$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

5 stars
940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
30 reviews
Adult escape

Staff was very friendly & accommodating ...location was perfect no car required...the tours are not... See full review

  • FSHS
  • Aug 16, 2014
Loved It

Stayed here for a Winter Party /Spring Break 2014. great location by the beach, clubs, and... See full review

  • AMTC Visitor
  • Mar 13, 2014
Miami Beach boutique hotel offers a trendy rooftop lounge, glass-enclosed pool and an on-site restaurant and complimentary breakfast. Lummus Park and miles of sand lie just across Ocean Drive. A flat-screen TV, iPod docking station and minibar are found in each bright room of the Hotel Breakwater. The elegant bathroom offers a rain-style shower, 2 sinks and organic amenities. Guests can arrange a personal trainer or a Pilates class at the modern gym. I Paparazzi at the Breakwater serves fine cuisine as well as a full bar. Ocean's 10 provides happy hour beverages and Mediterranean cuisine.
Breakfast Buffet is available Monday - Thursday 7am - 10am - Friday 7am - 11am and Saturday/Sunday 7am - 11:30am. A credit card is required to check in. Hotel charges a resort fee of $22.00 per night. Additional resort fee of $10 for more than 2 occupants in a room.

Hotel Map

25.7799 -80.1307
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport - 11 Miles
Area description
Located in the heart of Ocean Drive this property offers

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior suites feature modern furnishings with stylish elements complete with luxurious fabrics and gorgeous amenities such as flat-screen TVs, fully stocked minibars, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi, high speed internet access and spacious bathrooms with imported marble flooring and glass enclosed rainforest showers. Junior suites have an additional sitting area with sofa, table and chair.
Oceanfront Room
The room offers one king bed. Enjoy the spectacular sunrises over the atlantic ocean. The Oceanfront units truly encompass what South Beach is all aboutthe beaches! Featuring all of the amenities of their Superior rooms, the Oceanfront units are for the traveler that is looking for a little more spice and excitement.
Rooftop Suite
Enjoy the true meaning of privacy and seclusion in our Roof Top Suites. Located on the roof of the hotel, these suites feature modern furnishings with stylish elements complete with luxurious fabrics and gorgeous amenities such as flat-screen TVs, fully stocked minibars, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi, high speed internet access and spacious bathrooms with imported marble flooring and glass enclosed rainforest showers. Additionally, these suites have a sitting area with sofa, chair and table, a spacious terrace with roof top Jacuzzi and privacy hedge.
Superior Room
The room offers one king bed. Enjoy the very best of South Beach Lifestyle. All rooms feature elegant bathrooms with rejuvenating rainforest showers, double sinks, organic cosmetic products, king-size bed, foyer area, flat-screen TV, entertainment unit, mini bar, sitting area, writing desk, high speed internet access and iPod docking station.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

I Paparazzi
Fine cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slk7uk
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Mar 13, 2012

The WORST hotel experience - do not stay at this hotel if you need to sleep

Insanely loud music until after 4am, impossible to sleep No privacy in the room, too close to the pool, had to keep the blinds down the entire day To top it all when we left on morning we waited 50 minutes for our car which was in valet - and when the car arrived my husbands car phone charger had been STOLEN. I emailed the hotel manager with the above complaints - one week later I have yet to receive a response. Without doubt I have never stayed somewhere so unhelpful, lack of customer service and appreciation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gavnuk
Washington state
Feb 9, 2013

Horrible

Shower didnt work properly, very small room. Restaurant waitress very rude. Have to pay for parking plus they were trying to charge us extra for another day. ALWAYS check your receipt and charges cuz it seemed like they were trying to charge us extra at the restaurant and the hotel. Would not come back to that hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelingMoose
Denver, CO
May 21, 2012

Expected noise but this was ridiculous...

Staying on South Beach you expect noise, this was so bad, we left early (and still paid). Went with a 21 and 23 year old and it was even too much for them. Live bands/DJ right outside the glass walled windows, ended at 4:30am, started up at about 8:00am. Like sleeping IN a club, that loud. Rooms are nice but didn't get cleaned or restocked, just made the bed. Staff (save one girl) were really rude (and we tipped well). Accused us of only booking a room for 2 when my confirmation showed 3 and had proof we'd confirmed directly with the hotel. if you plan on partying all night and then getting up early, stay here. Otherwise STAY AWAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

In Miami (South Beach especially) gratuity is almost always included and some places kind of hide it...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ez rj
rio de janeiro
Mar 28, 2014

never stay at esplendor (no esplendor at all!)

breakwater or breakvacation ? if you don't to sleep , if you like to pay high price and get terrible service , if you like the smell of old beer and dirt carpets , and a very very strange crowd around, this your hotel. the pictures at the website are amazing but the reality is a nightmare. for sure this NOT a 5 star hotel, by any meaning. and finally they charge you a resort fee .... it's joke .... the swiming pool is a small as a jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurant ocean eleven

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JChi
Chicago
May 8, 2012

Not impressed at all.

Staff was not particularly friendly, nor were they very accommodating. The music outside of our room was extremely loud from 3pm-3am every night we stayed...so loud that it vibrated the windowsill in our room. It would have been nice to have been warned this before checking in so that we could have requested a different room. This vacation did not provide us with any well-slept nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Me from Ohio
Dayton
Feb 9, 2014

Not a good experience

While the room was good, getting there was nearly impossible. First of all locating the hotel, we were looking for Esplendor. No where did the name Esplendor appear, even business next door never heard of it. They go by the name Breakwater. After driving around the block three times (we have GPS) I finally found a place to park so I could walk. After finding it I had to pay $35.00 to park for a day. After arriving the initial hotel looked good but we were put in north tower which was very run down. Paid $198.00 a night which is not cheap. Electronic keys did not work well 2nd set didn't either. Had to insert 6-7 times to get elevator to work and then had to insert 6-7 time to get into the room. Had to ask for everything, towels, wash clothes, beach towels etc. naturally they wanted a tip each time. All brochures said chairs were included on beach with the $22.00 resort fee, they were not. Room was very good, but getting there was an adventure. Breakfast was also good except should include a soft drink not just coffee my wife doesn't drink coffee, soft drink cost $4.00 with $1.00 tip. Staff was ok depending who you talked to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Specify what size drink you want. Wife doesn't usually drink but she did ask for a Pina Collata for lunch. They brought out a 40 oz. drink that cost $32.00. If my wife drank a drink that size I would have to carry her to the room. She did drink it but it had no effect on her and I don't think they had any alcohol in it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KClapp1974
Coconut Creek, FL
Dec 26, 2012

Good

Very Clean, Good food, Centrally located will recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wellington Mom
Wellington Florida
Oct 8, 2012

Location Location !!!

Location was awesome. Just what we expected since we wanted to saty in south beach to party. This Hotel had a live band show and a DJ after for fun dancing. Negative, I booked 1BR/1BR- VIP 5 Star - Sea View 1 King bed. I was put in a tiny room with a 1 double bed and hardly no sea view. The room was dusty and bathroom counter tops was dirty and full of hair. Carpet in the hallways need deep cleaning. This Hotel is definitely not a 5 Star Hotel. Not worth for the money I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Live band and DJ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetsetter85
New York, New York
Sep 13, 2013

Nice Vaca, Could've been better!

The hotel is in a great location. It made this hotel perfect for us. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Although house keeping sucked. I found myself having to call in toilet paper and towels because it was never replenished. Over all the room was pretty clean and comfortable. The hotel pool area is extremely small. Lucky for us the times we were there no one else was. I liked my hotel, but for some reason i don't think it'll be my first choice next time. I'm used to bigger hotels that offer more. But it works out cause of what surrounds you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MB fishfan
Lima, Ohio
Nov 26, 2013

Great stay for those who like the night life.

Our stay was in the center of the activity on Ocean Drive which wS a great location to experience the Art Deco area. However, we were not prepared for the street noise late into the night and were kept awake with loud music from the Breakwater and the hotel next door until 2am each night and 4 am on Friday night. Had we known this would be the case we would not have chosen this hotel. We paid extra for an ocean view suite but could not actually see the ocean. Definitely a hotel for the young party goers and not those looking to relax in the evening. Next trip I will opt to stay in North Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search