$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Essex House Hotel and Suites

3 stars
1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Perfect weekend getaway

The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable. The location was perfect. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 5, 2012
Great vacation for a young couple

This hotel has a great location. It is close to all the craziness of South Beach, but is still able... See full review

  • midwestbeachlover
  • Mar 21, 2012
Sophisticated hotel, lounge with free Wi-Fi offers best of South Beach
The Essex House Hotel and Suites is one of the original boutique hotels in South Beach, Miami. Spot the property as the nautical pink 1938 Art Deco exterior. A hedge guards an exclusive swimming pool from the Collins Avenue sidewalk where travelers absorb chic Miami nights under the cool glow of neon. As the sophisticated older sister hotel of the flashy oceanfront Clevelander next door, guests of the Essex House Hotel and Suites make appearances at rooftop pool parties and lively sports bars at their leisure. The beach is only one block away.
Highlights
  • Expertly-restored example of Art Deco in the heart of South Beach
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Sophisticated happy hour
  • Jacuzzi and swimming pool (Clevelander) (Pool Hours are 8am to 5pm daily, weather permitting)
Rooms
Essex House Hotel and Suites accommodations are in chocolate brown and white with solid oak or mahogany furniture. Double-glazed windows highlight the signature curve of the building from inside each room. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and 27-inch cable TVs are provided. In addition to 56 rooms, the Essex House Hotel and Suites boasts 14 suites along the courtyard with Jacuzzis, refrigerators and wet bars.
Features
The Essex House Hotel and Suites lobby is a work of art in muted shades of sand and marbled browns. Admire an Art Deco fireplace and an Everglades mural that was painted and restored five decades later, by Earl LaPan. Refresh with chilled wine or fresh lemonade on beach house sofas surrounded by palms at the Jacuzzi. The Essex lounge serves top-shelf liquor. On the stroll between this hotel and the white sands of South Miami Beach, the Clevelander hotel provides full resort access to guests of the Essex House Hotel and Suites. Room service is available from the Clevelander kitchen. The Essex House Hotel and Suites offers valet parking.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
  • Port of Miami (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Attractions
  • Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Bars and restaurants on Ocean Drive (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Miami Beach Golf Club (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business services (Clevelander)
  • Meeting space (Clevelander)
  • Catering
Policies and fees
  • Guests over 21 years old can use the Clevelander Hotel's amenities. 
  • Children 16 years old and below stay free when accompanied by a paying adult. Children are accepted up to the maximum occupancy of the room.
  • The hotel pool hours are from 8 AM to 5 PM daily, weather permitting.
  • Continental breakfast is available from 7 AM to 10 AM daily. 
  • A $100 USD incidental fee per night is required upon check-in. The fee will be returned upon check-out.
  • For guests who wish to check out early, a 50% early check-out fee will be charged.
  • Valet parking is $34 USD per night.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7808 -80.1313
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport is 20 minutes away & Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport is 45 minutes away.
Area description
Essex House is in the heart of SoBe's international playground, only steps from Ocean Drive and the tranquil, azure blue water of the Atlantic Ocean. We are just a short walk to all the best restaurants, cosmopolitan shops, Lincoln Road Mall's trendy bistros, boutiques and an array of clubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Essex House Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Essex House Hotel and Suites Rooms

Superior Queen
Superior Queen rooms are spacious corner guest rooms with a view of the city- Collins avenue. Double-paned windows. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone. Plasma TV's on Superiors Rooms and Suites (42 inches)
King Suite
One king bed. Tropical courtyard view. Located in Courtyard Building. 480 square feet. Sitting area. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Double-paned windows. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Refrigerator. Marble bathroom with pedestal sink, jetted tub, TV, and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. 42 inch Plasma TV.
Standard double
Street or tropical courtyard view. 200 square feet. Double-paned windows. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Marble bathroom. Nonsmoking.
Standard queen
This room has one Queen sized bed. Spacious guest rooms with designer art deco furnishings. 250 Sqft. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Marble bathroom. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Available at the Clevelander Hotel.

Dining

Lounge & Bar
Essex House features a stylish hotel lounge with a sophisticated but always inviting atmosphere. The perfect before, after and during party place, our centrally located lounge features top-shelf liquor, domestic and imported beer and your favorite red and white wines. Conducive to casual conversation, unwinding after a long day or to getting the party started, House Lounge offers the perfect marriage of classiness and comfort.
Clevelander Hotel
Essex Guest over 21 years of age are welcome to use the Clevelander Hotel amenities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Essex House Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fred
Business
Troy, MI
May 3, 2009

Good value and Great location

Great service and great location. Great value too. Would definitely stay here again. Clevelander is part of this now too. Clevelander reopened this weekend so we experienced the opening. Good times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Dec 30, 2008

A hotel with good cost-performance value

This hotel has good location and it's very close to the south beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Oct 20, 2008

Good Value and Good Location

The Essex House is located in a great location. Just minutes to walk to dining, shopping and the beach. There is a great porch that we used several times to just sit and have a drink with friends. The pool is small, but still a nice setting to cool off and relax in the sun. We are sports fans and each day on the weekend, TV's were set up on the porch for viewing. The suite was a very nice size and included a large marble bathroom that had a tub that easily would fit 2 people. Our sweet had good views overlooking Collins Ave. There was a problem with our air conditioning on the day of our departure, but was never reported to the staff. We did have to ask for shampoo to be replaced and it was brought to our room promptly. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to dine within a few minutes walk from the hotel. All the places that we visted along ocean drive had very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dorchester
Oct 14, 2008

Great Location

This was my first time staying at the the Essex House, and I was very pleased. Its very close to the beach and all the hottest bars on Ocean Drive. Hotel staff was great, will defnitly stay again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

SoBe Night club, Wet Willes, Fat Tuesdays, and Opium Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Elmhurst
Sep 14, 2008

No sleep

If I planned to not sleep much and party every hour I would stay at this hotel. Checking in was fast, but the staff did not take my luggage or walk me to my room. Something was wrong with my first key it did not open my room. There is no refrigerator in the room. I was not happy with the hotel. The only thing that was satisfying was the bed and that I had a place to shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pretty close, stores, nightlife and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2008

Nice Location and Doabale

I enjoyed Essex. It was a few of us in Miami trying to kick it for the weekend and it was a good value and good location. The staff was friendly (Nury at the front desk was really nice). We went on a cruise and got back to Miami early and they allowed us to store our luggage there when we returned and I thought that was really nice. The air conditioning was excellent. It is within walking distance of all the South Beach clubs and the restaurants. A block from the beach. EXCELLENT location.... The downfall was that you couldn't open any windows, so it was somewhat of a musty smell in the room. It just needed a little natural air. There was also signs of mildew around the floor boards. Lastly, the blinds were really dirty. A little more upkeep and they would be off the chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a FatBurber and Pizza place around the corner on Washington Ave. The food is cheap here. The restaurants on Ocean have some good lunch specials, but after tax and gratuity, you really lose the deal. So if you want cheper meals, go around on Washington Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Will stay again!

Loved everything about this hotel! From the moment we arrived, I knew we picked the perfect place. The staff was more than accomodating and the hotel was just adorable. I've stayed at many five star hotels, and this boutique ranks up there in terms of service. The rooms were very comfortable - and the free continental breakfast was amazing. I'll definitely stay at the Essex Hotel next time I'm in South Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very centrally located to all dining and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tonawanda
May 23, 2008

great location

The essex was an okay hotel rooms were very small, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

clubs are close walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 5, 2008

The best hotel experience ever.

I just want to start off by saying.. I loved my stay at the Essex House Hotel. For one, the location was perfect. Its located on the Corner of Collins and 10th Street. The beach is a block away and the night life is just a short walk around the corner. Our flight got in quite early and our check in time was 3pm. So, I called to see if we could check in early and they allowed us to. When we got there we were greeted by the very friendly staff memebers. They let us know of all the amentities such as the bar and pool (they provide you with free towels) and assured us that if we had any questions that they would always be availble to help us...AND THEY WERE! ( they also provide club passes and info on various tours around miami.) The rooms were very clean and suprisingly a bit roomier than i expected. The bed linens were clean and the comforters and pillows were super comfy. I had a great nights rest. The courtyard at the hotel was beautiful. I spent so many nights and days just sitting in the breezeway enjoying the yummy coconut mojitos from the bar and made friends with the other people staying at the hotel. I also had a blast in the pool area. It was very clean..the water was refreshing and i loved that one side of the pool was always shaded. (they also provide some umbrellas if you can get out there early enough to snag one.) The hotel staff was great during happy hour always making sure we were all set with drinks even when we were by the pool. (Drink prices extremely reasonable) I can't tell you how many friends i made right there in the hotel. I think we had the whole 2nd and 3rd floor hanging out outside every night as if we'd known eachother forever...maybe it was luck but we had more fun right at the hotel some nights than we actually did going out! Right up to the very last night all of us gathered outside in the lounge area to enjoy our last night there. I absolutely loved everything about this hotel. From the cleanliness to the frienliness... the service was impecable! My only advice to you is... PLEASE NO MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE IN THE ELEVATOR. After a couple of drinks we seemed to miss that sign and 4 of us got stuck up on the second floor. Only for about a minute before someone rescued us. Lesson learnt! and it was quite the hilarious memory to take back home with us. The only other negative thing i could think of is the view... depending where you stay you may get a view of the Clevelander Construction site. Which didn't bother me any.. i waved at the construction workers every morning and it only made me eager for my next visit because i can't wait to see what its going to look like when the construction is done.... =) I plan on staying there again on my next visit to south beach... Hands down the best hotel experience ever. I recommend it to couples, girl vacations, guy vacations, hell i recommend it to any one who's down for a good time. For the price, your getting alot out of this hotel. You have to check it out... You wont be sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2008

fun location

great location and front porch was beautiful. room was a bit musty but clean. we didnt plan to hang out in our room so it suited our needs just fine. one block from ocean. we would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

right in the middle of all the action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top