter, you got to go to either Opium Garden/Prive or Mansion. These 2 clubs are the top of the line in South Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 14, 2007

Very nice...

The only thing I didn't like was the ants in the bathroom... the pool is small, but serves its purpose. I would definitely stay there again. Very close to everything! We checked in early, and the staff was VERY accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining on the beach is EXPENSIVE... we asked our hotel staff for suggestions, but didn't specify cost... The beach is a short walk from the hotel too... very convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford Ct/Springfi, CT
Aug 8, 2007

My review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Hotel staff were very helpful and full of great recommendations of the area and events to go see. The gentleman who check us in orginally, wasnt too helpful. Except for the mishap with that young man, the stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

clubs, restaurants, shopping, beach, all in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyza
Business
USA
Jun 21, 2007

Classic Miami Beach Deco Charm

We really enjoyed the lovely dipping pool, wide breezy veranda and proximity to everything in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great dining and shopping within one to 10 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top