$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Essex House Hotel and Suites

3 stars
1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Perfect weekend getaway

The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable. The location was perfect. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 5, 2012
Great vacation for a young couple

This hotel has a great location. It is close to all the craziness of South Beach, but is still able... See full review

  • midwestbeachlover
  • Mar 21, 2012
Sophisticated hotel, lounge with free Wi-Fi offers best of South Beach
The Essex House Hotel and Suites is one of the original boutique hotels in South Beach, Miami. Spot the property as the nautical pink 1938 Art Deco exterior. A hedge guards an exclusive swimming pool from the Collins Avenue sidewalk where travelers absorb chic Miami nights under the cool glow of neon. As the sophisticated older sister hotel of the flashy oceanfront Clevelander next door, guests of the Essex House Hotel and Suites make appearances at rooftop pool parties and lively sports bars at their leisure. The beach is only one block away.
Highlights
  • Expertly-restored example of Art Deco in the heart of South Beach
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Sophisticated happy hour
  • Jacuzzi and swimming pool (Clevelander) (Pool Hours are 8am to 5pm daily, weather permitting)
Rooms
Essex House Hotel and Suites accommodations are in chocolate brown and white with solid oak or mahogany furniture. Double-glazed windows highlight the signature curve of the building from inside each room. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and 27-inch cable TVs are provided. In addition to 56 rooms, the Essex House Hotel and Suites boasts 14 suites along the courtyard with Jacuzzis, refrigerators and wet bars.
Features
The Essex House Hotel and Suites lobby is a work of art in muted shades of sand and marbled browns. Admire an Art Deco fireplace and an Everglades mural that was painted and restored five decades later, by Earl LaPan. Refresh with chilled wine or fresh lemonade on beach house sofas surrounded by palms at the Jacuzzi. The Essex lounge serves top-shelf liquor. On the stroll between this hotel and the white sands of South Miami Beach, the Clevelander hotel provides full resort access to guests of the Essex House Hotel and Suites. Room service is available from the Clevelander kitchen. The Essex House Hotel and Suites offers valet parking.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
  • Port of Miami (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Attractions
  • Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Bars and restaurants on Ocean Drive (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Miami Beach Golf Club (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business services (Clevelander)
  • Meeting space (Clevelander)
  • Catering
Policies and fees
  • Guests over 21 years old can use the Clevelander Hotel's amenities. 
  • Children 16 years old and below stay free when accompanied by a paying adult. Children are accepted up to the maximum occupancy of the room.
  • The hotel pool hours are from 8 AM to 5 PM daily, weather permitting.
  • Continental breakfast is available from 7 AM to 10 AM daily. 
  • A $100 USD incidental fee per night is required upon check-in. The fee will be returned upon check-out.
  • For guests who wish to check out early, a 50% early check-out fee will be charged.
  • Valet parking is $34 USD per night.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7808 -80.1313
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport is 20 minutes away & Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport is 45 minutes away.
Area description
Essex House is in the heart of SoBe's international playground, only steps from Ocean Drive and the tranquil, azure blue water of the Atlantic Ocean. We are just a short walk to all the best restaurants, cosmopolitan shops, Lincoln Road Mall's trendy bistros, boutiques and an array of clubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Essex House Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Essex House Hotel and Suites Rooms

Superior King
Superior King rooms are spacious corner guest rooms with a view of the city- Collins avenue. Double-paned windows. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone. Plasma TV's on Superiors Rooms and Suites (42 inches)
King Suite
One king bed. Tropical courtyard view. Located in Courtyard Building. 480 square feet. Sitting area. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Double-paned windows. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Refrigerator. Marble bathroom with pedestal sink, jetted tub, TV, and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. 42 inch Plasma TV.
Double Double
Street or tropical courtyard view. 200 square feet. Double-paned windows. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Marble bathroom. Nonsmoking.
Queen Room
This room has one Queen sized bed. Spacious guest rooms with designer art deco furnishings. 250 Sqft. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Marble bathroom. Nonsmoking.
Double Suite
2 king beds. Tropical courtyard view. Located in Courtyard Building. 480 square feet. Sitting area. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Double-paned windows. Cable TV. CD player/clock radio. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Refrigerator. Marble bathroom with pedestal sink, jetted tub, TV, and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. 42 inch Plasma TV.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lounge & Bar
Essex House features a stylish hotel lounge with a sophisticated but always inviting atmosphere. The perfect before, after and during party place, our centrally located lounge features top-shelf liquor, domestic and imported beer and your favorite red and white wines. Conducive to casual conversation, unwinding after a long day or to getting the party started, House Lounge offers the perfect marriage of classiness and comfort.
Clevelander Hotel
Essex Guest over 21 years of age are welcome to use the Clevelander Hotel amenities.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Available at the Clevelander Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Essex House Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CheyenneAutumn
Business
New York
Jul 16, 2012

Short Beach Vacation

I had concerns based on another review that this hotel was going to be extremely loud but that was not the case. Of course being so close to the beach and all the nightlife the hotel had a nice casual party atmosphere but it wasn't out of control. The location was one block away from the beach and the suite we were in was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
midwestbeachlover
Business
Ohio, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great vacation for a young couple

This hotel has a great location. It is close to all the craziness of South Beach, but is still able to remain pretty tame and relaxed. You are extremely close to the beach and within walking distance of great dining. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and the hotel is very clean and well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to this hotel is The Clevelander, which is operated by the same people. Staying at The Essex House allows you special access to all of the night life festivities The Clevelander has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moving to Miami
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Great experience for a great price!

I would recommend this hotel to other travelers and would stay here again myself! We had a rental car and valets were always very prompt with parking and retrieving our car. Never had to wait more than 5 minutes. The bar and adjoining Clevelander restaurant were very convenient to have nearby, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was also nice that we could then even bring our drinks up to our room. The area around the hotel is unbeatable, as the beach, places to eat and shopping were only 1 short block away. The staff was also pretty attentive and would give recommendations on places to see. The only complaint I would have is that when we recently stayed, our room (with two double beds) was actually a conjoining room with another guest. There was a locked door between us, but we could still hear everything on the other side. I also would not recommend bringing small children either, since it can be very noisy outdoors at night. But I think that is to be expected anywhere on South Beach! Overall, I was very happy with my stay. Hotel provided everything we needed and more!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dined at the Avalon restaurant just south of hotel on Ocean Ave. Amazing seafood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trinigyal
Business
NY
Oct 11, 2011

Great Time

Essex has been one of the best hotels ive stayed in in Miami!!! Staff was friendly, rooms were kept clean! Def plan on staying there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kev and Miko
Business
DC
Oct 2, 2011

Good Times!!!

The Essex House hotel was decent but the service was just WONDERFUL. It's the perfect location for shopping, dining and if you're the partying type it's in a great spot for that as well. The room service was very nice and got our food to our room in a timely fashion. The bar (like most of the other hotels there) had free beer and wine for happy hour and the bar staff was phenomenal. No need to rent scooters, bikes or take cabs because you'll be pretty much in the middle of all of the action. We'd stay there again no questions asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MXMX
Business
México
Sep 1, 2011

Friendly Personnel

Very customer oriented and helpful, the guy at the front desk wad always helping us with instructions on how to get to different places and recommendation on where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua cuban cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joenyc
Business
ny
Aug 31, 2011

Great place

wonderful location. friendly staff. nice hotel. no hbo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 15, 2010

Quiet getaway in great Sobe location

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for it's value and proximity to Lincoln Rd shopping and restaurants, just one block from the beach, and in walking distance to Ocean Drive and all the fantastic south beach destinations. This hotel gave us the rest and relaxation we needed away from the loud tourist club scene. The hotel is bare bones - they do not offer breakfast, the rooms lacks a mini-fridge for leftovers, and bathroom does not have a ventilation fan - but the rooms were very clean, the desk staff were helpful and courteous, and the free granny smith apples and lemonade in the beautiful lobby were delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel lacks dining options, but it just a short walk away from many restaurants and cafes. We did not go hungry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gtaguy
Business
Toronto, Canada
Dec 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I booked this hotel for a day before our cruise. I chose the suite which is larger and has a jacuzzi in the room. Day before we arrived, we called and requested for a quieter room as some people complained of noise at night. However when we stayed there (on Thursday night) south beach was dead (maybe it was little bit cold that day) and there weren't any party going around the place. We had a nice sleep. Overall the location was great, the room was clean and staff were friendly. Bad stuff:1) When we arrived at hotel, there was a party going on in the lobby. We were told it will be over by 8 PM and it was just a casual party for (I guess) for business people. Not much noise and as they said, it was done by 8 PM. We didn't have any issues except dragging the luggage through these people to reach our room. Staff did apologize for any inconvenience. 2) The shower faucet wasn't working on suite 3 (hope they fixed it now) and we were forced to just use the jacuzzi tub to fill up water and take bath. It wasn't a big issue as the jacuzzi tub was working well. However in the morning we couldn't take a shower. Since we were leaving for cruise, we planned to take a shower in the cruise. We were given additional $25 credit (they normally offer $25 for free breakfast at Clevelander) but it was gone when we bought 2 bottles of Fiji water bottles and 2 green teas (yes, I know that's kind of expensive). Note they also charge 18% gratitude on all bills. 3) When we asked the Bell boy to book a taxi for us he called one and informed it will be $18 to port of Miami. We left the luggage with him and went for a walk as we had some time to kill. When we were at Clevelander, we saw the Bell boy and he said everything is set and when we are ready taxi will come. Anyways, we tipped him and went back to hotel. When we asked the next bell boy in duty to call the taxi, he said it will be $23. We informed that previous bell boy already arranged one and it was only $18. While we were having this conversation, we saw the previous bell boy walking pass the hotel so we called him and ask him to call the taxi he booked. He called the taxi from his cell and said just pay $18 everything should be OK. Again we tipped the 2nd bell boy as he helped with the luggage. While on the middle of the trip, we asked the taxi driver about the price as he didn't turn on the meter. He said it's $24 flat rate and that's what he negotiated with bell boy. We got mad but didn't want be dropped off in the middle of the highway. Anyways we were forced to pay $24 (which they normally charge from MIA to port of Miami). We don't mind paying extra but hate to get cheated. We learned a lesson so be careful. Confirm the price before you get in or ask the meter to be turned on. Don't trust bell boys even if they are nice to you. Maybe we should have just went with the meter instead of negotiating a flat rate.4) You can't take any drinks or food into the room, unless you order it from the Clevelander room service. Good Stuff: 1) It's a block from south beach & near everything you wanted (clubs, restaurants, shops & etc)2) Clean & comfy room. Looks like they just upgraded the carpet, at least my room looked like it. 3) Can't beat the price ($153) for the suite [...]. I couldn't find better deal anywhere else near south beach. 4) Don't need rental car. You can take bus airport flyer from miami airport (pay $2.35) and get off at last stop (Washington & Collins Ave ?) and walk few blocks or take SOBE local bus (pay .25c) to the hotel. 5) Free access to Clevelander roof top Terrace & 4th floor terrace. It was nice view from the roof top terrace. 6) $25 breakfast credit per room at Clevelander. More than enough for your breakfast & tips. 7) Front desk staff (sorry I forgot her name) was friendly and helpful. 8) Free wireless internet. 9) There is a parking just beside the hotel. I'm not sure how much it cost. But according to my research they go from $8/12hrs. Valet parking also available ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Essex House Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The weatherman
Business
San Francisco CA
Nov 12, 2010

Very pleasant stay

The front desk staff was very friendly, we always felt welcome, they provided information regarding local attractions and points of interest, we got as many beach towels as we need on time. The bartender was always available to tell us everything about the happy hour, he also brought our drinks to the poolside. By the way the swimmingpool was very clean, the only inconvenient was the size, it is very small, and we had to wait other people to come out of the pool to go in the water, it is not very comfortable to share space more than 3 people inside. Other downside: the valet parking service; very overpriced per day and we had to wait around 20-25 minutes to get our car at the front door every time we needed it. The lobby is simply delightful, very quiet, fresh and great place to relax, sipping a glass of wine while reading. In general everything was very good and pleasant. We definitely would like to come back. We recomend it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Snorkeling in Key Largo with the South Beach Divers company, located on Washington Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top