$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

5 stars
940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
30 reviews
Adult escape

Staff was very friendly & accommodating ...location was perfect no car required...the tours are not... See full review

  • FSHS
  • Aug 16, 2014
Loved It

Stayed here for a Winter Party /Spring Break 2014. great location by the beach, clubs, and... See full review

  • AMTC Visitor
  • Mar 13, 2014
Miami Beach boutique hotel offers a trendy rooftop lounge, glass-enclosed pool and an on-site restaurant and complimentary breakfast. Lummus Park and miles of sand lie just across Ocean Drive. A flat-screen TV, iPod docking station and minibar are found in each bright room of the Hotel Breakwater. The elegant bathroom offers a rain-style shower, 2 sinks and organic amenities. Guests can arrange a personal trainer or a Pilates class at the modern gym. I Paparazzi at the Breakwater serves fine cuisine as well as a full bar. Ocean's 10 provides happy hour beverages and Mediterranean cuisine.
Breakfast Buffet is available Monday - Thursday 7am - 10am - Friday 7am - 11am and Saturday/Sunday 7am - 11:30am. A credit card is required to check in. Hotel charges a resort fee of $22.00 per night. Additional resort fee of $10 for more than 2 occupants in a room.

Hotel Map

25.7799 -80.1307
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport - 11 Miles
Area description
Located in the heart of Ocean Drive this property offers

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior suites feature modern furnishings with stylish elements complete with luxurious fabrics and gorgeous amenities such as flat-screen TVs, fully stocked minibars, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi, high speed internet access and spacious bathrooms with imported marble flooring and glass enclosed rainforest showers. Junior suites have an additional sitting area with sofa, table and chair.
Oceanfront Room
The room offers one king bed. Enjoy the spectacular sunrises over the atlantic ocean. The Oceanfront units truly encompass what South Beach is all aboutthe beaches! Featuring all of the amenities of their Superior rooms, the Oceanfront units are for the traveler that is looking for a little more spice and excitement.
Rooftop Suite
Enjoy the true meaning of privacy and seclusion in our Roof Top Suites. Located on the roof of the hotel, these suites feature modern furnishings with stylish elements complete with luxurious fabrics and gorgeous amenities such as flat-screen TVs, fully stocked minibars, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi, high speed internet access and spacious bathrooms with imported marble flooring and glass enclosed rainforest showers. Additionally, these suites have a sitting area with sofa, chair and table, a spacious terrace with roof top Jacuzzi and privacy hedge.
Superior Room
The room offers one king bed. Enjoy the very best of South Beach Lifestyle. All rooms feature elegant bathrooms with rejuvenating rainforest showers, double sinks, organic cosmetic products, king-size bed, foyer area, flat-screen TV, entertainment unit, mini bar, sitting area, writing desk, high speed internet access and iPod docking station.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

I Paparazzi
Fine cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 30
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenni Ann
Business
NYC
Sep 9, 2014

Great Location in the center of all the SoBe action!

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel! We got a great deal on the price, otherwise I don't think we would have afforded it, because I believe it is somewhere around 300+/night. The hotel is located right next door to the clevelander, which is great if youre looking to have access to the parties! But not so great if your room is overlooking it, like ours was. The music is blasting from 11 am until 5 am, which kinda stinks if youre trying to sleep in! But we were there to party not to relax so we dealt with it. It is 2 or 3 doors down from mangos and across the street from the beach. It is a great location!!! I would just rec to ask for your room to be away from the clevelander. The woman at check in, natalie I believe was a doll! She was full of info, super helpful and gave us great recs every day for restaurants. Anything we asked for she was able to help with. The cons of the hotel is that the there is only 1 ice machine and the hotel is split up into 2 sides and we happened to be on the opposite side of the ice machine. The pool is very small and way too hot. It felt more like a hot tub than a refreshing pool to take a dip in. Not a horrible thing, as we spent more time at the beach anyway. But we might have spent more time at the pool if the water wasn't so warm. The rooms were clean and comfy, modern and updated. I gave a 3 star for amenities, only bc there is no gym, ice machine so far away and the pool was small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaken's Husband
Business
Missouri City, Tx
Aug 12, 2014

Miami Couples Retreat

We visited Miami in mid July and the hotel was great, clean, and filled with entertainment. The hotel staff was very helpful from arrival to departure. There is nothing like being greet by happy energetic people. The moment the shuttle can stopped Pablo was there to get our luggage and put it up for safe keeping as we arrived before check-in. The daytime and night life was fantastic, now I must if you are going to stay in the room and sleep this is not the spot for you. That was not us so it was very enjoyable. We are in the process of booking our trip here for the same time same place!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ez rj
Business
rio de janeiro
Mar 28, 2014

never stay at esplendor (no esplendor at all!)

breakwater or breakvacation ? if you don't to sleep , if you like to pay high price and get terrible service , if you like the smell of old beer and dirt carpets , and a very very strange crowd around, this your hotel. the pictures at the website are amazing but the reality is a nightmare. for sure this NOT a 5 star hotel, by any meaning. and finally they charge you a resort fee .... it's joke .... the swiming pool is a small as a jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurant ocean eleven

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Me from Ohio
Business
Dayton
Feb 9, 2014

Not a good experience

While the room was good, getting there was nearly impossible. First of all locating the hotel, we were looking for Esplendor. No where did the name Esplendor appear, even business next door never heard of it. They go by the name Breakwater. After driving around the block three times (we have GPS) I finally found a place to park so I could walk. After finding it I had to pay $35.00 to park for a day. After arriving the initial hotel looked good but we were put in north tower which was very run down. Paid $198.00 a night which is not cheap. Electronic keys did not work well 2nd set didn't either. Had to insert 6-7 times to get elevator to work and then had to insert 6-7 time to get into the room. Had to ask for everything, towels, wash clothes, beach towels etc. naturally they wanted a tip each time. All brochures said chairs were included on beach with the $22.00 resort fee, they were not. Room was very good, but getting there was an adventure. Breakfast was also good except should include a soft drink not just coffee my wife doesn't drink coffee, soft drink cost $4.00 with $1.00 tip. Staff was ok depending who you talked to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Specify what size drink you want. Wife doesn't usually drink but she did ask for a Pina Collata for lunch. They brought out a 40 oz. drink that cost $32.00. If my wife drank a drink that size I would have to carry her to the room. She did drink it but it had no effect on her and I don't think they had any alcohol in it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MB fishfan
Business
Lima, Ohio
Nov 26, 2013

Great stay for those who like the night life.

Our stay was in the center of the activity on Ocean Drive which wS a great location to experience the Art Deco area. However, we were not prepared for the street noise late into the night and were kept awake with loud music from the Breakwater and the hotel next door until 2am each night and 4 am on Friday night. Had we known this would be the case we would not have chosen this hotel. We paid extra for an ocean view suite but could not actually see the ocean. Definitely a hotel for the young party goers and not those looking to relax in the evening. Next trip I will opt to stay in North Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon Paul and Fifi
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 6, 2013

Fantastic Hotel

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 weeks ago and our experience couldn't have been better. The hotel location is great...walk out the front door, cross the street and you're on the beach. They provide vouchers for free beach chairs and towels (though you'll pay for an umbrella if you want one) and have bikes for your use free of charge. From the time we arrived, staff took very good care of us. First, they allowed us to check in at noon rather than waiting until 4. We asked for extra towels and they had them to us in no time. The room was large, bed very comfortable, and unlike much of South Beach, the bathroom was large and very well lit. Luis, the doorman, was incredible. He gave us great dinner recommendations and told us about a little "hole in the wall" to get Cuban coffee, and a great rooftop pool party at another hotel where the doorman granted us free access. The day we left they gave us a late checkout, stored our luggage, gave us additional beach vouchers and allowed us to use the bikes again...even though we had already checked out. We would highly recommend this hotel and are going back on our next trip to SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

3 blocks off the beach, Espanola Way...closed to vehicle traffic...one block with just one restaurant after another. We ate at Nuvo, a great Italian place. We left at midnight and they were still seating people. A great alternative to the places on Ocean Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetsetter85
Business
New York, New York
Sep 13, 2013

Nice Vaca, Could've been better!

The hotel is in a great location. It made this hotel perfect for us. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Although house keeping sucked. I found myself having to call in toilet paper and towels because it was never replenished. Over all the room was pretty clean and comfortable. The hotel pool area is extremely small. Lucky for us the times we were there no one else was. I liked my hotel, but for some reason i don't think it'll be my first choice next time. I'm used to bigger hotels that offer more. But it works out cause of what surrounds you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
50 and Retired
Business
Little rock AR
Feb 26, 2013

Lovely experience

From curb side service to check-in, from room decor and amenities, it was a very nice experience. Great location. Great restaurant and bar. Our view was poor, as expected when getting a special rate, but the other amenities made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gavnuk
Business
Washington state
Feb 9, 2013

Horrible

Shower didnt work properly, very small room. Restaurant waitress very rude. Have to pay for parking plus they were trying to charge us extra for another day. ALWAYS check your receipt and charges cuz it seemed like they were trying to charge us extra at the restaurant and the hotel. Would not come back to that hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickyV
Business
South Beach
Feb 6, 2013

Great Time!

Hotel was very clean and accomodating even if they were booked solid. The hotel is located in the heart of the Ocean drive scene. Lots of restaurants and things to do. Beach is within walking distance. Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top