$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Essex House Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Essex House Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The weatherman
Business
San Francisco CA
Nov 12, 2010

Very pleasant stay

The front desk staff was very friendly, we always felt welcome, they provided information regarding local attractions and points of interest, we got as many beach towels as we need on time. The bartender was always available to tell us everything about the happy hour, he also brought our drinks to the poolside. By the way the swimmingpool was very clean, the only inconvenient was the size, it is very small, and we had to wait other people to come out of the pool to go in the water, it is not very comfortable to share space more than 3 people inside. Other downside: the valet parking service; very overpriced per day and we had to wait around 20-25 minutes to get our car at the front door every time we needed it. The lobby is simply delightful, very quiet, fresh and great place to relax, sipping a glass of wine while reading. In general everything was very good and pleasant. We definitely would like to come back. We recomend it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Snorkeling in Key Largo with the South Beach Divers company, located on Washington Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
regular person
Business
NY, NY
Aug 22, 2010

I'm in Miami Beach...

Wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn NY
Aug 14, 2010

good location

good service,food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 15, 2010

Pleasant Stay!

Wow.....what a cozy place. Small room but very clean and well kept. Outstanding customer service. The male bar tender the weekend of July 9, 2010; ROCK!!! He makes the BEST blueberry and mango mojitos!!! OMG...and the food is good too. Just a fabulous place to stay for the 30 and over crew who are looking for a twist of excitement and lots of fun. This hotel is definitely for the grown & sexy!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bedridden
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 16, 2010

Don't get sick while traveling

Spent most the time bedridden due to a stomache flu; not the fault of the hotel by any means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't get sick while on vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
May 2, 2010

Great location, quiet hotel

The Essex House is in a great location in South Beach and at the same time it's a quiet hotel, where you can get away from all the craziness. Everything is walkable in this area, which is great because you don't need to rent a car. The hotel is small, but very accommodating and great style. They have a really nice wrap around porch as well as a pool where you can sunbathe. The pool is small, but the beach is literally a block away. Also, the Essex House is part of the Clevelander Hotel (party hotel) so you have full access to their property ... they have a nice rooftop bar with beds to lay on. My room was on the first floor, which I was nervous about the street noise, but it turned out the rooms on the first floor face the suites so there wasn't any noise at all. As a matter of fact, there was a waterfall located outside our window which was quite soothing. However, the AC unit was very LOUD but it's so hot you need to keep it on and the water pressure was horrible (not sure if it was only my room ... but I defiantly got burned a few times). The standard room is pretty small, I would get a deluxe or a suite (unfortunately they were booked when I went). We had trouble finding counter space to put our toiletries in the bathroom. The whole hotel smells like bath & body works, has good toiletries and they give you homemade lemonade in the lobby (which is very good). Also, they're wireless is fast and free! They have a happy hour and so does the Clevelander. I would defiantly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Almost everywhere charges tip ... average is about 17%. What they don't tell you is that this tip is at your discretion (its written in tiny letters on the menu). Therefore, if you aren't satisfied with the tip, you can always tell them to lower it or add more. Most of these places that include tip have bad service. Puerto Sagua (a Cuban restaurant) on 7th and Collins has great Cuban food for cheap and they do not include the tip. Also, they serve a lot! I ate at the Front Porch everyday for breakfast ... the food is fresh and worth the price (they include tip), they are located at 14th and Ocean Drive. Spiga has excellent Italian food and very fresh, they are located at 1228 Collins. There is a gelato place to the right of the hotel on Collins (Lecca Lecca) which is fabulous (kidda pricey but worth it). Shops are located near by. To the right of the hotel on Collins is a souvenir shop which is cheaper then those on Lincoln Road. If you are looking for a bathing suit there are many stores on Lincoln Road that have bathing suit pieces for $10 (the shops are between Washington and Collins - Moda Xpress was one of them)other stores charge $30 a piece. Lincoln Road is about a 15 minute walk. Everything is in walking distance or you can hop on the bus, cabs are very expensive and not all take credit cards. Getting back to the airport ... $32 for a cab or $2.35 for the bus. Don't take a shuttle, its more then the cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
laguna niguel cali
May 1, 2010

essex house

night life is amazing. more amenities would be great. amazing trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Apr 30, 2010

Very impressed.

I enjoyed the stay here and Great Happy Hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Bum Betty
Business
Fairfax Station, VA
Apr 14, 2010

Great location for the price!!!

We went to the beach, walked to different shopping areas and relaxed outside the hotel reading. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful in every way. Probably the best service I have ever received at a hotel. The one thing lacking in the room was a dresser to put clothes in. Overall, it was a good trip at a great price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a chair on the beach. Very comfy and worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paison
Business
New York
Apr 13, 2010

Great location great price

Hotel was in a great location, everything from dining to shopping was in walking distance, and service was excellant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top