$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 13, 2015

Essex House Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Essex House Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manal
Business
USA
Feb 3, 2008

it was ok.

Absolutely great location.The hotel was within walking distance to almost everything on the strip. Our stay was a total of two nights. The first night, they gave us a room for the elderly/handicapped, and it was extremely upsetting considering we are two young girls on vacation. To make things worse,it was on the side that they had construction going on! We mentioned it the following day and they switched us to a room with a fabulous view to compensate.The rooms are tiny but will do if you're not planning on staying for long. The hotel pool is so small and disappointing, but the beach is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're hungry, and craving something different. Try Puerta Sagua Restaurant. It's delicious but inexpensive Cuban food to die for. Order the Vieja Ropa. Excellent!!!

Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 12, 2007

Close to the beach and dining

It reminds me of old Florida. Great location to Beach. Room was more than adequate, nice small pool, lots of palm trees, lots of close shopping, incredible, dining all along the strip. very nice bar at hotel, don't forget to get a Mojito.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to post office

Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fusun
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 30, 2007

Great value, great location

The Essex House is at the best location for someone who wants to dicover South Beach. It is 5 minutes to the beach and the restaurants and clubs. Right around the corner from the Mango's the hottest club on Ocean Drive and famous News Cafe. One block away from the city public parking and all the great shopping. The lobby is large and presentable. There is a large outside patio where you can have your drink while watching people passing by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free welcome drinks and continental breakfast was included to our stay. The room was clean and basic but I can not say romantic. And the pool is really small if you are planning on laying by. So I thought this was a great room for the money for going out and enjoying yourself in Sobe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 1, 2007

Good location, not so much as space.

The stay I had at the hotel was very formidable and convenient for both my pockets as well as the location of where I wanted to be. It was dead center in the heart of South Beach, Miami, and very close to all attractions. I'd recommend it if in fact you do last minute planning to go visit that side of Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good locations to go to is Wet Willy's, you got to try the Call-a-Cab drink. You will not regret it. If you're latin, you also have to go to Mango's. Thereafter, you got to go to either Opium Garden/Prive or Mansion. These 2 clubs are the top of the line in South Beach.

Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 14, 2007

Very nice...

The only thing I didn't like was the ants in the bathroom... the pool is small, but serves its purpose. I would definitely stay there again. Very close to everything! We checked in early, and the staff was VERY accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining on the beach is EXPENSIVE... we asked our hotel staff for suggestions, but didn't specify cost... The beach is a short walk from the hotel too... very convenient!

Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford Ct/Springfi, CT
Aug 8, 2007

My review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Hotel staff were very helpful and full of great recommendations of the area and events to go see. The gentleman who check us in orginally, wasnt too helpful. Except for the mishap with that young man, the stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

clubs, restaurants, shopping, beach, all in walking distance.

Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyza
Business
USA
Jun 21, 2007

Classic Miami Beach Deco Charm

We really enjoyed the lovely dipping pool, wide breezy veranda and proximity to everything in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great dining and shopping within one to 10 blocks.

Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 22, 2007

Great location for the price

Although the rooms are small and average, the location is worth the annoyance. Staff was accomadating and friendly. Hotel is right on South Beach in the midst of all the action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All shopping and nightlife is walking distance, no need for cabs

Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 12, 2007

Great Vacation Stop

The Essex House was by far a very welcoming place. We got in Miami around midnight and recieved the most comforting check in I have ever had. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And I loved the room decor. The bathroom was small but it was paved in marble which my wife loved. The location was a few steps away from the beach and only a couple blocks from Lincoln ave. This by far was a very memorible vacation. My wife and I will be returning here and I recommend it to all those looking for the beach and night life suth beach has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All night clubs are a block away

Back to menu Return to top