$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

5 stars
View map of 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
35 reviews
First cruise!

This hotel is wonderful, however the $22 room fee is unfair to the guests because it is a mandatory... See full review

  • Ms. Hood
  • Jun 6, 2015
Best trip

Everything about this hotel was excellent. The staff was very accommodating. The pool was not big... See full review

  • BRIANNE C.
  • May 22, 2015
Miami Beach boutique hotel offers a trendy rooftop lounge, glass-enclosed pool and an on-site restaurant and complimentary breakfast. Lummus Park and miles of sand lie just across Ocean Drive. A flat-screen TV, iPod docking station and minibar are found in each bright room of the Hotel Breakwater. The elegant bathroom offers a rain-style shower, 2 sinks and organic amenities. Guests can arrange a personal trainer or a Pilates class at the modern gym. I Paparazzi at the Breakwater serves fine cuisine as well as a full bar. Ocean's 10 provides happy hour beverages and Mediterranean cuisine.
Breakfast Buffet is available Monday - Thursday 7am - 10am - Friday 7am - 11am and Saturday/Sunday 7am - 11:30am. A credit card is required to check in. Hotel charges a resort fee of $22.00 per night. Additional resort fee of $10 for more than 2 occupants in a room.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior suites feature modern furnishings with stylish elements complete with luxurious fabrics and gorgeous amenities such as flat-screen TVs, fully stocked minibars, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi, high speed internet access and spacious bathrooms with imported marble flooring and glass enclosed rainforest showers. Junior suites have an additional sitting area with sofa, table and chair.
Oceanfront Room
The room offers one king bed. Enjoy the spectacular sunrises over the atlantic ocean. The Oceanfront units truly encompass what South Beach is all aboutthe beaches! Featuring all of the amenities of their Superior rooms, the Oceanfront units are for the traveler that is looking for a little more spice and excitement.
Rooftop Suite
Enjoy the true meaning of privacy and seclusion in our Roof Top Suites. Located on the roof of the hotel, these suites feature modern furnishings with stylish elements complete with luxurious fabrics and gorgeous amenities such as flat-screen TVs, fully stocked minibars, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi, high speed internet access and spacious bathrooms with imported marble flooring and glass enclosed rainforest showers. Additionally, these suites have a sitting area with sofa, chair and table, a spacious terrace with roof top Jacuzzi and privacy hedge.
Superior Room
The room offers one king bed. Enjoy the very best of South Beach Lifestyle. All rooms feature elegant bathrooms with rejuvenating rainforest showers, double sinks, organic cosmetic products, king-size bed, foyer area, flat-screen TV, entertainment unit, mini bar, sitting area, writing desk, high speed internet access and iPod docking station.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one king bed with a balcony. Enjoy the very best of South Beach Lifestyle. All rooms feature elegant bathrooms with rejuvenating rainforest showers, double sinks, organic cosmetic products, king-size bed, foyer area, flat-screen TV, entertainment unit, mini bar, sitting area, writing desk, high speed internet access and iPod docking station.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

I Paparazzi
Fine cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AMTC Visitor
Business
Ohio
Mar 13, 2014

Loved It

Stayed here for a Winter Party /Spring Break 2014. great location by the beach, clubs, and everything SoBe. Very nice rooms, clean and comfy,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Happy Wife
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 26, 2012

Fantastic Quick Getaway

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary on South Beach. Our stay at the Hotel Breakwater was absolutely fantastic! The hotel location is right in the heart of South Beach, where everything happens! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Valet parking was offered for a minimal fee and had in/out privileges. The room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. We had a great view of the nightlife. The onsite restaurants/bar served great tasting/affordable food and drinks. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Breakwater again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hostesses at most of the bars/restaurants along the strip will hand out coupons with a certain percent off or 2-4-1 offers if you just walk by and show minimal interest.

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chepa
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 7, 2012

My Weekend Get away!!!

Had a Great time just wish my stay was longer... The beach was amazing! Lots to do!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Didn't have to leave the hotel great open club! Food was also Great!!

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
50 and Retired
Business
Little rock AR
Feb 26, 2013

Lovely experience

From curb side service to check-in, from room decor and amenities, it was a very nice experience. Great location. Great restaurant and bar. Our view was poor, as expected when getting a special rate, but the other amenities made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon Paul and Fifi
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 6, 2013

Fantastic Hotel

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 weeks ago and our experience couldn't have been better. The hotel location is great...walk out the front door, cross the street and you're on the beach. They provide vouchers for free beach chairs and towels (though you'll pay for an umbrella if you want one) and have bikes for your use free of charge. From the time we arrived, staff took very good care of us. First, they allowed us to check in at noon rather than waiting until 4. We asked for extra towels and they had them to us in no time. The room was large, bed very comfortable, and unlike much of South Beach, the bathroom was large and very well lit. Luis, the doorman, was incredible. He gave us great dinner recommendations and told us about a little "hole in the wall" to get Cuban coffee, and a great rooftop pool party at another hotel where the doorman granted us free access. The day we left they gave us a late checkout, stored our luggage, gave us additional beach vouchers and allowed us to use the bikes again...even though we had already checked out. We would highly recommend this hotel and are going back on our next trip to SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

3 blocks off the beach, Espanola Way...closed to vehicle traffic...one block with just one restaurant after another. We ate at Nuvo, a great Italian place. We left at midnight and they were still seating people. A great alternative to the places on Ocean Drive.

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FSHS
Business
white plains, MD
Aug 16, 2014

Adult escape

Staff was very friendly & accommodating ...location was perfect no car required...the tours are not very good!!! Beach was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BRIANNE C.
Business
WINFIELD
May 22, 2015

Best trip

Everything about this hotel was excellent. The staff was very accommodating. The pool was not big but perfect to cool off and for tanning. Anything I asked for was provided. The bathroom was beautiful. Definitely going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Hood
Business
N/A
Jun 6, 2015

First cruise!

This hotel is wonderful, however the $22 room fee is unfair to the guests because it is a mandatory charge regardless if you use their services or not. Also there is no onsite laundry facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherryn38
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 18, 2012

GREAT NEW HOTEL!

I've stayed at many of the boutique hotels on Ocean ave and was pleasantly surprised when i arrived at Hotel Breakwater. We arrived early to a glass of champagne and our rooms ready to go. Almost every time i've an early check-in i've had to wait several hours. The rooms were nice and comfy. We were also able to request a late check out at 12:30 which was helpful. If you don't like a lot of noise at night request a room far from the courtyard where you hear all the entertainment at night. I didn't mind since it ended around 1am but my friend had to switch her room since she goes to bed earlier. I also requested a cab on two different occasions and it seemed that nobody knew what i was talking about both times. That being the only real downfall i was pretty happy. The chairs in the beach are also included. Each time i've stayed at one of the boutique hotels they either charge you $10/chair/day on the beach of charge you a daily fee of $25.. not here.. a very nice surprise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

great flamenco music at night

Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D McK
Business
Phila
Aug 11, 2012

What a great week!

JANINA is the most attentive and dedicated hotel manager that I have ever encountered. Even on her two days off she texted me several times to make sure that we were having the best experince possible. Her and her staff, Isabella, Santia, German, Mark, Gabriel were pleasant , attractive and attentive. Our first night we had a gorgeous room on the 4th floor of the Edison Building. The view was partial ocean and we could people watch Ocean Drive. However, we overlooked the Clevelander (Party USA). We actually had the windows open and were dancing in the room at one AM. But , when they cranked up the music at 2 AM and it kept going past 3PM..... we realized sleeping was going to be difficult. The next day , I called Janina ( who was off work)..within one hour we were moved to Penthouse Six. A great room with a Balcony. It was a city view, but, it was very quiet. The only things that were less than perfect were: - us having to call housekeeping to bring things that they forgot to leave - the beach has weird rules about where they put the chairs and umbrellas....unles you get there at 9:30 AM to pick one of the previously set up chairs you sit where they want to place you Other than these minor things, it was just a wonderfull place to be. We hated to leave and would love to go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top