$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

5 stars
View map of 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laura and raja
Business
reno, nevada
Jan 23, 2013

Great Stay.. definitely will go back!

The location is ideal! Right in the heart of Ocean Drive and perfect view of the ocean. Natalie from the front desk was amazing! She accommodated us with everything, had great recommendations and her overall customer service was elite. My only complaint would be about their housekeeping.. we stayed five nights and housekeeping only came twice. We would call to get our room cleaned and they would never show up, we had to call for clean towels and glasses almost every day.. other than that Hotel Breakwater is a great place to stay and I definitely will be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KClapp1974
Business
Coconut Creek, FL
Dec 26, 2012

Good

Very Clean, Good food, Centrally located will recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wgirl
Business
Austin
Dec 22, 2012

Pretty good

Starting with positive aspects: we got a great price for a suite room facing Ocean Blvd. View and room were great. Negative aspects: I booked a king bed and only got a queen. The staff didn't have any suggestions on how to fix this...very disappointing! The worst part of staying here was that the staff was not helpful or courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maquie
Business
santiago, chile
Dec 3, 2012

nice hotel

got a partial ocean view room, and got a room with a view to the backyard... they didnt really cared about it... other than that the hotel was very nice, good location, good restaurant, great bed and badroom. not noise at all for me...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved South Beach
Business
Michigan
Nov 19, 2012

Great location

The staff was quite helpful, especially since our flight left later in the day, so they were accomodating by storing our luggage for us. The location doesn't get any better- within walking distance of everything. The Clevelander hotel is right next store, so if you're looking for a good nightlife spot, that's the place. But know that the music is pretty loud and goes late. The food at the hotel restaurant is good, but the wait staff is quite slow, but we found that to be the case everywhere we went. The rooms are pretty nice, but the elevators are small . Overall it was a great stay, I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wellington Mom
Business
Wellington Florida
Oct 8, 2012

Location Location !!!

Location was awesome. Just what we expected since we wanted to saty in south beach to party. This Hotel had a live band show and a DJ after for fun dancing. Negative, I booked 1BR/1BR- VIP 5 Star - Sea View 1 King bed. I was put in a tiny room with a 1 double bed and hardly no sea view. The room was dusty and bathroom counter tops was dirty and full of hair. Carpet in the hallways need deep cleaning. This Hotel is definitely not a 5 Star Hotel. Not worth for the money I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Live band and DJ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D McK
Business
Phila
Aug 11, 2012

What a great week!

JANINA is the most attentive and dedicated hotel manager that I have ever encountered. Even on her two days off she texted me several times to make sure that we were having the best experince possible. Her and her staff, Isabella, Santia, German, Mark, Gabriel were pleasant , attractive and attentive. Our first night we had a gorgeous room on the 4th floor of the Edison Building. The view was partial ocean and we could people watch Ocean Drive. However, we overlooked the Clevelander (Party USA). We actually had the windows open and were dancing in the room at one AM. But , when they cranked up the music at 2 AM and it kept going past 3PM..... we realized sleeping was going to be difficult. The next day , I called Janina ( who was off work)..within one hour we were moved to Penthouse Six. A great room with a Balcony. It was a city view, but, it was very quiet. The only things that were less than perfect were: - us having to call housekeeping to bring things that they forgot to leave - the beach has weird rules about where they put the chairs and umbrellas....unles you get there at 9:30 AM to pick one of the previously set up chairs you sit where they want to place you Other than these minor things, it was just a wonderfull place to be. We hated to leave and would love to go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chepa
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 7, 2012

My Weekend Get away!!!

Had a Great time just wish my stay was longer... The beach was amazing! Lots to do!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Didn't have to leave the hotel great open club! Food was also Great!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Happy Wife
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 26, 2012

Fantastic Quick Getaway

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary on South Beach. Our stay at the Hotel Breakwater was absolutely fantastic! The hotel location is right in the heart of South Beach, where everything happens! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Valet parking was offered for a minimal fee and had in/out privileges. The room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. We had a great view of the nightlife. The onsite restaurants/bar served great tasting/affordable food and drinks. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Breakwater again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hostesses at most of the bars/restaurants along the strip will hand out coupons with a certain percent off or 2-4-1 offers if you just walk by and show minimal interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelingMoose
Business
Denver, CO
May 21, 2012

Expected noise but this was ridiculous...

Staying on South Beach you expect noise, this was so bad, we left early (and still paid). Went with a 21 and 23 year old and it was even too much for them. Live bands/DJ right outside the glass walled windows, ended at 4:30am, started up at about 8:00am. Like sleeping IN a club, that loud. Rooms are nice but didn't get cleaned or restocked, just made the bed. Staff (save one girl) were really rude (and we tipped well). Accused us of only booking a room for 2 when my confirmation showed 3 and had proof we'd confirmed directly with the hotel. if you plan on partying all night and then getting up early, stay here. Otherwise STAY AWAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

In Miami (South Beach especially) gratuity is almost always included and some places kind of hide it...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top